It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More
Begin search using One Stop Search or Catalog. Use Catalog if you are mainly looking for books. We have a number of general and specialized academic databases that are useful for conducting research in Asian Studies.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
The ARTstor Digital Library provides images with tools for teaching and research. Collections are comprised of contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates from all over the world. Collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian, Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies.
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, beginning with works from the late nineteenth century, with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. This collection includes a theater database, production database, photos, posters, and more.
The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding.
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 consists of more than 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of the growing interest in and understanding of Eastern religions from the late 1800s to the early 1900s and also highlights significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans, and of new interest in and experimentation with non-western religions.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
China: Trade, Politics & Culture provides access to manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, colour paintings, maps, photographs and drawings. All of the printed materials (including the typescript records of Chinese Maritime Customs officials) have been double-keyed and are full-text searchable.
The Film Literature Index indexes hundreds of film & TV periodicals from 30 countries, with publications ranging from the scholarly and critical to the popular. Published by the Film and Television Documentation Center at the State University of New York (SUNY).
Historical Abstracts is an index to the world's scholarly literature in history. It covers the history of the world, including all countries, except Canada and the United States, for the period 1450 to the present. Works on Canadian and U.S. history are indexed in the ABC-CLIO database, "America: History and Life" The database indexes articles, book reviews and dissertations.
An online resource for research in the humanities and social sciences, indexing over 1,200 North American and European periodicals. Numerous articles and book reviews are represented, primarily from scholarly journals, including some from scientific journals published in the 1950s.
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Oxford Dictionaries allows you to search Oxford University Press's English dictionary and bilingual dictionaries in French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian and Chinese. The dictionaries can be searched or browsed, phonetic symbols are explained, and references can be emailed or exported to bibliographical software. Other features include audible pronunciation, grammatical notes, guides to cultural events of each country, and hints for writing in a variety of situations and formats.
Project MUSE offers full-text articles from scholarly journals from major university presses, covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.