LibGuides: Basic Medical Sciences: Keeping Current

Database Alerting Services

Receive regular email notifications or RSS feeds of new article citations based on searches of databases by topic, author, cited article or journal name.

PubCrawler
PubCrawler is a free "alerting" service that scans daily updates to the NCBI Medline (PubMed) and GenBank databases. PubCrawler helps keep you informed of the current contents of Medline and GenBank, by listing new database entries that match your research interests.
PubMed & My NCBI Help Saved Search Alerts
My NCBI saves searches and results from multiple NCBI databases, including PubMed, and features an option to automatically update and e-mail search results from your saved searches.
PubMed & My NCBI How To
How To: Save text searches and set up automated searches with E-mailed results
PubMed RSS Feeds
How to create a search as an RSS feed. An RSS reader is required to use this service.
Scopus Alerts Tutorial
Scopus Alerts tutorial. Describes various types of alerts: search alerts, author citation alerts, document citation alerts.
Scopus RSS Feeds
How to set up a Scopus search RSS feed: type RSS in the search box for explanation of Scopus RSS feeds.
Web of Science Search History Alerts
You can save a Web of Knowledge / Science search history as an alert. The alert automatically searches the latest update to the database, and then sends all relevant results to you by e-mail.

Publisher / Journal Alerting / TOC Services

Receive email or RSS notifications of new issues of specified journals. Also referred to as Table of Contents or TOC services. Typically requires registration and selection of journal(s) from the respective web sites. Some also offer search and citation alerts. A few selected major journals collections are listed here.

Nature Publishing Group This link opens in a new window

Oxford University Press Alerting Services
Choose specific journal e.g Nucleic Acid Research, Bioinformatics, Briefings in Bioinformatics, Human Molecular Genetics, Journal of Biochemistry and more. Go to bottom right of page to Alerting Services to select: email table of contents, CiteTrack or XML RSS feed.
Science Magazine & Journals
Alerts for Science, Science Signaling and Science Translational Medicine. Science offers a variety of alerts to registered users and subscribers. Select from Content Awareness alerts, CiteTrack Personal Research alerts, and Career and Grant Alerts. Most alerts are free for registered users with username and password.
Springer Alerts
First register in SpringerLink under MySpringerLink. Then proceed to springer.com/alerts.
Wiley Online Library Alerts
Click on Register for Alerts to obtain personal account, then browse / search for specific journal. Request an email or rss alert.

Citation Alerts

Receive email or RSS notifications about new articles citing a selected citation or author.

Scopus Alerts Help (type alerts in search box)
Web of Knowledge / Science My Citation Alerts
How to create a citation alert in Web of Knowledge databases. When you create a citation alert, Thomson Reuters notifies you by e-mail whenever a document has been cited by a new article. The alert is active for one year. You may renew the alert at any time.

Science News

Sample sites for news feeds on general developments in Science & Medicine.

American Scientist news
Discover Magazine
Nature News (RSS feeds)
Nature journal provides a number of different RSS feeds. E.g. Nature's news and comment, Nature's table of contents, etc.
NewScientist news
Science Magazine news feed
Scientific American contents
Scientific American news feed
Smithsonian Magazine news feed
The Scientist News

BrowZine

Discover Scholarly Journals, Stay Current in Your Reading

The library has subscribed to BrowZine, a service used by hundreds of institutions around the world that allows you to browse, read and follow thousands of the library’s scholarly journals available at http://www.browzine.com or from your Android and iOS mobile devices.

FAQ's & Help