Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Food Science Research by This book presents and discusses current research in the study of food science. Topics discussed include food bioactive peptides; probiotic and prebiotic functional food product development; organic fresh vegetables; waste management and resource recovery in the food processing industry; functional components of food; osmotic dehydration of fruits; chemical analysis and antioxidant capacity of plant bioactive compounds; enzymatic browning in foods and food safety of products of vegetable origin.
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Encyclopedia of Meat Sciences by The Encyclopedia of Meat Sciences, Second Edition, Three Volume Set prepared by an international team of experts, is a reference work that covers all important aspects of meat science from stable to table. Its topics range from muscle physiology, biochemistry (including post mortem biochemistry), and processing procedures to the processes of tenderization and flavor development, various processed meat products, animal production, microbiology and food safety, and carcass composition. It also considers animal welfare, animal genetics, genomics, consumer issues, ethnic meat products, nutrition, the history of each species, cooking procedures, human health and nutrition, and waste management. Fully up-to-date, this important reference work provides an invaluable source of information for both researchers and professional food scientists. It appeals to all those wanting a one-stop guide to the meat sciences. More than 200 articles covering all areas of meat sciences Substantially revised and updated since the previous edition was published in 2004 Full color throughout
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences by Dairy science includes the study of milk and milk-derived food products, examining the biological, chemical, physical, and microbiological aspects of milk itself, as well as the technological (processing) aspects of the transformation of milk into its various consumer products, including beverages, fermented products, concentrated and dried products, butter and ice cream. This encyclopedia includes information on the possible impact of genetic modification of dairy animals, safety concerns of raw milk and raw milk products, peptides in milk, dairy-based allergies, packaging and shelf-life and other topics of importance and interest to those in dairy research and industry. The Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences, Five Volume Set is the only work available that covers in detail the entirety of dairy science, from husbandry of dairy animals, milk production, through the processing of milk into a myriad of dairy products and ingredients, to the effect of dairy foods on human health. The third edition of Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences will retain the split that characterized the earlier editions - one-third primary production, two-thirds dairy food. Unlike earlier editions, in which articles were arranged in alphabetical order by topic, this edition will be optimally organized into 9 coherent sections. This new edition contains 500 articles, the vast majority of which has been significantly revised or is completely new. Only 40 chapters have been retained from the earlier edition as they cover basic science areas still relevant and important today. All articles have been reviewed by specialists in their area.
Publication Date: 2021-09-22
Encyclopedia of Food Grains by The Encyclopedia of Food Grains is an in-depth and authoritative reference covering all areas of grain science. Coverage includes everything from the genetics of grains to the commercial, economic and social aspects of this important food source. Also covered are the biology and chemistry of grains, the applied aspects of grain production and the processing of grains into various food and beverage products. With the paramount role of cereals as a global food source, this Encyclopedia is sure to become the standard reference work in the field of science. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. Written from an international perspective the Encyclopedia concentrates on the food uses of grains, but details are also provided about the wider roles of grainsWell organized and accessible, it is the ideal resource for students, researchers and professionals seeking an authoritative overview on any particular aspect of grain scienceThis second edition has four print volumes which provides over 200 articles on food grainsIncludes extensive cross-referencing and "Further Reading" lists at the end of each article for deeper exploration into the topicThis edition also includes useful items for students and teachers alike, with Topic Highlights, Learning objectives, Exercises for Revision and exercises to explore the topic further
Publication Date: 2016-01-07
Handbook of Food Science and Technology 1 by This book serves as a general introduction to food science and technology, based on the academic courses presented by the authors as well as their personal research experiences. The authors' main focus is on the biological and physical-chemical stabilization of food, and the quality assessment control methods and normative aspects of the subsequent processes. Presented across three parts, the authors offer a detailed account of the scientific basis and technological knowledge needed to understand agro-food transformation. From biological analyses and process engineering, through to the development of food products and biochemical and microbiological changes, the different parts cover all aspects of the control of food quality.
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
IFIS Dictionary of Food Science and Technology by IFIS has been producing quality comprehensive information for the world's food science, food technology and nutrition community since its foundation in 1968 and, through its production of FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts?, has earned a worldwide reputation for excellence. Distilled from the extensive data held and maintained by IFIS, the dictionary is easy to use and has been rigorously edited and cross-referenced. This landmark publication features: * Over 7800 entries * Reflects current usage in the scientific literature * Includes local names, synonyms and Latin names, as appropriate * Extensive cross-referencing * Scientific editing from the team at IFIS This dictionary is an invaluable resource for all food scientists, food technologists, chemists and nutritionists in universities, research establishments, food and pharmaceutical companies. Libraries in all establishments where these subjects are studied and taught should ensure that they have copies on their shelves. The International Food Information Service (IFIS) is a not-for-profit organisation providing international products and services, commissioning research and providing education in information science for the international food science, food technology and human nutrition community. Further information can be found at the IFIS website, www.foodsciencecentral.com. FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts? and Food Science Central? are registered trade marks within Europe and trade marks within the USA.
Publication Date: 2005-07-11
Encyclopedia of Food Safety by With the world's growing population, the provision of a safe, nutritious and wholesome food supply for all has become a major challenge. To achieve this, effective risk management based on sound science and unbiased information is required by all stakeholders, including the food industry, governments and consumers themselves. In addition, the globalization of the food supply requires the harmonization of policies and standards based on a common understanding of food safety among authorities in countries around the world. With some 280 chapters, the Encyclopedia of Food Safety provides unbiased and concise overviews which form in total a comprehensive coverage of a broad range of food safety topics, which may be grouped under the following general categories: History and basic sciences that support food safety; Foodborne diseases, including surveillance and investigation; Foodborne hazards, including microbiological and chemical agents; Substances added to food, both directly and indirectly; Food technologies, including the latest developments; Food commodities, including their potential hazards and controls; Food safety management systems, including their elements and the roles of stakeholders. The Encyclopedia provides a platform for experts from the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment to share and learn from state-of-the art expertise with the rest of the food safety community. Assembled with the objective of facilitating the work of those working in the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment - this work covers the entire spectrum of food safety topics into one comprehensive reference work The Editors have made every effort to ensure that this work meets strict quality and pedagogical thresholds such as: contributions by the foremost authorities in their fields; unbiased and concise overviews on a multitude of food safety subjects; references for further information, and specialized and general definitions for food safety terminology In maintaining confidence in the safety of the food supply, sound scientific information is key to effectively and efficiently assessing, managing and communicating on food safety risks. Yet, professionals and other specialists working in this multidisciplinary field are finding it increasingly difficult to keep up with developments outside their immediate areas of expertise. This single source of concise, reliable and authoritative information on food safety has, more than ever, become a necessity
Publication Date: 2013-12-12
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology by Written by the world's leading scientists and spanning over 400 articles in three volumes, the Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology, Second Edition is a complete, highly structured guide to current knowledge in the field. Fully revised and updated, this encyclopedia reflects the key advances in the field since the first edition was published in 1999 The articles in this key work, heavily illustrated and fully revised since the first edition in 1999, highlight advances in areas such as genomics and food safety to bring users up-to-date on microorganisms in foods. Topics such as DNA sequencing and E. coli are particularly well covered. With lists of further reading to help users explore topics in depth, this resource will enrich scientists at every level in academia and industry, providing fundamental information as well as explaining state-of-the-art scientific discoveries.
Publication Date: 2014-04-02