LibGuides: Food Science: Articles and Databases

Finding Journal Articles

If you are looking for journal articles in Food Sciences, these are the databases to use:

Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 4

The Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) database is devoted to food science and technology. It covers articles on the basic food sciences, food products and food processes. Thousands of journals are indexed; it also includes information from patents, books, conference proceedings, and legislative papers.
FSTA Search Help
AACC Approved Methods of Analysis This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 11th edition
The 11th Edition is the first online-only AACC Intl. Approved Methods of Analysis and is the only edition supported by AACC Intl. The online-only format allows for continual updating of all methods approved by the technical committees and assures that users have access to the most up-to-date method available. The online edition includes a number of new methods added since the 10th Edition print and CD versions were released.
Official Methods of Analysis This link opens in a new window
A searchable online version of the Official Methods of Analysis of the AOAC International. It offers an authoritative source of analytical methods for agricultural and food products used worldwide.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 8

The CAB Abstracts database covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense.
It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, animal science, agricultural economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, soil science and veterinary medicine.
CAB Abstracts Search Help
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly.

Components include:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
- Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)
- Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
- Index Chemicus (1993-present)
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
Web of Science Search Help
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.

Search Tips

Here are some tips that should make your search more effective:

Choose keywords from your topic/question
Type these into the "search box" in the database
Click on the search button
Evaluate the search results
Refine search: if the results are unsatisfactory, you may want to use different keywords or apply limits e.g publication year, language etc.

Citation Search

Food Science

One Stop Search

Managing Your References

Finding Journal Articles

Search Tips