Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The St. John's College Library is a liberal arts collection that spans Canadian Studies, Local History, Anglicanism, Biblical Studies, and French-Canadian and English Literature. Use the links below to access subject guides and topical liaison librarians.
Useful Reference Resources
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Call Number: BL 31 E46 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Politics by
Call Number: BR 115 P7 E58 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Does religion have a place in politics? Anyone following current events knows that there exists a tremendous debate on the influence of religion, especially the Christian religion, on elections, the creation of laws, and the interpretation of these laws by judges. But these debates often focus on a few narrowly defined topics, rarely acknowledging the history, breadth, and diversity of Christian activism in modern political culture across the globe. The Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Politics reveals the global reach and relevance of Christian political activities, examining how individuals, reform groups, and political organizations have employed Christian principles in participating in politcs at a local, national, and global scale.
The Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Politics examines Christian political involvement from the American and French Revolutions to the present day. It focuses on those prominent people, organizations, and reform groups - Protestant, Catholic, and Orthodox ― that have had a significant impact on politics.
The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature by
Call Number: BR 117.3 E53 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-16
The written word is one of the defining elements of Christian experience. As vigorous in the 1st century as it is in the 21st, Christian literature has had a significant function in history, and teachers and students need to be reminded of this powerful literary legacy. Covering 2,000 years, The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature is the first encyclopedia devoted to Christian writers and books. In addition to an overview of the Christian literature, this two-volume set also includes 40 essays on the principal genres of Christian literature and more than 400 bio-bibliographical essays describing the principal writers and their works. These essays examine the evolution of Christian thought as reflected in the literature of every age.The companion volume also features bibliographies, an index, a timeline of Christian Literature, and a list of the greatest Christian authors. The encyclopedia will appeal not only to scholars and Christian evangelicals, but students and teachers in seminaries and theological schools, as well as to the growing body of Christian readers and bibliophiles.
American Indian Religious Traditions by
Call Number: E 98 R3 C755 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-29
Combining the work of Native Americans and non-Native scholars, this reference work explores indigenous North American religions, religious practices, and rituals. * 150+ entries including extensive entries that address complex key ideas and pan-tribal movements, placing them within their historical and contemporary contexts * Comprehensive lists of further readings for each entry that provide the reader resources for deeper research * Illustrations including photos of community members, prominent places within traditional sacred geographies, regalia, basketry, traditional artwork, and more * Maps detailing tribal homelands, sidebars providing background of regional groups, and a listing of recognized tribes
A Concise Encyclopedia of the Philosophy of Religion by
Call Number: BL 51 T4274 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-02
Covering thinkers from Plato to Freud, this is a comprehensive reference toolor those studying, or interested in, the philosophy of religion. It offersetailed explanations of fundamental principles and outlines definitions ofomplex philosophical ideas using non-technical language, systematicrganization and full cross referencing. This book offers a complete guide tohe major thinkers, issues, theories and terms within the philosophy ofeligion as well as outlining the history and development of the subject fromncient times to the present day.
Religions of the World by
Call Number: BL 80.3 R45 2002
Publication Date: 2002-08-20
An extraordinary survey, in four volumes, of the religious belief and practice in all 276 of the world's nations and territories. * 1,200+ A-Z entries including individual religious groups, country-by-country entries, and core entries that address major world religions * 200+ contributors including top religious scholars from around the globe * Photographs of religious leaders, ceremonies, sacred structures, and artifacts such as an Aboriginal sacred Churunga and the Gurujem Monastery in Tibet * Statistical data on the projected status of religions for 2000 to 2050 broken down by country and by type of religion * Cross references and end-of-entry bibliographic citations
The Routledge Companion to Modern Christian Thought by
Call Number: BT27 .R68 2013
Publication Date: 2013
"This Companion provides an unrivalled view of the field of modern Christian thought, from the Enlightenment to the twentieth century and beyond. Written by an outstanding team of theologians and philosophers of religion, it covers the following topics: - Key figures and influencers - Central events and movements - Major theological issues and key approaches to Christian Theology - Recent topics and trends in Christian thought Each entry is clear and accessible, making the book the ideal resource for students of Christian thought and the history and philosophy of religion. It is also a valuable reference for professional theologians and philosophers"-- Provided by publisher.