Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Research Help Guide: Find Articles & Books

Finding articles on a topic

Finding articles on a topic might seem like a daunting task but the University of Manitoba Libraries have provided you with a variety of ways to get started.

Option 1: One stop search

One stop search is a "meta search engine" which means it searches a wide variety of the article and ebook databases we have purchased.  If you only have a very broad idea of what you are looking for try a few key words in the search window.

Option 2: Field of study support

If you are in a particular field of study you will want to browse through the recommended databases in your field.  Start by going to the subject guide tab [above] and navigating through the index to find your subject area.  Each guide recommends the most relevant article databases in your field.

Option 3: Looking for a particular database

When you are looking for a particular database look no further than our Databases A-Z listing [above]. Here we list all of the titles that the University of Manitoba Libraries has purchased.  Not finding what you are looking for?  Let us know!

Reading and Finding Citations

Has your instructor/professor given you a reading list for the course?  Do you need to look up references from a bibliography?

Then this is the handout for you!  It provides information about how to read a reference/citation and to use that information to find the journal article(s) and/or book(s) through the University of Manitoba Libraries' website.

If you need additional assistance with finding a reference/citation, please contact a library staff member.

Ask Us Icon

Getting Articles