Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Slavic Studies Collection: Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Electronic Encyclopedias - Ukranian

  • The Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine is an ongoing project that is hosted by the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies (CIUS), comprising the revised and updated content of the Encyclopedia of Ukraine edited by Volodymyr Kubijovic and Danylo Husar Struk. Once completed, it will be the largest English language online resource devoted to Ukraine. 

Print Dictionaries - Ukrainian

  • Andrusyshen, C., et al.  Ukrainian-English dictionary. Saskatoon ; Toronto : Published for University of Saskatchewan by University of Toronto Press , 1981, c1955.
    Slavic Reference PG 3891 A7 1981
  • Balla, M.I. Anhlo-Ukrains'kyi slovnyk. Blyz'ko 120, 000 sliv. Kyiv: Osvita, 1996
    Slavic Reference PG 3891 B27 1996  T. 1&2
  • Barantsev,  K. Ukrains'kyi frazeolohichnyi slovnyk. Kyiv: Vydavntstvo "Ridna Shkola", 1969
    Slavic Reference PG 3891 B3

For more, please see the Ukrainian Studies Dictionaries and Encyclopedias page.

Print Encyclopedias - Ukranian

  • Babychev, F. (Ed.). Ukrains'kyi radians'kyi entsyklopedychnyi slovnyk. Kyiv: Holovna redaktsiia Ukrains'koi Radians'koi Entsyklopedii, 1986.
    Slavic Reference AG 60 U4 U4 1986 t. 1-3
  • Bazhan, M. (Ed.). Ukrains'ka Radians'ka Entsyklopediia. Kyiv: Holovna Redaktsiia Ukrains'ka Radians'ka Entsyklopediia, 1977.
    Slavic Reference AE 60 U4 U38 1977
  • Dziuba, I. (Ed.). Entsyklopediia Suchasnoi Ukrainy. Kyiv: Koordynatsiine biuro Entsyklopedii Suchasnoi - Ukrainy NAN Ukrainy, 2001.
    Slavic Reference AE 60 U4 E54 2001

For more, please see the Ukrainian Studies Dictionaries and Encyclopedias page.

Print Encyclopedias - Russian

  • IUzhakov, S. (Ed.). Bolʹshaia entsiklopediia : slovarʹ obshchedostupnykh sviedieniĭ po vsiem otrasliam znaniia. S.-Peterburg : Prosvieshchenie, [1896].
    Archives RBR  AE 55 B58 1896 t. 1-20
  • Langer, L. Historical Dictionary of Medieval Russia. Lanham, MD: The Scarecrow Press Inc., 2002
    Slavic Reference  DK 71 L32 2002
  • Meshcheriakov, N. Malaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia. Moskva: Gosudarstvennoe slovarno-entsiklopedichekoe izdatel'stvo "Sovetskaia Entsiklopediia", 1933-1947.
    Slavic Reference  AE 55 M32 v.1-11

For more, please see the Russian Studies Dictionaries and Encyclopedias page.

Print Dictionaries - Russian

  • Ageenko, F. and M Zarva. Slovar' udarenii russkogo iazyka A-IA. 82,500 slovarnykh edinits. Moskva: AIRIS PRESS, 2000.
    Slavic Reference PG 2139 A35 2000
  • Apresian, IU., et al. Novyi obʺiasnitelʹnyi slovarʹ sinonimov russkogo iazyka. Moskva: Shkola "IAzyki russkoi kulʹtury", 1999.
    Slavic Reference PG 2591 N63 1999 vyp. 1-3
  • Arakin, V.D., et al.  NTC's New College Russian and English Dictionary. Lincolnwood, IL: NTC Publishing Group, 1996.
    Slavic Reference PG 2640 N786 1996

For more, please see the Russian Studies Dictionaries and Encyclopedias page.

Print Dictionaries - Polish

  • Angielsko-polski słownik elektryczny. Warszawa : Wydawnictwa Naukowo-Techniczne, 2004.
    Slavic Reference  TK 9 A54 2004
  • Bąba, S. and J. Liberek. Słownik frazeologiczny współczesnej polszczyzny. Warszawa : Wydawn. Nauk. PWN, 2002.
    Slavic Reference PG 6689 B334 2001
  • Bańkowski, A. Etymologiczny słownik języka polskiego. Warszawa : Wydawn. Nauk. PWN, 2000.
    Slavic Reference PG 6580 B36 2000

For more, please see the Polish Studies Dictionaries and Encyclopedias page.

Print Encyclopedias - Polish

  • Dopierała, K.  Encyklopedia polskiej emigracji i Polonii. Toruń : Oficyna Wydawnicza Kucharski, 2003-2005.
    Slavic Reference DK 4122 E53 2003 t.1-5
  • Encyklopedia Polska. Poznań: Podsiedlik-Raniowski i Spółka, 2003.
    Slavic Reference DK 4040 E53 2003 t.1-4
  • Gloger, Z. Encyklopedia staropolska ilustrowana. Warszawa: Wiedza Powszechna, 1978
    Slavic Reference AE 53 G56 1978 t.1-4

For more, please see the Polish Studies Dictionaries and Encyclopedias page.

Oxford Dictionaries Online

  • Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
    Oxford Language Dictionaries Online allows you to search Oxford University Press's bilingual dictionaries in French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian and Chinese.
    The dictionaries can be searched or browsed, phonetic symbols are explained, and references can be emailed or exported to bibliographical software. Other features include audible pronunciation, grammatical notes, guides to cultural events of each country, and hints for writing in a variety of situations and formats.