Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

University of Manitoba History: Home

New Resources 

 

Lost Campus: A Virtual Tour of Forgotten Spaces and Places at the University of Manitoba is a Google Earth tour of the old Broadway campus, and the Bannatyne and Fort Garry campuses. The tour was created by Wayne Chan in 2022. 

  • Tips for viewing the tour: Please use the Google Chrome browser to view the tour. If you use Firefox, Edge, or Opera browsers it will say "You are running an experimental version." The Safari browser is not supported by Google Earth. 

 

Archives & Special Collections is the primary destination for researchers interested in the history of the University of Manitoba.  Archives holds textual, photographic, cartographic, and audio and video records of university faculties, offices, staff and faculty members.  In addition, the Archives has produced several projects devoted to the history of the university.  Archives has compiled a list of prominent graduates, a list of Rhodes Scholars, a chronological listing of important events in the university's history, brief histories of University of Manitoba faculties and campus buildings, plus interesting anecdotes about many of these buildings as found in historical plaques inside the buildings.  In addition, Archives has created a database listing vital information pertaining to individuals affiliated with the University of Manitoba who served in the Second World War.  Below is a list of these resources as well as historical resources created by other organizations.

Digitized copy of One University: A History of the University of Manitoba, 1877-1952

Digitized copy of University of Manitoba, Roll of Honour, 1914-1918 

Selection of Prominent Graduates

List of Honorary Degree Recipients

List of Rhodes Scholars

List of University Librarians

University of Manitoba Chronological History

Faculty Histories

History of the Faculty of Science

History of Actuarial Science

History and Development of the Soils Department in the Faculty of Agriculture at M.A.C. and the University of Manitoba, 1906-1955 

Building Histories

Building History Plaques

Historic Sites of Manitoba (search or browse map for information on University of Manitoba buildings and plaques/cairns) 

History of Taché Hall

Historypin - University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections 

Public Art at the University of Manitoba

World War I - Convocation at the Front

World War II Service Database

The Manitoban

Brown and Gold Yearbooks

Academic Course Calendars are digitized and available through the Registrar's Office (2004/2005-present) 

 

Web Archiving Project 

The University of Manitoba Libraries (UML) is currently engaged in a Web Archiving project to target, capture and preserve important web-based content that only exists online or is at risk of being deleted. Learn learn more about the Web Archiving Project and see the archive here.