Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Technology Transfer & Patents: Patent Databases

Download Patents

Google Patents

Pat2PDF

U.S Patents in PDF format, 1790 to present.

Patent Resources

Derwent Innovations Index

Patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Coverage: 1963-present.


 United States Patent Databases (USPTO)

Patents from 1790 to 1975 searchable only by Issue Date, Patent Number, and current US Classification.  Full-text from 1976 to present. Must have TIFF image viewer configured to display full-page images.


Canadian Patents Database (CIPO) 

Accesses over 75 years of patent descriptions and images of more than 2,000,000 patent documents.


European Patent Office (Espacenet)

Free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.


World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) PatentScope

Searches 8,151,682 patent documents including 1,963,389 published international patent applications (PCT), 1978 to present.


Patent Lens

Over 10 million full-text patents documents from US, Europe, Australia and WIPO from 1970's to present. Search over 80 million protein and DNA sequences disclosed in patents.


Scopus

Scopus is an interdisciplinary bibliographic database that indexes patents and over 17,000 journals in sciences and technology.

Patents are displayed separately via a blue tab at the top of the results list. Patents from the USPTO (1836+, full text 1983+), European Patent Office (1978+, full text 1991+), Japanese Patent Office (machine-translated abstracts 1976+), and World Intellectual Property Organization (full text 1978+) are indexed by its web search engine, Scirus™, which indexes the bibliographic information (1970+), full text (when available), title, authors and assignee, affiliations (e.g., NIH), and patent number, as well as the first published date.


Scifinder Web

SciFinder Web provides online access to Chemical Abstracts, patents, the CASREACT chemical reactions database, chemical suppliers, chemical property data, Chemical Abstracts Registry File, and Medline.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Ryan Schultz
Contact:
222E Machray Hall
(204) 474-6475