Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Mechanical Engineering: Theses Databases

This deals with energy, material & mechanical design specialties such as biomechanical advanced materials design & application, alternate fuel & hybrid automotive design, building systems, pollution control, aerospace design, & health care delivery.

General Theses Databases

Note that you can request theses and disserations via Document Delivery. If they are not available this way, you may have to purchase the thesis from UMI or by contacting the author(s). You may also check the library catalogues at the degree issuing institutions to locate theses and dissertations as well as searching the databases.

Selected International Theses Databases

Australian Theses

  • The Trove service of the National Library of Australia is the quickest way to access online theses from Australian universities.
  • Go to the Trove homepage and Click on Advanced Search.  Type your search terms, then scroll down to Limit your results, and check Australian content, then go to the Format box and select Thesis.

British Theses

  • From the British Library

Canadian Theses

  • Theses Canada indexes Canadian theses and dissertations held by Library and Archives Canada (Canada's national library), acquired from participating Canadian universities. Any thesis/dissertation not available full-text online can be ordered through interlibrary loan.

French Theses

  • Open archive for digital French theses. Abstracts are available in English and Use the drop-down menu to change from version française to English.version.

German Theses

  • German theses since 1945 are listed in the catalogue of the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek. Enter search terms in the box, followed by diss. Click Finden. Some theses are available for free download.

Swedish Theses

  • Includes English-language university dissertations from Sweden. There are more than 75,000 dissertations in the database and about half of these are available for download as PDF.