LibGuides: Renaissance/Baroque Art: Citing & Writing

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Elements of Article Citations:

Articles are in Journals
Journals are in Databases
Databases are sometimes provided by larger database vendors

Example:

Misri, S., Kostaras, X., Fox, D., & Kostaras, D. (2000). The impact of partner support in the treatment of postpartum depression. Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, (45)6, 554‐558. Retrieved from EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete database.

1. Authors
Misri, S., Kostaras, X., Fox, D., & Kostaras, D.

2. Publication Date
(2000)

3. Article Title
The impact of partner...

4. Journal Title, Vol.#, Iss.#, Pg.#
Canadian Journal of ...,
(45)6, 554‐558.

5. Database Info
Retrieved from EBSCOhost Academic...

Help with Specific Styles

AAA (American Anthropological Society)
ACS (American Chemical Society)
AMA Style (American Medical Association)
How to cite using AMA in the Health Sciences
APA
"APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences."
APS (American Physical Society)
Council of Science Editors Style Guide
Chicago/Turabian
Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citing.
Harvard
IEEE Style Manual (PDF)
This style is commonly used for Electrical and Computer Engineering.
MLA
"MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities."
Vancouver
"Vancouver style referencing refers to a numbered reference style that was first specified in the Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals."

Citing and Writing Tips

Ask a Librarian

Image: White text on blue background with round thought bubbles Text: Ask Us

Citation Management

Mendeley
Mendeley is a reference manager, PDF organizer and academic social network. Mendeley allows you to extract metadata from your PDFs to index and organize your collection for easy searching and citing.
Zotero
Zotero is a research tool that helps users collect and organize sources. Zotero allows you to annotate research results, save reference information, and much more.
EndNote
EndNote helps organize citations and create bibliographies. Citations can be exported from databases, library catalogues, and eJournal sites.