The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems by
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, Second Edition, Five Volume Set addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work. Addresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective. Takes a detailed look at the important issues affecting the agricultural and food industries today. Full colour throughout.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture Research by
This new book presents and discusses current research in the study of agriculture, with a particular focus on technology, production and economics. Topics discussed include agricultural software; mechanized land application of organic fertilizers; pesticide models; optical metrology in agriculture; amplification of small interfering RNAs in transgenic plants; spate irrigation of rangelands; land titling and agricultural development; social labels for agricultural products and contemporary ecological-economic assessment of contaminated agricultural lands.
Handbook on Climate Change and Agriculture by
This book explores the interaction between climate change and the agriculture sector. Agriculture is essential to the livelihood of people and nations, especially in the developing world; therefore, any impact on it will have significant economic, social, and political ramifications. Scholars from around the world and from various fields have been brought together to explore this important topic. The contributions found here analyze direct agronomic effects, the economic impacts on agriculture, agricultural impacts on the economy, agricultural mitigation, and farmer adaptation. The authors argue that climate change is likely to have an extensive impact on agriculture around the world through changes in temperature, precipitation, concentrations of carbon dioxide, and available water flows. This thorough and timely volume is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in exploring the impacts of climate change in arguably the most important sector of the world economy. Economists, agronomists, and climate modelers in academia and the public sector, policy analysts and development agency staff, and graduate/postgraduate students will find this remarkable volume a welcome addition to their collection.
Agricultural Urbanism Handbook by
Taking sustainable food systems far beyond community gardens and local farms, this guide, compiled by some of the most innovative leaders of the agricultural urbanism movement, envisions much larger networks that include food-processing businesses, organic-food wholesalers, and many kinds of training programs. Outlining key strategies for creating food precincts in towns and cities, the discussion describes ways to grow produce all year round and unify urban and rural life in innovative ways.