The Winnipeg Tribune, one of western Canada's oldest newspapers, ran from 1890 to 1980. The Tribune was a rival to the Winnipeg Free Press. While it had excellent coverage of local events and personalities, it also reported on national and international news.
After the sudden collapse of the newspaper, the paper's "morgue files", dating from the 1930s to 1980, consisting of photographs and folders of clippings on local, national, and international subjects and personalities, were acquired by Archives & Special Collections. Subsequently, three collections of Tribune negatives were also donated by private citizens. Microfilms of both the newspaper and the subject folders are also available.
Please note that the "morgue files" contain news clippings from other media outlets in addition to the Winnipeg Tribune.
The Archives has compiled an index to the voluminous Personality Files, which is available at the link below. Please note that if browsing the list of names in the index, it is not strictly alphabetical but replicates the order in which the clippings have been filed onsite.
A note to researchers about the digitized editions of The Winnipeg Tribune: If both copies of The Winnipeg Tribune (the morning paper) and The Winnipeg Evening Tribune (the evening paper) were available, only The Winnipeg Evening Tribune was microfilmed as it generally contained most (if not all) of the stories printed in the morning paper plus any additional breaking news that occurred during the day and was the more complete copy. The Winnipeg Tribune was only microfilmed if The Winnipeg Evening Tribune was unavailable. The only available microfilm copy was subsequently scanned and made available below by Archives.
This on-line guide and exhibit has been developed through the generous financial support of:
The University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections would like to acknowledge that this on-line guide and exhibit has been developed through the generous support of our partners:
We greatly acknowledge the financial support of the Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism and the Heritage Grants Advisory Council in the creation of the personalities newsclipping index.
This website was researched and developed by:
Lewis St. George Stubbs: selection, indexing, scanning
Vladimira Zvonik: scanning coordination, scanning
Jared Whiklo: database design, technical support
Joy Schroeder: data entry, scanning
Shelley Sweeney: management, report writing
Brett Lougheed: web page design
Bronwen Quarry: web page design
Brian Hubner: launch coordination
Joe Westra: imaging support
The opinions expressed on this web site are those of The University of Manitoba and do not necessarily reflect the official views of the Government of Canada.