Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Theses Databases
Note that you can request theses and disserations via Document Delivery. If they are not available this way, you may have to purchase the thesis from UMI or by contacting the author(s). You may also check the library catalogues at the degree issuing institutions to locate theses and dissertations as well as searching the databases.
Dissertations & Theses Citation Coverage:
1743 - present
restricted to University of Manitoba dissertations and theses, 1929-2014. For 2015 onward, see Mspace
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) is an interdisciplinary listing of PhD dissertations and Master's theses from around the world. Documents can be downloaded and (where available) the first dozen pages are available as a preview. Dissertations and theses published since 1980 includes an abstract written by the author.
Index to Theses
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716.
Institutional Repository and ETD Bibliography 2011
This site presents over 600 English-language articles, books, technical reports, & other works that are useful in understanding institutional repositories and Electronic Theses & Dissertations. Updated annually.
WorldCat is a database of bibliographic records for all types of materials catalogued in libraries around the world, and includes the holdings of most academic libraries in North America. Catalogued materials include books, journals, electronic resources, manuscripts, and audio-visual materials, in hundreds of languages.
Selected International Theses Databases
- The Trove service of the National Library of Australia is the quickest way to access online theses from Australian universities.
- Go to the Trove homepage and Click on Advanced Search. Type your search terms, then scroll down to Limit your results, and check Australian content, then go to the Format box and select Thesis.
- Theses Canada indexes Canadian theses and dissertations held by Library and Archives Canada (Canada's national library), acquired from participating Canadian universities. Any thesis/dissertation not available full-text online can be ordered through interlibrary loan.
- Open archive for digital French theses. Abstracts are available in English and Use the drop-down menu to change from version française to English.version.
- German theses since 1945 are listed in the catalogue of the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek. Enter search terms in the box, followed by diss. Click Finden. Some theses are available for free download.
- Includes English-language university dissertations from Sweden. There are more than 75,000 dissertations in the database and about half of these are available for download as PDF.