The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
The Architecture/Fine Arts library has an Indigenous Collection. This collection is books on both architecture and art and can be found on the main floor of the library in the Reading Room
The magazine Canadian Architect has an archive of all their publications on Indigenous architectures. Including this look at the work of ten Indigenous designers.
Similarly, ArchDaily has Indigenous as a tag where you can look at past publications.
Ontario Association of Architects resource on Indigenous Architecture.
Assembling the Centre: Architecture for Indigenous Cultures by
Metropolitan Indigenous Cultural Centres have become a focal point for making Indigenous histories and contemporary cultures public in settler-colonial societies over the past three decades. While there are extraordinary success stories, there are equally stories that cause concern: award-winning architecturally designed Indigenous cultural centres that have been abandoned; centres that serve the interests of tourists but fail to nourish the cultural interests of Indigenous stakeholders; and places for vibrant community gathering that fail to garner the economic and politic support to remain viable. Indigenous cultural centres are rarely static. They are places of 'emergence', assembled and re-assembled along a range of vectors that usually lie beyond the gaze of architecture. How might the traditional concerns of architecture - site, space, form, function, materialities, tectonics - be reconfigured to express the complex and varied social identities of contemporary Indigenous peoples in colonised nations? This book, documents a range of Indigenous Cultural Centres across the globe and the processes that led to their development. It explores the possibilities for the social and political project of the Cultural Centre that architecture both inhibits and affords. Whose idea of architecture counts when designing Indigenous Cultural Centres? How does architectural history and contemporary practice territorialise spaces of Indigenous occupation? What is architecture for Indigenous cultures and how is it recognised? This ambitious and provocative study pursues a new architecture for colonised Indigenous cultures that takes the politics of recognition to its heart. It advocates an ethics of mutual engagement as a crucial condition for architectural projects that design across cultural difference. The book's structure, method, and arguments are dialogically assembled around narratives told by Indigenous people of their pursuit of public recognition, spatial justice, and architectural presence in settler dominated societies. Possibilities for decolonising architecture emerge through these accounts.
The Handbook of Contemporary Indigenous Architecture by
​This Handbook provides the first comprehensive international overview of significant contemporary Indigenous architecture, practice, and discourse, showcasing established and emerging Indigenous authors and practitioners from Australia, Aotearoa New Zealand, the Pacific Islands, Canada, USA and other countries. It captures the breadth and depth of contemporary work in the field, establishes the historical and present context of the work, and highlights important future directions for research and practice. The topics covered include Indigenous placemaking, identity, cultural regeneration and Indigenous knowledges. The book brings together eminent and emerging scholars and practitioners to discuss and compare major projects and design approaches, to reflect on the main issues and debates, while enhancing theoretical understandings of contemporary Indigenous architecture.The book is an indispensable resource for scholars, students, policy makers, and other professionals seeking to understand the ways in which Indigenous people have a built tradition or aspire to translate their cultures into the built environment. It is also an essential reference for academics and practitioners working in the field of the built environment, who need up-to-date knowledge of current practices and discourse on Indigenous peoples and their architecture.
Indigenous Cultural Centers and Museums by
Here is a lavishly illustrated descriptive survey of 48 leading indigenous cultural centers around the world (35 are from Australia and 13 from North America, Japan, Europe, and Asia). The book shows how each is a potentially transformative, politically compelling addition to the field of cultural production, illustrating how the facilities --- all built in the last three decades --- have challenged assumptions about nature, culture, and built form. Using the spatial-temporal practice of place-making as the starting point, the facilities highlighted here are described in terms of collaborations between a number of stake-holders and professional consultants. The book adopts the format of a descriptive survey with separate chapters devoted to individual case studies. A broad introductory chapter which presents the arguments and overview precedes richly illustrated short individual essays on selected projects. Each chapter commences with the details of the project including, location, area, cost and consultants, followed by a project description, and discussion of background, design development and reception of the projects. Each project is approached as an architectural commission, detailing the critical criteria, consultants, and processes. The format is adopted from architectural review essays typically used in awards or journal publications within the profession which are accessible and relevant for both academics and practitioners. Considerable attention is given to the process, and to the evaluation of the project as a cultural response. Each case study has been written with consultation of architects or administrators of the facilities for accuracy. Indigenous Cultural Centers and Museums: An Illustrated International Survey documents a rich legacy of collaboration across the spatial disciplines combining creative art practice, architecture, construction, landscape design and urban design in the production of unique and culturally significant social institutions. This book provides material on hitherto unknown bodies of work of talented architectural practices, working collaboratively with culturally different client groups and developing consultative processes that test models for inter-cultural engagement.
Indigenous in the City by
Research on Indigenous issues rarely focuses on life in major metropolitan centres. Instead, there is a tendency to frame rural locations as emblematic of authentic or "real" Indigeneity. While such a perspective may support Indigenous struggles for territory and recognition, it fails to account for large swaths of contemporary Indigenous realities, including the increased presence of Indigenous people in cities. The contributors to this volume explore the implications of urbanization on the production of distinctive Indigenous identities in Canada, the US, New Zealand, and Australia. In doing so, they demonstrate the resilience, creativity, and complexity of the urban Indigenous presence.
Innate Terrain: Canadian Landscape Architecture by
Innate Terrain addresses the varied perceptions of Canada's natural terrain, framing the discussion in the context of landscapes designed by Canadian landscape architects. This edited collection draws on contemporary works to theorize a distinct approach practiced by Canadian landscape architects from across the country. The essays - authored by Canadian scholars and practitioners, some of whom are Indigenous or have worked closely with Indigenous communities - are united by the argument that Canadian landscape architecture is intrinsically linked to the innate qualities of the surrounding terrain. Beautifully illustrated, Innate Terrain aims to capture distinct regional qualities that are rooted in the broader context of the Canadian landscape
Learning Country in Landscape Architecture by
This book strategically focuses upon the feasibility of positioning Indigenous Knowledge Systems into tertiary built environment education and research in Australia. Australian tertiary education has little engaged with Indigenous peoples and their Indigenous Knowledge Systems, and the respectful translation of their Indigenous Knowledge Systems into tertiary education learning. In contrast, while there has been a dearth of discussion and research on this topic pertaining to the tertiary sector, the secondary school sector has passionately pursued this topic. There is an uneasiness by the tertiary sector to engage in this realm, overwhelmed already by the imperatives of the Commonwealth's 'Closing the Gap' initiative to advance Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander tertiary education successes and appointments of Indigenous academics. As a consequence, the teaching of Indigenous Knowledge Systems relevant to professional disciplines, particularly landscape architecture where it is most apt, is overlooked and similarly little addressed in the relevant professional institute education accreditation standards.
Old Stories, New Ways by
Vivian Manasc, one of the founders of Manasc Isaac Architects, has pioneered sustainable architecture in Canada. Her work in partnership with Indigenous communities has been her greatest inspiration, and it has transformed the very nature of her practice. Through the profound lessons of the Seven Grandfather Teachings, Vivian came to understand that the process of planning and designing a building should be a circle, with the beginning and end of the story linked together. The stories Vivian tells in Old Stories, New Ways are also framed by these teachings of Courage, Love, Wisdom, Respect, Truth, Humility and Honesty, with each teaching illuminating an aspect of how working with Dene, Cree, Saulteaux, Métis, Inuit and Inuvialuit communities has influenced her design practice.
The Routledge Companion to Decolonizing Art History by
"This companion is the first global, comprehensive text to explicate, theorize and propose decolonial methodologies for art historians, museum professionals, artists, and other visual culture scholars, teachers, and practitioners. Art history as a discipline and its corollary institutions-the museum, the art market-are not only products of colonial legacies, but active agents in the consolidation of empire and the construction of the West. The Routledge Companion to Decolonizing Art History joins the growing critical discourse around the decolonial through an assessment of how art history may be rethought and mobilized in the service of justice-racial, gender, social, environmental, restorative, and more. This book draws attention to the work of artists, art historians, and scholars in related fields who have been engaging with disrupting master narratives and forging new directions, often within a hostile academy or an indifferent art world. The volume unpacks the assumptions projected onto objects of art and visual culture and the discourse that contains them. It equally addresses the manifold complexities around representation as visual and discursive praxis through a range of epistemologies and metaphors originated outside or against the logic of modernity. This companion is organized into four thematic sections: Being and Doing, Learning and Listening, Sensing and Seeing, and Living and Loving. The book will be of interest to scholars working in art history, visual culture, museum studies, race and ethnic studies, cultural studies, disability studies, and womens, gender, and sexuality studies"--
Arctic/Amazon by 
New Architecture on Indigenous Lands by
Black Elk speaks of the "square boxes" his people were forced into, and Winona LaDuke of the "boxes of mints" on Native lands. As long as the government was deciding what tribal buildings should look like, Native custom and culture were bound to be boxed in--or boxed out. But in the post-1996 era of more flexible housing policies, Native peoples have assumed a key role in the design of buildings on tribal lands. The result is an architecture that finally accords with the traditions and ideas of the people who inhabit it. A virtual tour of recent Native building projects in Canada and the western and midwestern United States, New Architecture on Indigenous Lands conducts readers through cultural centers and schools, clinics and housing, and even a sugar camp, all while showing how tribal identity is manifested in various distinctive ways. Focusing on such sites as the Tribal Council Chambers of the Pojoaque Pueblo; the Zuni Eagle Sanctuary in New Mexico; the Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre in Osoyoos, British Columbia; and the T'lisalagi'lakw Elementary School, Joy Monice Malnar and Frank Vodvarka offer wide-ranging insights into the sensory, symbolic, cultural, and environmental contexts of this new architecture. With close attention to details of design, questions of tradition, and cultural issues, and through interviews with designers and their Native clients, the authors provide an in-depth introduction to the new Native architecture in its many guises--and a rare chance to appreciate its aesthetic power.
Our Voices by
Our Voices: Indigeneity and Architecture is an exciting advance in the field of architecture offering multiple indigenous perspectives on architecture and design theory and practice. Indigenous authors from Aotearoa NZ, Canada, Australia, and the USA explore the making and keeping of places and spaces which are informed by indigenous values and identities. The lack of publications to date offering an indigenous lens on the field of architecture belies the rich expertise found in indigenous communities in all four countries. This expertise is made richer by the fact that this indigenous expertise combines both architecture and design professional practice, that for the most part is informed by Western thought and practice, with a frame of reference that roots this architecture in the indigenous places in which it sits.
Our Voices II by
Our Voices II: the DE-Colonial Project will showcase decolonizing projects which work to destable and disquiet colonial built environments. The land, towns, and cities on which we live have always been Indigenous places yet, for the most part our Indigenous value sets and identities have been disregarded or appropriated. Indigenous people continue to be gentrified out of the places to which they belong and neo‐liberal systems work to continuously subjugate Indigenous involvement in decision‐making processes in subtle, but potent ways. However, we are not, and have never been cultural dopes. Rather, we have, and continue to subvert the colonial value sets that overlay our places in important ways.
Tāone tupu ora : indigenous knowledge and sustainable urban design by 
