Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Nan Shipley fonds: MSS 21, PC 21 (A.79-14)

Nan Shipley


Nan Shipley:

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Kathryn F. Dean
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1982)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (July 2002)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 21, PC 21 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15)

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Nan Shipley

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

I. Biographical and Award Data

II. Correspondence 1948-1978

III. Lecture Series - University of Manitoba

IV. Lectures - miscellaneous

V. Manuscripts

VI. Radio Series

VII. Television

VIII. Publications 1940-1981

IX. Research Materials

Photograph Collection (PC 21) [19-?]

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba
Creator:
Nan Shipley

Title:
Nan Shipley
Dates:
1940-1978
Quantity:
2.3 m of textual records. -- 533 photographs.
Identification:
MSS 21, PC 21
Language
English.

Return to Top

Biography of Nan Shipley

Chronology of Important Dates

1904 - Born in Glasgow, Scotland, daughter of Robert Somerville and Mary (MacDonald) Somerville.

1925 - Married George Shipley.

1955 - First book published by Ryerson Press Book "Anna and the Indians"

1960-61 - Radio and television series on Western Indian lore and culture given.

1965 - Woman of the Year in Manitoba award.

1966 - Good Citizen and Golden Boy Awards received.

1966-67 - Instructor at University of Manitoba Evening Institute.

1970 - Received North Dakota State University award for Historical Writing.

1970 - Presented a brief to Status of Women Commission on Women of Indian and Metis ancestry.

1972 - With Alex Grisdale, published "Wild Drums."

1974 - Published "Churchill: Canada's Northern Gateway:'(her 13th book) which received the Margaret McWilliams Medal.

1978 - Reader's Digest published condensed form of "Return to the River."

1979 - Paper given at University of Manitoba Annual Archives Symposium.

1981 - Anonymous donor established two Nan Shipley Scholarships.

1982 - Published "The International Peace Garden. 50th Anniversary." Peguis Press.

Biographical Sketch

Nan Somerville was born in Glasgow, Scotland in 1904. In 1925 she married George Shipley. The couple had one daughter. Mrs. Shipley published thirteen books and several hundred stories and articles. Some of her better-known publications include Anna and the Indians (1955), Frances and the Crees (1957), The James Evans Story (1966), andChurchill: Canada's Northern Gateway (1974). Her active support of both Aboriginal peoples and Metis in Manitoba earned her many civic honours.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The collection includes lecture notes, manuscripts and published articles, radio and television scripts, maps, photographs, newspaper clippings, magazine articles and scrapbooks. In addition, there are three boxes of Indian Legends, recorded in the scrapbooks of Alex Grisdale of the Scanterbury Indian Reservation (2 boxes) and transcribed by Mrs. Shipley (1 box).

The map collection is noteworthy for its maps of the old Indian trails which crossed the prairie provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

The photograph collection contains pictures of historic sites throughout Manitoba. It is particularly valuable, however, for its record of old and new, urban and rural transportation in Manitoba (e.g. Red River carts, streetcars, railways, steamships, dog sleds and air transport). It provides a pictorial record of hydro developments in northern Manitoba and of the growth and demise of northern towns and settlements. Major and cottage industries, wildlife, flora and fauna of Manitoba are included. Among the portraits are native peoples, early missionaries and settlers and contemporary civic minded individuals. The research materials are on miscellaneous topics paralleling those of the picture collection.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 10 series

I. Biographical and Award Data
II. Correspondence 1948-1978
III. Lecture Series - University of Manitoba
IV. Lectures - miscellaneous
V. Manuscripts
VI. Radio Series
VII. Television
VIII. Publications 1940-1981
IX. Research Materials
Photograph Collection (PC 21)

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this collection.

Return to Top

Custodial History

Mrs. Nan Shipley gave the University of Manitoba custody of her collection February 12, 1979. Ownership was transferred by deed of gift to the University of Manitoba in October 1979 and the collection was then appraised for its financial worth. It was later submitted to the Cultural Property Review Board and certified as having outstanding cultural and historical value to the nation.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

      I. Biographical and Award Data

Box Folder  
1 1 Biographical and Award Data

Return to Top


           II. Correspondence 1948-1978

Box Folder  
1 2 Adhikari - Ashton 1955-1975

Adhikari, Mrs. Manasi - elementary school teacher,Brandon, Manitoba

from: 1 - January 6, 1974

Albert, Ken - resident of Norway House

to: 1 - July 24, 1974

Allan, Iris (Mrs. Fred) - sister, author

to: 3 - May 13, 1950, June 26, 1963, April 20, 1971

from: 2 - June 1, 1961, April 8, 1959

Allan, Ralph - Maclean's Magazine

to: 1 - June 24, 1959

Anco, Richard - Canadian Press reporter

from: - July 14, 1955

Antonson, Brian - editor, Nunaga Publishing Co., New Westminster, B.C.

to: 2 - May 12, 1975, May 21, 1975

from: 1 - May 7, 1975

Archer, John H. - Provincial Archivist, Manitoba

from: 2 - July 14, 1959, July 17, 1959

Armer, John R. - former neighbor in Transcona

from: 1 - September 22, 1972

Ashdown, Miss

to: - February 14, 1970, February 17, 1970 February 23, 1970

Ashton, Mrs. Frankie - daughter of John Allward

from: 1 October 15, 1969

3 Bailey - Byford 1955-1977

Bailey, Alice - program chairman, Nellie McClung Toastmistress Club

to: - April 30, 1974

from: 1 - no date

Bannerman, Jean - author

from: 1 - August 22, 1969

Barbarash, John - C.B.C.

to: 3 - November 5, 1963 -January 10, 1964

from: 3 - November 14, 1963 - January 20, 1964

Basken, Molly

from: 1 - July 4, 1970

(Copy of letter from M.B. to W.E. Green re: historical tours)

Bateman, Mrs. - Y.W.C.A. official

to: 1 - February 19, 1970

Bates, Mrs. Nancy - Addison-Wesley (Canada) Ltd.

from: 1 - March 6, 1970

to: 1 - March 18, 1970

Bayer, Mary Elizabeth - Manitoba Centennial Corporation Cultural Liason Officer

from: 1 - October 13, 1965

Bayliss, Julie - editor for McGraw-Hill Ryerson Ltd.

from: 1 - November 26, 1974

Beacock, Margaret (Mrs. G.C.)

from: 1 - November 20, 1961

Beckett, Eva - botanist, resident of Churchill 1946 1958, moved to Thunder Bay

to: 1 - May 9, 1973

from: 30 - September 24, 1955, June 16, 1972, October 10, 1972, May 9, 1973, May 6, 1973, May 27, 1973, July 1, 1973, July 20, 1973, September 11, 1973, October 11, 1973, November 12, 1973, November 18, 1973, November 28, 1973, February 3, 1974, June 5, 1974, July 9, 1974, October 14, 1974, December 10, 1974, February 28, 1975, June 22, 1975, July 16, 1975, December 10, 1975, September 17, 1976, January 10, 1976, December 29, 1976, May 1, 1977, four with no date or incomplete date

Bennett, Peter H. - secretary Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

to: 3 - August 30, 1972, October 3, 1973 October 18, 1973

from: 2 - September 8, 1972, October 12, 1973

Berton, Pierre - author

to: 1 - March 9, 1968

Bingham, -

to: 1 - March 10, 1970

Bird, Florence (Mrs. John) - Chairman, Royal Commission on the Status of Women

from: 2 - February 29, 1968, December 10, 1970

Bird, Percy - Community Development Services

from: 1 - September 24, 1963

Black  Ken - C.B.C.

to: 1 - July 25, 1962

from: 1 - September 24, 1962

Blackburn, Arnold, E. - employee of Hudson Bay Railway ca 1913-1915

from: 1 - May 1, 1959

Blight, Elizabeth - assistant Archivist, Provincial Archives of Manitoba

from: 1 - March 5, 1973

Bolus, Malvina - editor, The Beaver

from: 5 - December 8, 1958, June 2, 1960, November 16, 1961, November 23, 1966, January 10, 1968

Bend, Betty

from: 1 - May 26, 1955

Bond, Ford - administrator, Brandon Residence For Indian Children

to: 1 - October 17, 1968

from: 1 - October 21, 1968

Bonsteel, Sue - Stratford Public Library Stratford, Ontario

from: 1 - March 22, 1971

Bonswick, Frances - The United Church of Canada, Publications

to: 1 - March 4, 1960

from: 3 - June 5, 1959, June 24, 1959, June 15, 1961

Boon, Reverend, T.C.B. - Provincial Archivist, the Provincial Synod of Rupert's Land

from: 1 - November 28, 1958

Bossenmaler, Mary Jean - resident of Churchill

to: 1 - December 1, 1973

from: 1 - November 21, 1973

Bowles, Richard S. - Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba 1965-1970

to: 1 - May 6, 1968

from: 1 - September 20, 1969

Bowles, Mrs. Richard S.

to: March 3, 1970

Bowman, Bob - columnist (History Today Column)

to: 1 - August 24, 1972

from: 1 - September 6, 1972

Bowfield,

to: 1 - June 19, 1960

Bowsfield, to: 1 - January 3, 1967

Boyce, J.R. - Minster of Corrective andRehabilitative Services, Manitoba

to: 2 - September 12, 1975, March 15, 1976

from: 1 - March 11, 1976

Bradshaw, Mrs. Marion - editor, Canadian Antiques Collection

to: 1 - January 9, 1976

from: 2 - July 8, 1971, July 12, 1971

Brako, J.R. - Deputy Minister, Department of Government Services, Manitoba

to: 2 - February 20, 1970, March 17, 1970

from: 1 - February 27, 1970

Brass, Robin - General Books Division, McGraw Hill Ryerson Ltd.

to: 1 - August 27, 1973

Brawders, Darrelyn - teacher at Thompson

from: l - April 13, 1975

Brigden,

to: 3 - September 5, 1970, August 28, 1962

Britton, Marguerite (Mrs. J.C.) -

to: 1 - November 2, 1976

from: 3 - November 1, 1976, November 14, 1976 February 24, 1977

Brockman, Sophie (Mrs. A.A.)

from: 1 - December llth (n.d.)

Brown, Annora - artist, Fort McLeod, Alberta

from: 1 - January 27, 1957

Brown, Elsie - resident of Snowflake, Manitoba

from: 1 - July 16, 1976

Brownridge, Roy H. - cousin of Sam Gauding husband of Anna--"Anna and the Indians")

from: 1 - September 18, 1955

Bryan, Caryl - Public service representative of the Toronto Star

from: 1 - September 17, 1973

Bunn, George

from: 1 - January 2, 1963

Burch, Franklin W. - State Archivist, Minnesota, U.S.A.

to: 1 - January 5, 1971

from: 1 – December 19, 1966

Burns & MacEachern Ltd.

to: 2 - July 21, 1976, September 16, 1976

Burrows, Mary

from: 1 - July 2, 1972

Butler, Hugh - Australian amateur historian

to: 1 - September 15, 1963

from: 2 - October 31, 1968, February 10, 1969

Byford, E. - Assistant Editor, the Royal Canadian Geographical Society

to: June 30, 1975

4 Caldwell - Cuthbert 1955-1976

Caldwell, Dorothy - Research co-ordinator, Royal Commission on the Status of Women

from: 1 - April 5, 1968

Callaghan, Morley - author

from: 1 - July 25, 1968

Camden, Grace (Mrs. G.) - laboratory technician at Norway House

from: 1 - August 28, 1957

Cameron, - student writing on early missionaries in Canada

to: 2 - June 6, 1963, June 21, 1963

from: 1 - June 24, 1963

Cameron, Mary - Canadian National Railways Public Relations Officer

from: 1 - August 19, 1974

Canada Council

to: 1 - October 7, 1967

Canadian Author's Association

from: 1------ 1955

Canadian Author and Bookman

to: 1 - June 14, 1971

Canadian Boy Magazine

to: 1 - September 16, 1967

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

to: 1 - June 22, 1968

Carlson , E. - resident of Churchill, Manitoba

to: 2 - February 5, 1974, February 22, 1974

from: 6 - August 23, 1973, February 22, 1974

Casey, -

to: 1 - August 28, 1975

Chalmers, John W.

to: 1 - December 29, 1974

Chant, R.E. - professor, University of Manitoba

to: 1 - January 4, 1973

Chaput, Urbain J. - manager, Imperial Oil

from: 1 - June 9, 1975

Chivers, John

from: 1 - February 11, 1976

Clements, Amy - daughter of pioneer woman of Manitoba

from: 1 - February 11, 1973

Cline, Mrs. Miriam - Port Credit University Women's Club

from: 1 - February 2, 1966

Cochrane, Mr. & Mrs.

to: 1 - July 16, 1967

Colcleugh, (Mrs.)

to: 1 - December 15, 1969

Collins, A.R. - housewife

from: 1 - July 19, 1967

Combez, Miss C. - Librarian, Legislative Library

to: 1 - February 4, 1975

Constantini, (Mrs.) M. - secretary to Premier of Manitoba

from: 1 - December 31, 1962

Cooke, N. (Mrs.) - chairman, Indian and Metis Contest

from: 1 - February 22, 1965

Cordner, Andrew - manager, Western Art Glass Ltd.

from: 1 - December 31, 1962

Coutts, Wilma M.

from: 1 - January 10, 1967

Cowley, Gwen - Star Weekly (fiction editor)

from: 2 - January 25, 1961, May 27, 1964

Culliman, J.F. - Indian and Northern Affairs

from: 1 - July 24, 1973

Cunningham, John M. - Hudson's Bay Company

to: 1 - August 28, 1975

from: 1 - August 8, 1975

Cunnington, Bernice

from: 2 - March 20, 1971, January 11, 1972

Cuthbert, Chester D.

from: 1 - November 23, 1974 (one enclosure)

5 Dalton - Dunn 1951-1975

Dalton, Kay

from: 1 - February 16, 1972

Darnell, Wm. L. - Senior Vice-President, McGraw Hill Ryerson Ltd.

from: 1 - March 28, 1973

Davis, Anne - Winnipeg Art Gallery

to: 2 - August 29, 1975, September 4, 1975

from: 2 - September 3, 1975, September 9, 1975

Davis, Humphrey - Manitoba Historical Society

from: 1 - June 30, 1956

Delaquis, Father - Cathedral, St. Boniface

to: 1 - January 15, 1971

Delisle, G. - Picture Division, Public Archives of Canada.

from: 1 - March 5, 1970 (enclosures)

Dempsey, Hugh - Glenbov Foundation

to: 1 - September 28, 1967

Dickenson, (Mr.)

to; 1 - October 25, 19716

Dorey, Rev. George - Board of Home Missions, United Church of Canada

from: 1 - April 18, 1951

Doubleday and Company Ltd.

to: 1 - September 11, 1967

Douglas, W.C.

from: 1 - February 16, 1956

Dowker, Elsie

from: 1 - September 24, 1969

Dunbar, Donald

from: 2 - April 26, 1974, May 11, 1974

Dunn, Harry, A.

from: 1 - February 24, 1972

6 Eagleton - Evans 1953-1974

Eagleton, O.S. - Manitoba Department of Tourism

to: 1 – August 8, 1973

from: 1 - August 31, 1973

Earle, Mary - author

to: 1 - March 23, 1966

from: 1 - March 15, 1966

Easton, H.H. - Chief Librarian, Winnipeg Public Library

to: 1 - February 16, 1970

Ediger, Eleanor P.

to: 1 - 18 October 1963

Edy, J.C.H.

from: 1 - February 10, 1953

Ellichuk, Jocelyne - Royal Commission on the Status of Women

from: 2 - March 26, 1968, April 4, 1968

Ellis, Frank, H. - author and aviator

to: 1 – July 6, 1972

from: 2 - July 23, 1972, August 3, 1972

Emerson, Maureen - St. James Mission, Grand Rapids

to: 1 – August 6 (?)

Emisch, Ruth - rural school teacher

from: 1 - n.d.

Empson, Donald - Librarian, Minnesota Historical Society

to: 1 - March 16, 1971

from: 1 - March 9, 1971

Etter, (Miss) M. - Secretary Treasurer, Diocese of Keewatin

to: 2 - August 11, 1973, January 16, 1974

from: 2 - August 23, 1973, March 26, 1974

Evans, Gurney - Minister of Industry and Commerce

to: 2 - April 20, 1966, January 29, 1969

Evans, Sidney H.

from: 7 - January 21, 1969 - July 2, 1970

7 Fairley - Furlaw 1950-1977

Fairley, Anne fts.) - Membership Chairman C.A.A.

from: 1 - May 31, 1977

Fell, Frederick V. - book publisher

from: 1 - July 20, 1961 (with enclosure to J. Reach, Samuel French Inc.)

Ferguson, Thomas

from: 1 - February 5, 1962

Fergusson, Muriel

from: 2 - November 24, 1966, March 9, 1973

Finch, Mabel E.

from: 1 - July 18, 1961

Fineburg, Sheila

from: 1 - August 19, 1964

Fitzhenry, Whiteside Ltd.

to: 1 - March 4, 1975

from: 1 - May 5, 1975

Flemington, Frank - Assistant Editor, Ryerson Press

to: 6 - June 7, 1957 - June 20, 1968 (two letters - n.d.)

from: 11 - December 31, 1954 - June 4, 1970

Fletcher, Elva (Mrs.) - Associate Editor, Country Guide

to: 1 - April 1, 1966

from: 1 - March 17, 1966

Foord, G.A. - District Director of Postal Service

from: 1 - May 31, 1962

Forsythe, Agnes -

from: 1 - n.d.

Fort Garry Council

from: 1 - April 24, 1970

Fort Garry Lance

to: 1. - June 20, 1970

Found, Norman (M.D.)

from: 1 - n.d.

Francis, Mrs. Dorothy

to: 1 - June 12, 1964

from: 3 - n.d.

Franklin, (Misses)

to: 1 - July 26, 1972

Fraser, C.L.

from: 1 - May 11, 1950

Fraser, W.J.

to: 1 - March 18, 1974

from: 1 - April 15, 1974

Freeman, Bea

from: 1 - January 30, 1959

Furlaw, Barbara

from: 1 - April 2, 1969

8 Gage - Gundy 1959-1978

Gage, W.J. Ltd.

to: 1 - October 10, 1964

Gagne, Claude R.

to: 1 - October 30, 1966

Gautlett, Doris - Associate Producer, C.B.C.

to: 1 - November 21, 1974

from: 3 - October 30, 1968 - January, 1975

Gay, A. (Miss) - Vital Statistics, St. Boniface, Manitoba

from: 1 - January 6, 1971

Gayer, Robert B.

from: 1 - August 22, 1964

Gibson, Douglas M. - Doubleday Publishing Co.

to: 1 - June 27, 1973

from: 1 - August 31, 1973

Gibson, Howard B. (Rev.) - pastor, United Church of Canada Waskada, Manitoba

from: 3 - December 4, 1969 - March 23, 1973 (enclosures)

Gold, Peter

to: 1 - April 10, 1974

Gondor, D.V. - Vice-President, C.N.R.

to: 1 - May 10, 1963

from: 1 - May 24, 1963

Goodwill, Mrs. Jean - Cultural Development Section Indian Affairs

to: 2 - May 2, 1972 , May 15, 1972

Goodwill, Kenneth R.

from: 1 - April 1, 1966

Gorman, Ruth (Mrs. J.C.) - lawyer

from: 1 - September 26, 1960

Graham, (Miss)

to: 1 - May 7, 1968

Granger, Fred G. - printer

from: 2 - n.d.

Grant, John W. - editor,.Ryerson Press

from: 3 September 13, 1960 - May 4, 1961

Grant, Vic newspaperman

to: 1 - January 31, 1978

Gray, James F. - Secretary - Manager, Hudson Bay Route Association

from: 1 - July 4, 1972

Green (Miss) Anne

to: 1 - June 29, 1973

Gregson, Tony - editor, Burns & MacEachean

to: 1 - February 22, 1974

from: 1 - February 6, 1974

Greyeyes, Mrs. N.

from: 1 - February 12, 1959

Grisdale, Alex

to: 14 - December 11, 1962 - January 18, 1973

from: 102 - 1962-1972

Grisdale, Mrs. Mary - wife of Alex Grisdale

to: 4 - May 15, 1972 - January 24, 1974

from: 7 - February 16, 1973 - January 15, 1975

Grogan, Mr.

to: 1 - April 4, 1968

Grover, Richard

from: 1 - February 14, 1972

de Grummond, Mrs. Lena Young professor, University of Southern Missippi

to: 2 - May 11, 1966

from: 3 - May 5, 1966 - June 2, 1969

Gundy, H. Pearson

to: 1 - October 1, 1968

9 Hall - Hutchinson 1953-1975

Hall, Frank - Manitoba Department of Youth and Education

from: 1 - April 19, 1971

Hall, S.R. - Regional Marketing Manager, C.N.R.

from: 1 - August 23, 1973

Halpenny, Frances - University of Toronto Press

to: 1 September 18, 1967

from: 1 - September 26, 1967

Hambleton, A.

to: 1 - August 6, 1970

Hambleton, Alice - School Libraries Supervisor, Toronto

from: 1 - August 5, 1970

Hambley, George H. - President, Agricultural Memorial Museum of Manitoba

from: 1 - May 14, 1958

Hansen, Fred

from: 1 - July 11, 1956

Hardy, Anne,

to: 1 - June 27, 1968

from: 1 - May 3, 1963

Harland, H.E. - Chairman, Winnipeg Centennial Committee

from: 2 - May 9, 1974, September 23, 1974

Harper, R.R. - relative of Ann Gaudin

from: 1 - June 8, 1955

Harrington, Lyn - Canadian Authors Association

to: 1 - n.d. (draft copy)

Harris, Annie M.

to: 1 - June 21, 1971

from: 1 - June 7, 1971

Hartley, Michael D. - editor, International Nickel Magazine

from: 1 - May 9, 1973

Hass, (Mr.) - stained glass artisan

to: 1 - August 3, 1975

Hastings, Margaret E. - librarian, Provincial Library, B.C.

to: 1 - December 20, 1969

from: 1 - December 19, 1969

Hatcher, (Mr.)

to: 1 - April 3, 1966

Hay, Vivien - Hay & Associates, Public Relations Co.

from: 1 - November 21, 1972

Helena (Cousin)

from: 1 - November 3, 1955

Hemphill, H.D. - Museum of Man and Nature

to : 1 - May 10, 1971

Henderson, Elizabeth

from: 1 - June 12, 1970

Henderson, Rev. H.L.

to: 2 - November 7, 1963, December 6, 1963

Hetherington, (Mr.)

to: 1 - n.d. (draft copy only)

Hedvitson, S.A. - librarian, Hudson's Bay Company

from: 1 - January 25, 1960

Hill, Florence

from: 1 - August 30, 1962

Hirsch, (Mrs.) W. Paul

to: 1 - June 19, 1970

Hirsch, John - C.B.C.

to: 1 - November 9, 1974

Hives, Reverend - Keewatin minister

to: 1 - August 27, 1973

Hodgins, Bruce W. - History professor, Trent University

from: 1 - February 14, 1972

Holyck, Darin

to: 1 - May 18, 1968

Honnor, Irene (Mrs.)

to: 1 - February 26, 1955

from: 5 - October 4, 1953 - March 3, 1955 (also contains 1 undated copy)

Horsefield, R.B. (Ven.)

from: 1 - February 6, 1959

Hourie, (Mrs.) Edward

from: 1 – February 24, 1959

Howden, R.L. (M.D.)

to: 1 - April 10, 1972

from: 1 - May 9, 1972

Hyrhorczuk, B.R. - General Manager, Parks and Recreation

to: 1 - January 11, 1977

from: 1 - January 17, 1977

Huband, A.R. - Secretary, Hudson's Bay Company Committee

from: 1 – February 5, 1968

Hudson's Bay Company - Book Manager

to: 1 - March 16, 1971

Hunt, L.A.C.O.

to: 1 - October 1 - 0, 1977 from: 1 - September 27, 1977

Hutchinson, Gerald - executive director, Rundle's Mission

to: 2 – April 8, 1974, December 13, 1974

from: 4 - July 20, 1959 - December 19, 1974

10 Ingeritson - Jurvasky 1963-1973

Ingebritson, (Mr.)

to: 1 - August 27, 1973

Ingebritson, (Mrs.)

to: 1 - July 24, 1973

Ingram, Janice V. - Methodist Missionary Society, London, England

from: 1 - September 12, 1967

Jamieson, Miss M. - Indian & Northern Affairs

to: 1 - February 28, 1973

Jewel, Mrs. Edward

to: 1 - June 7, 1963

Johnson, George (M.D.) - Minister of Eduction

from: 1 - May 30, 1968

Jurvasky, (Mr.)

to: 1 - August 13, 1963

11 Kamienski - Kronlund 1952-1976

Kamienski, J.

to: 1 - September 7, 1967

Kaplan, Bess - Canadian Authors Association

from: 1 - April 23, 1971

Kierans, Eric - Postmaster General

to: 1 - December 12, 1969

from: 1 - December 30, 1969

Knight, Frederica (Mrs. R.E.)

from: 2 - April 18, 1967, May 1, 1967

Kahn, Charles - editor, Thomas Nelson & Sons

from: 2 April 11, 1973, July 31, 1973

Kelm, K.H. Principal, Roland Lauze School

to: 1 - December 1, 1972

from: 1 - November 9, 1972

Khan, Johanna (Mrs. Feroze) - Morden Winkler Library Board from: 1 - May 31, 1968

Kiil, Toivo - editor, McGraw-Hill Ryerson Ltd. from: 1 - March 7, 1972

Kilfoyle, Noella

from: 1 - December 13, 1976

King, N. (Rev.) - Nelson House United Mission

to: 1 - May 27, 1954

from: 1 - May 24, 1952

King, Connie

from: 1 - September 18, 1957

Kirkness, Verna Education Director, Manitoba Indian Brotherhood

to: 1 - February 15, 1972

from: 2 - February 22, 1972, May 23, 1972

Knaphe, Bill

from: 2 - February 16, 1962, July 20, 1962

Kreutzweiser, L.A. City Clerk, Saskatoon

to: 1 - July 26, 1972

from: 1 - July 28, 1972

Kronlund, (Mrs.)

to: 1 - October 15, 1973

Box Folder  
2 1 Kuper - Lutter 1954-1978

Kuper, (Mrs. J.B.)

from: 1 - June 13, 1954

Laing, M.

to: 1 - November 4, 1962

from: 1 n.d.

Lamb, Kaye Dominion Archivist

to: 1 - October 6, 1966

Lance Newspaper (in St. James)

to: 1 - July 21, 1978

Lavallee, Omer - Canadian Pacific Archives

to: 1 - December 16, 1974

Layne, W.C. - Manitoba Department of Youth and Education

from: 2 - January 14, 1970, April 28, 1970

Lazarenko, P. - President, Northland Fish

to: 1 - January 10, 1963

from: 1 - January 14, 1963

Leaping Deer - Lake-Of-the-Woods

to: 1 - December 13, 1965

from: 13 - December 13, 1965-December 1968

Lees, Frances

from: 1 - May 20, 1960

Lennox, Mrs.

to: 1 - April 26, 1970

Leslie, A.G. - Regional Supervisor - Indian Agencies

to: 2 - February 7, 1964, May 13, 1964

from: 2 - December 3, 1962, May 23, 1964

Lewsey, A.C. - vice-president, Winnipeg Paint and Glass

from: 1 - January 22, 1970

Lickers, Joan - Indian Affairs to: 1 - n.d.

Ligertwood,

to: 1 - July 4, 1972

from: 1 - July 5, 1972

Lightrop, (Mrs.)

to: 1 - February 19, 1970

Litwack, Linda - Royal Winnipeg Ballet

from: 1 - February 24, 1972

Loewen, K. (Mrs.) - librarian - Morden/Winkler

to: 1 - October 10, 1968

from: 1 - October 5, 1968

Ludwig, E.

to: 2 - January 2, 1970, January 10, 1970 from: 2 - January 8, 1970, n.d.

Lussier, Antoine - Research Co-ordinater of Project ANOUTCH

from: 2 - August 10, 1971, August 19, 1971

Lutter, Martin H. - President, Red River Historical Society

from: 2 - March 24, 1970, April 20, 1970

2
McArthur - Murray 1949-1978

McArthur, (Mra.) K. Idelle

from: 1 - January 8, 1965

McBryde, The Honourable Ron - Manitoba Commissioner of Northern Affairs

from: 1 - July 25, 1973

McCance, Gertrude F. - Manitoba Department of Education, Supervisor of School Broadcasts

to: September 12, 1963, November 11, 1969 from: - September 26, 1963, July 10, 1969

McClean, S.J. - elementary school teacher

from: 1 - March 6, 1978

Mclelland, J.G. - McClelland & Stewart Ltd. publishers

to: 1 - April 25, 1973

from: 2 - December 6, 1961, February 8, 1962

McConnell, Whitney - from: 1 - September 14, 1962

McCreary, (Mrs.)

to: 1 - July 13, 1967

MacDonald, Alice - Women's Missionary Society of the United Church

from: 1 - April 10, 1956

MacDonald, Flora - Conunittee for an Independent Canada from: 1 - January 1, 1971

Macdonald, Marjorie

from: 1 - May 3, 1962

MacFarlane, Lynne - Tribune book review editor

to: 1 - March 24, 1975

MacGraw-Hill Ryerson Ltd.

to: 1 November 10, 1974

Mackay, (Mrs.) Jean - C.B.C. - T.V. producer

from: 1 - May 12, 1958

McKay, Leonard

to: 3 - October 26, 1970 - June 2, 1971

McKay, Margaret

from: 1 - February 19, 1959

McKay, Marie (Mrs.)

to: 1 - July 6, 1964

from: 2 - August 7, 1962, July 17, 1964

McKay, V.

from: 1 - September 19, 1962

McKenzie, J. - Department of Indian Affairs

to: 2 - December 1, 1973, December 6, 1973

from: 1 - December 3, 1973,

Macklem, Mr. K.- Oberon Press

to: 2 - July 9, 1968, August 16, 1968

from: 2 - July 5, 1968, August 5, 1968

MacLachlan, Doug

to: 2 - August 22, 1973, September 1, 1973

Maclean's Magazine

to: 3 - July 13, 1965 - December 16, 1978

MacLeod, Margaret Arnett

from: 2 - December 4, 1949 - Christmas 1949

McLintock, Peter - executive director, Winnipeg Free Press

to: 3 - March 20, 1968, February 20, 1970, December 17, 1974

from: 2 - March 5, 1970 - January 7, 1975

McMullen, M.J.G. - executive director, Manitoba Travel and Convention Association

to: 2 - January 2, 1963, September 28, 1968

from: 5 - January 13, 1964 - November 15, 1968

Manitoba Cultural Grants Committee

to: 1 - December 24, 1962

Marcus, Claire from: 1 - July 26, 1963

Markham , B.W..

from: 1 - April 16, 1967

Martin, Glenn

from: 1 - March 20, 1970

Martin, Joseph - Manitoba Centennial Corporation

from: 2 - July 9, 1965, March 11, 1966

Martin, W. Stewart - Manitoba Historical Society

to: 2 - November 17, 1969, April 8, 1970 from: 2 - November 19, 1969, May 6, 1970

Matheson, D.W. - Vital Statistics

from: 1 - January 11, 1971

Matthews, R.

from: 2 - August 31, 1970, July 9, 1971

Maxwell, (Mr.) - photographer

to: 1 - November 16, 1963

Mayer-Oakes, Wm. J. - University of Manitoba, (anthropologist)

from: 1 - April 17, 1970

Megill, Wm. J. - executive secretary and editor, Royal Canadian Geographical Society

to: 1 - November 2, 1963

from: 2 - October 30, 1963, November 5, 1963

Mentwok, Gary

to: 1 - July 6, 1964

from: 1 - August 1, 1964

Miller, James A. - president, Historical Society of Alberta

from: 1 - February 3, 1.975

Millett, R. Murray

from: 1 - December 31, 1966

Mills, E.T. - Public Relations, Manitoba Hydro

from: 3 - August 22, 1968, November 6, 1968, May 3, 1972

Mines and Resources (Manitoba)

to: 1 - December 10, 1973

Minnesota Historical Society

to: 1 - December 14, 1963

Minnis, J.D.

to: 1 - November 22, 1962

Miriam de Lourdes, (Sister) - Edmonton Separate Schools

from: 2 - March 31, 1960, April 12, 1960

Morley, Wm. F.E. - Douglas Library, Queen's University

to: 3 - October 27, 1976, October 30, 1976 November 20, 1976 from: 4 - October 12, 1976, October 27, 1976 November 2, 1976, December 7, 1976

Morris, Shirley Knight - Burns and MacEachern Ltd.

to: 1 - August 117, 1974

from: 1 - August 22, 1974

Morton, W.L. - Department of History, University of Manitoba

to: 5 - April 27, 1963 - June 17, 1966

from: 6 - February 18, 1964 - June 10, 1966

Mulligan, Wm. - University of Manitoba

to: 1 - May 22, 1973

Murray, (Mrs.)

to: 1 - May 14, 1968

3
Nelson - Nute 1960-1970

Nelson, Carl, R.J. - University of Manitoba Architecture

from: 1 - October 14, 1964

Nickels, Dorothy J. - Minneapolis Public Library

from: 1 - March 9, 1970

Nicol, M. (Miss) -

from: 1 - November 18, 1968

Noon, C. (Mrs.)

from: 1 - March 13, 1968

Norman - nephew

from: 1 - June 26, 1960

Norris, Rt. Rev. VA. - Bishop of Brandon (Anglican)

to: 1 - February 9, 1960

from: 2 - January 23, 1960, February 4, 1960

Nute, Grace Lee

to: 1 - June 27, 1962

from: 1 -- June 22, 1962

4
Oberon Press to Ottawa Citizen 1970-1975

Oberon Press

to: 1 - December 4, 1974

from: 1 - January 15, 1975

Odjick, James - Indian & Northern Affairs, Cultural Development of Division

from: 1 - January 7, 1974

Organ, W.E. - Department of Tourism, Recreation and Cultural Affairs

from: 1 - October 12, 1973

Orzechowski, P

to: 1 - June 30, 1970

Ottawa Citizen (newspaper)

to: January 21, 1968, February 13, 1970

5
Pannekoek to Public Record Office 1959-1976

Pannekoek, Frits

to: 1 - January 18, 1971

from: 1 - December 10, 1970

Park, Edwards - Smithsonian Institution

from: 1 - August 6, 1970

Parker, V.H. (Mrs.)

from: 1 - April 24, 1960

Passi, Norendar - reference librarian, McMaster

from: 1 - June 10, 1974

Paterson, J. (Mrs.)

to: 1 - August 17, 1968

Paulley, A.R. - Manitoba Minister of Labour

to: 1 - September 13, 1969

Paupanckis, Joe

from: 1 - March 1, 1962

Peach, Bill

from: 1 - May 21, 1969

Pearce, Evelyn - Canadian Council of Teachers of English

from: 2 - November 21, 1969, January 9, 1970

Peel, Bruce - Librarian, University of Alberta

to: 1 - January 21, 1972

from: 1 - January 16, 1972

Peguis Publishers from: 3 - December 12, 1972, June 14, 1974 August 16, 1976

Pellowe, Linda - Publicity, Burns and MacEachern Ltd.

to: 1 - January 28, 1975

from: 1 - January 23, 1975

Pelletier, Jules - Canada Council

to: 1 - October 13, 1967

from: 2 - October 26, 1967, October 31, 1967

Pelletier, Wilfred

to: 4 - June, 1964-July 1964

from: 1 - July 15, 1964

Penguin Books Canada Ltd.

to: 1 - December 17, 1975

from: 1 - January 15, 1975

Penticton Public Library

to: 1 - October 7, 1975

Perrin, Isabelle

from: 1 - December 1971

Peter Martin Associates Ltd.

to: 1 - January 24, 1976

from: 1 - February 5, 1976

Phillips, M.E. (Mrs.) - The Bay

from: 2 February 24, 1970, March 16, 1970

Pic, Mary Ukrainian Cultural and Educational Centre

from: 1 August 10, 1976

Pierce, Lorne - editor, Ryerson Press

to: 5 - April 25, 1957-January 8, 1960

from: 6 - April 30, 1957-January 15, 1960

Pierce, Wilma (Mrs.)

from: 2 - June 30, 1962, May 22, 1967

Pinkham, Mary - Bishop Pinkham's daughter

from: 1 - February 1, 1959

Pitblado, Edward

from: 1 - September 2, 1976

Porter, (Miss)

to: 1 - April 13, 1967

Pratt, Claire - Associate Editor - McClelland and Stewart

to: 4 - September 23, 1961 - February 6, 1962 from: 3 - April 4, 1961 - January 30, 1962

Prentia, W.M.

to: 1 - March 13, 1971

from: 1 - October 14, 1961

Press Club

to: 1 - n.d.

Prins, H.

from: 1 - n.d.

The Province -newspaper, Vancouver, B.C.

to: 1 - January 28, 1975

Public Record Office - London, England

to: 1 - March 26, 1968

6 Quayle - Quincy 1968-1972

Quayle, W.A. - City Clerk, Winnipeg

to: 2 - February 16, 1970-March 16, 1970

from: 1 - February 24, 1970

Quebec Public Archives to: 1 - January 1, 1968

Queen's Quarterly

to: 2 - December 12, 1969, May 15, 1972

Quincey, Belle(Mrs.)

to: 1 - March 22, 1960

from: 1 - May 28, n.d.

from: 4 - March 3, 1961-July 25, 1963

7 Reach - Rybak 1954-1975

Reach, James - Samuel French Inc. (publishers)

From: 4 – March 3, 1961-July 25, 1963

Read, Robert W. - Fitzhenry and Whiteside Ltd. (publishers)

from: 1 - December 11, 1975

Reader , Northcote

from: 12 - September 23, 1958-November 30, 1959

Reading, Alexander, L.

from: 2 August 30, 1966, September 1, 1966

Reis, Kurt - Manitoba Theatre Centre

from: 1 - January 20, 1970

Rajotte, (Rev.)

to: 1 - November 5, 1965

Reich, Virginia

from: 1 - August 18, 1970

Reid, Cameron & Theresa

to: 5 - June 5, 1963-May 14, 1970

from: 2 - September 12, 1963, November 22, 1966

Rempel, Gina

from: 1 -July 7, 1970

Rheaume, Diane (Mrs.) - Canada Radio-Television Telecommunications Commission

to: 1 - October 20, 1977

from: 1 - November 1, 1977

Rice, (Magistrate's Court, Winnipeg)

to: 1 - October 25, 1968

from: 1 - October 31, 1968

Richardson, L. (Mrs.) - N.D. State University

to: 1 - April 18, 1972

from: 1 -April 12, 1972

Richford, W. President. HBRA-Saskatchewan

to: 1 - August 16, 1976

from: 9 - October 1, 1974-November 30, 1977

Riesberry, Helen C.

to: 1 - October 1, 1968

from: 1 - March 19, 1968

Ritchie, D. - Transair Ltd.

to: 1 - January 6, 1974

from: 1 January 14, 1973

Robb, D. C.B.C. Television

to: 1 -October 4, 1978

Robertson, R.W.W. - Vice-President and Editor-in-Chief, Burns MacEachern Ltd.

to: - October 21, 1967-November 8, 1967

from: 5 - October 17, 1967-October 31, 1967

Robin, Christena - President - Business and Professional Women's Club of Winnipeg

from: 1 - April 11, 1974

Robinson, Kae - Corresponding Secretary - Business and Professional Women's Club of Winnipeg

from: 1 - April 28, 1975

Roblin, Duff - Premier, Province of Manitoba

from: 1 - January 28, 1963

Robson, Mary - Editor, Thomas Nelson & Sons

to: 3 - August 29, 1970-January 24, 1974

from: 4 - August 24, 1973-January 20, 1974

Rae, Frank Gilbert

to: 2 - January 8, 1959, July 14, 1961

from: 4 - December 14, 1958-July 26, 1961

Rogers, Arthur W.

to: 1 - June 20, 1968

from: 1 - June 27, 1968

Rogers, D.A. - Hudson's Bay Company

to: 1 - January 26, 1968

from: 1 - January 30, 1968

Ross and Haines Inc.

to: 1 - March 29, 1965

Ross, Esther E.

to: 1 -February 12, 1955

from: 1 - February 1, 1955

Rowand, (Mr.)

to: 1 - October 24, 1970

Roy, Dorothy - Department of Welfare

from: 1 - February 9, 1965

Royal Winnipeg Ballet from: 1 - June 17, 1954

Rybak, Frances (Mrs.) Manitoba Association of School Librarians

from: 1 - November 22, 1967

8 Safronetz - Swenson 1957-1978

Safronetz, Mary Lynn (Mrs.) - elementary school teacher

to: 2 - October 11, 1972, March 9, 1973

from: 1 - October 3, 1972 (includes enclosures from the pupils, many of them Indian children)

Saint Boniface Municipal Offices

to: 1 - January 5, 1971

Saint Boniface Museum Board

to: 1 - July 3, 1970

Saint Catherines Library to: 1 - February 4, 1970

Saint Paul, Minnesota - Archives

to: 1 - December 16, 1966

Samwell, F. (Miss) - Advertising Manager, Queen's Quarterly

from: 1 - December 10, 1969

Sanders , Peggy - Librarian, Sarah Vaughan Public Library, Ontario

from: 1 - April 29, 1976

Sandwell, B.D. - Burns and MacEachern, Ltd.

to: 9 - November 24, 1972-December 1, 1977

from: 8 - February 3, 1972-September 4, 1974

Sargeant, E. - Marine Museum, Selkirk

to: 2 - May 7, 1974, May 23, 1974

Saskatchewan Archives

to: 1 -December 11, 1969

Scargall, Peter

to: 2 -April 5, 1974, April 10, 1974

Scarth, Simonsen & Company - solicitors

to: 10 - May 12, 1962-February 26, 1975

from: 17 - March 24, 1969-March 31, 1975

Scharf, Earl - National Harbours Board

to: 1 - November 14, 1973

Scorer, Mary - publisher and book dealer

to: 13 - May 5, 1972-October 10, 1977

from: 8 - May 8, 1972-December 15, 1977 (2 items undated)

Scott, Dixie - Assistant editor, National Parks Association

to: 1 - April 13, 1968

from: 1 - April 9, 1968

Senior, Ernie - resident of Churchill, Manitoba

from: 1 - October 14, 1972

Sexton, Beatrice R. (Mrs.)

from: 1 - October 31, 1957

Shannon, (Mrs.)

to: 1 - January 12, 1965

Shaw, (Dr.) - Manitoba Historical Society

to: 1 - June 15, 1974

Shepherd, George

from: 1 - February 26, 1966

Sherman, Jane

to: 1 - August 22, 1973

from: 2 - October 2, 1973, October 10, 1973

Shields, Ruby J. (Mrs.) - Minnesota Historical Society

from: 1 - March 6, 1971

Shipley, Norma

from: 3 - (1 n.d.), July 7, 1972, August 1, 1972

Shisler, Shirley - Public Library, Des Moines, Iowa

to: 3 - January 17, 1970-March 15, 1977

from: 2 - January 27, 1970-February 16, 1970

Shortt, Betsy (Mrs.)

from: 1 - January 13, 1977

Siren, Paul - ACTRA

from: 1 - November 12, 1968

Skalenda, Diane - Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature

from: 1 -April 2, 1976

Skarra, Glen - Powell Equipment Manufacturing Co. Ltd.

from: 1 - June 2, 1958

Skull, Jack - C.N.R.

from: 1 - June 27, 1974

Smith, Shirlee - Hudson's Bay Company

to: 5 - February 20, 1962-March 12, 1978

from: 6 - June 23, 1961-April 20, 1977

Spence (Mr.)

to: 2 October 26, 1970, August 12, 1972

from: 1 - October 30, 1970

Sprunt, O.E. - magazine editor, Winnipeg Free Press to: 1 - June 11, 1963

from: 1 - March 12, 1964

Stacey, (Mr.) - Municipal Office, Fort Garry

to: 1 - February 16, 1970

Stanford, Lloyd - Humanities and Social Sciences Division, The Canada Council

from: 1 - November 2, 1967

Stanton, James B. - Chief, Human History Division Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature

from: 1 - May 14, 1971

Status of Women, Chatelaine Magazine

to: 1 - December 15, 1967

Steinkopf, Maitland B. - Minister of Public Utilities, Manitoba

to: 3 - September 1, 1963-July 2, 1968

from: 2 - August 27, 1963-July 4, 1968

Stenson, Fred

from: 1 - January 17, 1968

Stevens, Frances E.

from: 2 - December 14, n.d., February 14, 1962

Stevens, James R. - College of Applied Arts and Technology, Thunder Bay, Ontario

from: 2 - January 11, 1971-May 4, 1972

Stiling, F. - Dean, Arts & Sciences, University of Western Ontario

from: 1 - April 20, 1961

Stirton, M. (Miss)

from: 2 - June 18, 1963, June 25, 1963

Stordy, Wm. - Queen's Consul, Brandon Manitoba

to: 1 - September 30, 1970

from: 1 - September 8, 1970

Stretch, Sue

from: 1 - August 19, 1973

Stretch family letters - from Anglican Mission at Churchill

from: 3 - 1973-1975

Stuckey, Lawrence - photographer

from: 1 -

Sus, F. -- National Harbours Board

to: 1 - June 14, 1974

from: 1 - November 19, 1973

Sutton, Mary (Mrs. N.G.)

from: 1 - December 19, 1976

Swanson, Mrs. E.

from: 1 - September 14, n.d.

Swayze, Walter E. - Head, Department of English University of Winnipeg

to: 1 - March 3, 1970

from: 1 - February 26, 1970

Swenson, D.F. - St. Agathe, Manitoba

to: 1 - August 21, 1976

from: 1 - August 14, 1976