LibGuides: Graduate Student Resources: Find Theses

How to Find University of Manitoba Theses

MSpace, the University of Manitoba Institutional repository. Use MSpace to find and download full text of UM theses and dissertations.

General Theses Databases

Center for Research Libraries foreign dissertations
More than 750,000 dissertations produced for universities outside of the United States and Canada.

Note that you can request theses and disserations via Document Delivery. If they are not available this way, you may have to purchase the thesis from UMI or by contacting the author(s). You may also check the library catalogues at the degree issuing institutions to locate theses and dissertations as well as searching the databases.

Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Effective January 1, 2024 this title will no longer be licensed for access by the University of Manitoba Libraries.

Please Note: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index is now available for search in Web of Science. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries.

Citation Coverage: 1743 - present
Full-text Coverage: restricted to University of Manitoba dissertations and theses, 1929-2014. For 2015 onward, see Mspace

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) is an interdisciplinary listing of PhD dissertations and Master's theses from around the world. Documents can be downloaded and (where available) the first dozen pages are available as a preview. Dissertations and theses published since 1980 includes an abstract written by the author.

Index to Theses
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716.
Institutional Repository and ETD Bibliography 2011
This site presents over 600 English-language articles, books, technical reports, & other works that are useful in understanding institutional repositories and Electronic Theses & Dissertations. Updated annually.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Includes dissertations and theses from comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
Thesis Canada Portal
Includes full-text for many Canadian theses and dissertations and information on Canadian theses that that are not available digitally.

Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, dissertations and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database of bibliographic records for all types of materials catalogued in libraries around the world, and includes the holdings of most academic libraries in North America. Catalogued materials include books, journals, electronic resources, manuscripts, and audio-visual materials, in hundreds of languages.

Worldwide ETD Index - Electronic Theses and Dissertations
"a global index of freely available electronic theses and dissertations, provided by major ETD collections around the world." While the texts of the theses cannot be searched from this portal, you can search abstracts, subject headings, keywords, authors, schools or publisher.

Selected International Theses Databases

Australian Theses

The Trove service of the National Library of Australia is the quickest way to access online theses from Australian universities.

Go to the Trove homepage and Click on Advanced Search. Type your search terms, then scroll down to Limit your results, and check Australian content, then go to the Format box and select Thesis.

British Theses

From the British Library

Canadian Theses

Theses Canada indexes Canadian theses and dissertations held by Library and Archives Canada (Canada's national library), acquired from participating Canadian universities. Any thesis/dissertation not available full-text online can be ordered through interlibrary loan.

French Theses

Open archive for digital French theses. Abstracts are available in English and Use the drop-down menu to change from version française to English.version.

German Theses

German theses since 1945 are listed in the catalogue of the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek. Enter search terms in the box, followed by diss. Click Finden. Some theses are available for free download.

Swedish Theses

Includes English-language university dissertations from Sweden. There are more than 75,000 dissertations in the database and about half of these are available for download as PDF.