Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Interactive ALR (American Language Reprint)
Coverage: 1530s - 1900s
The Interactive ALR is a linguistic database that allows for the comparative study of Native American languages. Built from the catalog of the American Language Reprint (ALR) series, it contains tens of thousands of entries, searchable by word, phrase, date, and more. It also includes interactive mapping and custom lexicon generation.
A Métis Studies Bibliography: Annotated Bibliography and References
The most thorough Metis-specific bibliography to date. Includes research on history, orality, resistances, dispossession, culture, languages, lifeways, sociology, literature, and film.
Metis Legacy II: Michif Culture, Heritage, and Folkways
Delineates traditional Michif culture including: folklore, storytelling, medicines, and healing traditions, spirituality, transportation systems, housing, clothing, and family structures.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
The database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Includes biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
The Dictionary of Canadian Biography includes biographical sketches of prominent persons who lived in what is now Canada from 1000-1930. Coverage from 1931-2000 is partial, with more biographies added regularly. The database can be searched by personal name, by geographic region, and by occupation.