Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Dictionaries Held in the Library
The New Nelson by
Call Number: Reference PL 679 H33 1997
Publication Date: 1997-09-15
"Unexcelled as a dictionary of basic Sino-Japanese characters. Extremely easy to use."--Japan Society This is the utmost classic and well regarded standard Japanese Kanji Dictionary available today. The New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary is a complete revision of The Original Reader's Japanese-English Character Dictionary, published by Charles E. Tuttle Company in 1962. Long the foremost Japanese-English character dictionary, adopted by Japanese-study programs around the world and used at all levels of Japanese language study, the Nelson, as it is familiarly called, has been enhanced in this edition with several key changes. The Universal Radical Index, an important advance on the traditional character indices, has been created as a handy appendix that enables users to search for any main-entry character's reference number in Morohashi's Dai Kanwa Jiten. Over 1,200 characters have been added and more than 2,000 new on-kun entries included. Definitions have been modernized to reflect current usage and translation. Updated with additional characters, contemporary definitions, and an innovative radical index system, this revised editions sets new standards of excellence, easy-of-use, and reliability for Japanese language reference tools. This edition keeps pace with the evolution of the Japanese language and remains an indispensable tool for students and scholars of Japanese
Merriam-Webster's Japanese-English Learner's Dictionary by
Call Number: Reference PL 679 .K38213 1993
Publication Date: 1993-11-01
Master Japanese with this durable bilingual reference. Focuses on the most essential words. Includes illustrations, cultural notes, & practical examples for easy learning. Published with Kenkyusha Ltd.
Dictionary of Basic Japanese Idioms by
Call Number: Reference PL 675 K63 2002
Publication Date: 2002-03-28
Idioms are difficult to learn in any language, but unless they are learned, it is impossible to speak with fluency. This is as true of the Japanese language as of any other. Now, within the covers of one book, the basic Japanese idioms have been collected together for easy reference. The Japanese idiom appears first, followed by its English equivalent, and finally the idiom is illustrated in a sentence, or sentences, so that the student can see precisely how it functions. Some idioms have notes explaining usage problems and historical background. All are given in Japanese script and romanized text with English translations. There are approximately 880 entries, many of which have several senses. Students who have mastered these idioms will be able to express themselves much more easily and with greater impact than they could have otherwise. The book can be used as a reference book for looking up idioms that one has either heard or found in a book, or it can be used to find the Japanese equivalent for an English word or phrase by using the English index at the end of the book. All in all, Kodansha's Dictionary of Basic Japanese Idioms deserves a place on the bookshelf of every aspiring student of the language. Compiled from four books in Kodansha International's Power Japanese series: "Body" Language, Communicating with Ki: The "Spirit" in Japanese Idioms, Kanji Idioms, and Animal Idioms.
Kodansha's Essential Kanji Dictionary by
Call Number: Reference PL 679 K567 2002
Publication Date: 2002-08-16
Whether full-time students, business people, or casual readers, all have felt the need for a compact, up-to-date, practical kanji dictionary. Something that would fit into a shoulder bag or briefcase, could be taken to class, or would sit unobtrusively on a desktop. Kodansha's Essential Kanji Dictionary is precisely that dictionary, designed specifically to meet the needs of the modern man and woman. It includes all of the 1,945 Joyo Kanji, the core kanji recommended by the Japanese Ministry of Education for use in Japanese newspapers and magazines. Knowing these kanji, the student can recognize virtually every Chinese character appearing in the daily press. And that is not all. This dictionary also features some 18,000 kanji compounds, both those with Chinese readings (on-yomi) and those with Japanese readings (kun-yomi). These compounds have been carefully selected for practicality, usefulness, and timeliness. The living language has received exclusive priority, including such words as "favoritism," and "statute of limitations." For those interested in securities, stocks and bonds, and the diverse terminology of the business world, related terms and jargon are clearly marked for easy reference. Simply open the book and look for the Yen sign. There you will find "current price," "aggregate market value," "issue at market price," and a great deal more. For those who want to write kanji, the stroke order of each and every character has been duly noted. But more important, the Essential Kanji Dictionary does its utmost to help the reader locate the needed character. Aside from the traditional radical chart on the back endpaper, there are three invaluable indices as well. The first is by the reading of the kanji, either Japanese (kun) or Chinese (on). The second is by radical, but not by traditional radical alone. Also included are variants and near-misses, directing the reader precisely to the right page. The third is by stroke number -- if all else fails, count the strokes and track the character down. With a copy of Kodansha's Essential Kanji Dictionary close at hand -- with its definitions, stroke order, Chinese compounds, Japanese compounds, business terminology, and three helpful indices -- the life of the typical student of Japanese should take a decided turn for the better. FEATURES * 1,945 Essential (Joyo) Kanji * 18,000 Common Compounds * 2,000 Practical Business Terms * Three Indices for Finding Kanji * Compact for Handy Reference * Functional, Up-to-Date, Timely
Shin meikai kokugo jiten by
Call Number: Reference PL 675 S445 1997
Publication Date: 2004
Elizabeth Dafoe Library
The Cassell English-Japanese Business Dictionary by
Call Number: Reference HF1002.F43 1993
Publication Date: 1998-05-06
This brand new reference work provides a comprehensive and specialized business vocabulary in a practical and accessible format. Over 15,000 business terms are arranged by topic, with the English words listed alphabetically within each topic for easy reference. Each Japanese term is given in both the native script and its romanized form.
Kan dai-wa jiten by
Call Number: Reference PL 677.5 M6 1955 v.1-v. 13
Publication Date: 
Elizabeth Dafoe Library
Call Number: Reference PL 675 S49 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Selected Online Dictionaries
The Shelf Location @ the Dafoe Library
All reference books for Japanese language such as dictionaries and encyclpedias are shelved in PL section of Reference Collection, Main Floor of the Dafoe Libary.
Selected Japanese Language Learning Resources