Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Sociology: Theses

Writing a Thesis

UofM Theses Guidelies and information

Post a theses to MSpace

For assistance with the writing see the Writing tutors at the Learning Assistance Centre.

For textual assistance with writing, see the Writing & Citing tabs in this guide.

Theses in Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts. You can go to the advanced search, and limit by "Document type" to "Dissertation". Alternatively, on the right margin of the Advanced Search, there is a "Search subject areas" feature that will allow for a "Dissertations & Theses" search. This specialized search allows one to "Look up School names", "Look up Advisors", etc.

Finding Theses

University of Manitoba - Sociology and Criminology Theses

Sociology Graduate Student Theses [includes Criminology]

Criminology Program - Recent Graduate Students Theses

University of Manitoba Theses

Library Search - can be searched for University of Manitoba theses. If you have a specific author (student) or title, you can search by this. Theses are not generally asigned subjects, so for a topic, go with a keyword search. Try searching for: University Manitoba thesis sociology (yields around 344 records) You can add additional words, i.e. Univesity manitoba thesis sociology inequality. The word "inequality" would have to be present in the title or the summary to be captured by this search.

MSpace. "MSpace is dedicated to collecting, storing, preserving and making accessible digital versions of the intellectual output of UM community members." One of those outputs is theses. MSpace - Electronic Theses and Dissertations. This contains the full text of many or most recent theses, plus a collection of older theses dealing with Manitoba heritage topics, that have been scanned.

Dissertations & Theses @ University of Manitoba (ProQuest)

Canadian Theses

Theses Canada"Theses Canada indexes Canadian theses and dissertations held by Library and Archives Canada (Canada's national library). Search the index by author, title, keyword, subject, university, or degree. There is the option to limit your search to full-text, online theses/dissertations. Any thesis/dissertation not available full-text online can be ordered through interlibrary loan. Established in 1965, by 2002 the collection contained over 220,000 theses/dissertations, and adds an 11,000 new records"

Dissertations & ThesesDissertations & Theses (ProQuest) is an interdisciplinary listing of PhD dissertations and Master's theses from around the world and offers the option of directly downloading copies of a growing number of the dissertations listed and where available provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350 -word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts.Canadian theses found here can generally be requested via Document Delivery (above). American theses must generally be purchased. Sometimes the authors of theses have been known to subsequently prepare a monograph on a similar topic, so you might think about seeing what else an author has published

Document Delivery: where possible, Document Delivery will try to borrow Canadian theses from the Library and Archives Canada. They can also borrow foreign (non canadian or U.S.) theses from the Center for Research Libraries.

CARL (Canadian Association of Research Libraries) Institutional Repositories in Canada. This has a list of Canadian Institutional repositories. If you have information regarding a thesis and the associated Canadian institution, you can try searching their repository to see if it is available online.

International Theses

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations"Metadata for Canadian theses is harvested from LAC by the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Union Catalog. Innovative EDT Awards.

Center for Research Libraries foreign dissertations. Information on over 8000,000 dissertations for universities outside of the United States and Canada, covering 90 countries and 1200 institutions. Identified theses can be requested by current faculty, students, and staff, via Document Delivery. For more information see Lending to CRL Members.

Worldwide ETD Index / OhioLINK ETD Center. "This is a global index of freely available electronic theses and dissertations, provided by major ETD collections around the world." It searches the metadata (bibliographic record), not the fulltext.

WorldCat is similar to the Libraries' catalogue, except that it contains the records from an international selection of libraries. It can be searched to identify theses.

Google Scholar will sometimes give information on or access to a thesis. Also, it may give information on related scholarly output that has cited a specific thesis.