Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for GIS Resources
At times, we do not have a book that suits your needs. Frequently we recommend that patrons search our WorldCAT database to find whether other local or regional libraries might loan them items of interest for free. Try WorldCAT, found under “W” list of the Databases A-Z link in the “Find” column on our homepage.
Most Current GIS Books
Visit the Libraries' main page to search for our most current GIS titles: http://umanitoba.ca/libraries
An Assortment of GIS Books
Crowdsourcing Geographic Knowledge by
Publication Date: 2014-09-21
The phenomenon of volunteered geographic information is part of a profound transformation in how geographic data, information, and knowledge are produced and circulated. By situating volunteered geographic information (VGI) in the context of big-data deluge and the data-intensive inquiry, the 20 chapters in this book explore both the theories and applications of crowdsourcing for geographic knowledge production with three sections focusing on 1). VGI, Public Participation, and Citizen Science; 2). Geographic Knowledge Production and Place Inference; and 3). Emerging Applications and New Challenges. This book argues that future progress in VGI research depends in large part on building strong linkages with diverse geographic scholarship. Contributors of this volume situate VGI research in geography's core concerns with space and place, and offer several ways of addressing persistent challenges of quality assurance in VGI. This book positions VGI as part of a shift toward hybrid epistemologies, and potentially a fourth paradigm of data-intensive inquiry across the sciences. It also considers the implications of VGI and the exaflood for further time-space compression and new forms, degrees of digital inequality, the renewed importance of geography, and the role of crowdsourcing for geographic knowledge production.
Tribal GIS by
Publication Date: 2012-06-16
In Tribal GIS: Supporting Native American Decision Making, tribal leaders tell their stories about implementing and using geographic information systems (GIS) to address their unique challenges as sovereign Nations. This book covers applications in natural resources and the environment, transportation, cultural and historical preservation, economic development, health, education, public safety, and agriculture. Showing how tribal governments responsible for the stewardship of their land and resources and the health and well-being of their People use enterprise GIS to make decisions, Tribal GIS supports tribes new to GIS and those with GIS experience.
GIS and Public Health, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2011-09-20
Authoritative and comprehensive, this is the leading text and professional resource on using geographic information systems (GIS) to analyze and address public health problems. Basic GIS concepts and tools are explained, including ways to access and manage spatial databases. The book presents state-of-the-art methods for mapping and analyzing data on population, health events, risk factors, and health services, and for incorporating geographical knowledge into planning and policy. Numerous maps, diagrams, and real-world applications are featured. The companion Web page provides lab exercises with data that can be downloaded for individual or course use. New to This Edition *Incorporates major technological advances, such as Internet-based mapping systems and the rise of data from cell phones and other GPS-enabled devices. *Chapter on health disparities. *Expanded coverage of public participation GIS. *Companion Web page has all-new content. *Goes beyond the United States to encompass an international focus.
Geospatial Web Services by
Publication Date: 2010-12-31
As Web service technologies have matured in recent years, an increasing number of geospatial Web services designed to deal with spatial information over the network have emerged. Geospatial Web Services: Advances in Information Interoperability provides relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings and applications in the area. This book highlights the strategic role of geospatial Web services in a distributed heterogeneous environment and the life cycle of geospatial Web services for building interoperable geospatial applications.
Local Models for Spatial Analysis by
Publication Date: 2010-10-13
Written in recognition of developments in spatial data analysis that focused on differences between places, the first edition of Local Models for Spatial Analysis broke new ground with its focus on local modelling methods. Reflecting the continued growth and increased interest in this area, the second edition describes a wide range of methods which account for local variations in geographical properties. What#65533;s new in the Second Edition: Additional material on geographically-weighted statistics and local regression approaches A better overview of local models with reference to recent critical reviews about the subject area Expanded coverage of individual methods and connections between them Chapters have been restructured to clarify the distinction between global and local methods A new section in each chapter references key studies or other accounts that support the book Selected resources provided online to support learning An introduction to the methods and their underlying concepts, the book uses worked examples and case studies to demonstrate how the algorithms work their practical utility and range of application. It provides an overview of a range of different approaches that have been developed and employed within Geographical Information Science (GIScience). Starting with first principles, the author introduces users of GISystems to the principles and application of some widely used local models for the analysis of spatial data, including methods being developed and employed in geography and cognate disciplines. He discusses the relevant software packages that can aid their implementation and provides a summary list in Appendix A. Presenting examples from a variety of disciplines, the book demonstrates the importance of local models for all who make use of spatial data. Taking a problem driven approach, it provides extensive guidance on the selection and application of local models.
Thinking about GIS by
Publication Date: 2013-09-26
Thinking About GIS: Geographic Information System Planning for Managers presents a planning model for designing data and technology systems that will meet any organization's specific needs. Designed for two primary audiences, senior managers who oversee information technologies and technical specialists responsible for system design, this book provides a common platform on which to conduct GIS planning. The fifth edition reflects the latest trends in geospatial technology and includes updated case studies. Exercises from Roger Tomlinson's course Planning for a GIS and a video of the ""Planning and Managing a GIS"" seminar from the 2012 Esri International User Conference are included on the accompanying DVD.
Understanding GIS by
Publication Date: 2013-07-03
Understanding GIS: An ArcGIS Project Workbook explains the methods and tools needed to apply GIS analysis to a spatial problem by finding the best location for a new park along the Los Angeles River in Southern California. Through this process, readers develop critical-thinking and problem-solving skills and learn to use ArcGIS#65533; 10.1 for Desktop software from Esri#65533;. Understanding GIS: An ArcGIS Project Workbook includes valuable learning materials: --Self-paced tutorials. The project is carried out progressively in nine lessons comprising more than thirty exercises. Each exercise has step-by-step instructions, graphics to confirm your results, and explanations of key concepts.ArcGIS 10.1 for Desktop software. --The book includes access to ArcGIS 10.1 for Desktop software (180-day use) to perform the analysis. The book's DVD includes project data. --An online Understanding GIS Resource Center includes the book's final lesson in PDF format, "GIS TV" videos that walk you through the exercises in real time, exercise results for each lesson, and more.
Some GIS Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science by
Publication Date: 2007-12-26
The Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science covers the essence of this exciting, new, and expanding field in an easily understood but richly detailed style. In addition to contributions from some of the best recognized scholars in GIScience, this volume contains contributions from experts in GIS' supporting disciplines who explore how their disciplinary perspectives are expanded within the context of GIScience--what changes when consideration of location is added, what complexities in analytical procedures are added when we consider objects in 2, 3 or even 4 dimensions, what can we gain by visualizing our analytical results on a map or 3D display?
Encyclopedia of GIS by
Publication Date: 2007-12-12
The Encyclopedia of GIS provides a comprehensive and authoritative guide, contributed by experts and peer-reviewed for accuracy, and alphabetically arranged for convenient access. The entries explain key software and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. Major overviews are provided for nearly 200 topics: Geoinformatics, Spatial Cognition, and Location-Based Services and more. Shorter entries define specific terms and concepts. The reference will be published as a print volume with abundant black and white art, and simultaneously as an XML online reference with hyperlinked citations, cross-references, four-color art, links to web-based maps, and other interactive features.
A to Z GIS by
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
An invaluable resource for anyone who uses or encounters GIS terminology in the classroom, on the job, or in the field, this dictionary contains more than 1,600 terms covering the entire lexicon of geographic information systems. Terms have been selected from GIS operations such as analysis, data management, and geocomputation; from rapidly evolving uses of GIS for modeling, GIScience, and Web-based GIS; and the GIS foundation fields of cartography, spatial statistics, computer science, surveying, geodesy, and remote sensing. Hundreds of subject-matter experts and GIS educators have reviewed the definitions, ensuring the authoritative coverage that is a necessity for managers, programmers, users, and students discovering the interdisciplinary nature of GIS.