Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Managing Your References
Citation Management Software can help you organize and cite your references. See the Citation Management Software guide for more information.
Finding Journal Articles
If you are looking for journal articles in Plant Sciences, these are the databases to use:
Simultaneous user limit: 8
The CAB Abstracts database covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense.
It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, animal science, agricultural economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, soil science and veterinary medicine.
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)
Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)
Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
Index Chemicus (1993-present)
Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
In addition to having all of Biological Abstracts back to 1926, BIOSIS Previews abstracts and indexes information from numerous sources from around the world. BIOSIS Previews indexes virtually every life sciences discipline including traditional biology (botany, ecology, zoology), interdisciplinary subjects (biochemisty, biomedicine, and biotechnology), agriculture, pharmacology, veterinary science, and related areas (instrumentation and methods).
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Coverage: 1864 - present
Zoological Record is a comprehensive index to zoological literature covering all aspects of animal biology, paleobiology, and zoology, focusing on the natural biology of animals (fossil, recent, whole animal, behavioral, environmental, and cellular studies). Publications indexed include professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings.
Here are some tips that should make your search more effective:
- Choose keywords from your topic/question
- Type these into the "search box" in the database
- Click on the search button
- Evaluate the search results
- Refine search: if the results are unsatisfactory, you may want to use different keywords or apply limits e.g publication year, language etc.