Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search any terms or theories in Economics, or any economists for a list of reference works.
You can search the U of M Libraries system and locate more handbooks and dictionaries on Economics. Search: "handbook Economics" or "dictionary Economics."
Explore E-Journals - BrowZine Platform
Browse e-journal titles using BrowZine with the categories Economics, Labour Economics, or Political Economy that are accessible at the University of Manitoba Libraries.
Type in a keyword, such as "economics," "labour," or "political economy."
BrowZine app is available for your tablet or phone by its respective OS. Download and configure the institution to "University of Manitoba".
Databases for Locating Economics Research Articles
EconLIT This link opens in a new window
EconLIT is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
MSpace This link opens in a new window
MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers,and students. It contains datasets, undergraduate and graduate theses, historical pamphlets, and other research publications.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by publishing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of research papers around the world.
A longer list of databases is available under Databases.
ANY QUESTIONS? Contact Economics Liaison Librarian: Asako.Yoshida@Umanitoba.ca or Text Me: (204) 227-3587.
The ECONOMIST - "Looking for Articles/Issues?"
The Economist web access: by setting up your own personal account, you will be able to view up to 3 articles per week (1997 volume: 343 issue: 8020 - present).
The full-text content of the Economist is indexed and searchable in CPI.Q from 1988 and also in ProQuest from 1986 (vol. 298, no. 7427).
In order to access the Economist in digital formats (iOS, Android, Blackberry, Chrome Desktop, and Kindle Fire), you need a separate individual subscription at cost. See: http://www.economist.com/digital/apps and for student discount.
Highlights - Selected Sources
Library Access Browser Extension