LibGuides: Nan Shipley fonds: MSS 21 (A.05-82).

Finding Aid

Nan Shipley:

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Vladimira Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2006)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2006)
Finding aid written in English.

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Nan Shipley

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Access

Custodial History

Other Finding Aids

Detailed Description of the Collection

Correspondence, 1979-90

Autobiography, 1981-1985

Articles

Short Stories Collection

Women of Fort Albany,1989-1990

Andrew Taylor, 1989

Kerby Brothers, 1990

Louise Marshall's Autobiography

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Creator:
Nan Shipley

Title:
Nan Shipley fonds

Dates:
1979-1990

Quantity:
36 cm of textual material

Identification:
Mss 21 (A.05-82)

English

Return to Top

Biography of Nan Shipley

Nancy Evelyn Shipley (nee Somerville) was born in Glasgow, Scotland on November 6, 1902. In 1920’s she moved to Winnipeg and married George Shipley. Nan Shipley published fourteen books and numerous short stories and articles. Her first book Anna and the Indians (1955) had been reprinted many times. Among her better known publications are Frances and the Crees (1957); The Railway Builders (1965); The James Evan Story (1966); and Churchill: Canada’s Northern Gateway (1974). As a big supporter of Aboriginal and Metis culture, she organized Manitoba’s first Indian handicrafts sales centre (1959) and focused her writing on Indian and Metis women. In 1965 Shipley was elected Woman of the Year by the Women’s Advertising and Sales Club of Winnipeg. She also hosted weekly television program (1974-75) at CKND Winnipeg. Nan Shipley passed away on January 23, 1990.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The accession (A.05-82) consists of Nan Shipley’s unpublished autobiography Most of it was fun; unpublished manuscript Women of Fort Albany, correspondence, and numerous short stories and articles.

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into eight series:

1. Correspondence
2. Autobiography
3. Articles
4. Short Stories Collection
5. Women of Fort Albany,
6. Andrew Taylor
7. Kerby Brothers
8. Louise Marshall's Autobiography

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Judith I. Leyshon in 2005.

Return to Top

Other Finding Aids

Mss 21, PC 21 (A.79-14)

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Correspondence, [1979-90]

Box	Folder
1	1	University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, 1979-80 Correspondence re: Accession (A.79-14)
	2	Correspondence - General, 1979-1990

Return to Top

Autobiography, 1981-1985

Box	Folder
1	3	Auto-bio, 1982 25 pages - autobiography intended for family members only Most of it was fun (unpublished manuscript) - autobiography; excerpts, notes
	4	Most of it was fun - autobiography by Nan Shipley, 1985 pages 1-100
	5	Most of it was fun - autobiography by Nan Shipley, 1985 pages 101-276
	6	Most of it was fun - autobiography by Nan Shipley, ca 1981 pages 1-99 (1st draft)
	7	Most of it was fun - autobiography by Nan Shipley, ca 1981 includes copy of Dr. Orok's letter to N. Shipley from March 28, 1955 pages 100-201, 214-216, 263-264 (1st draft)
	8	Most of it was fun - autobiography by Nan Shipley, 1981 pages 1-81 (2nd draft)
	9	Most of it was fun - autobiography by Nan Shipley, 1981 pages 82 -228 (2nd draft)

Box	Folder
2	1	Most of it was fun - autobiography by Nan Shipley, 1981 Chapter 12
	2	Most of it was fun - autobiography by Nan Shipley, 1982 pages 1-92 (Chapter 1-10)
	3	Most of it was fun - autobiography by Nan Shipley, 1982 pages 93-119

Return to Top

Articles

Box	Folder
2	4	Bride's gift My mother's evil eye How I came to write "The Governor's Girls" Ice-Pan Feminine finale South Main Writer responsibility Chores after four Christmas caller Admission 25 cents Jetto and his family Summer storm Bulldozer blitz Sleeping prairie Trip to Thompson How the Mounties crossed the Red My sister, Iris Allan Tell me a story

5	Poles apart Local talent Most costly crime Unbelievable age of evolution Invisible place Four crosses Taboo! (incomplete, p.1-14) Paddy and Punch Riding the rails Manitobans build Russian railroad by E.J. Casey (as told to Nan Shipley)

Return to Top

Short Stories Collection

Box	Folder
2	6	Queen's Bouquet Peace Roses Proud Sword Acceptance Wings of the Wind By the Trail-Marker Bus-Fare for Janey

Return to Top

Women of Fort Albany, 1989-1990

Box	Folder
3	1	Women of Fort Albany, Sample sheets for editor (Chapter 1), [ 1989 ]
	2	Women of Fort Albany, [ 1989 ] Chapter 2 -25
	3	Women of Fort Albany, 1990 rewritten January 1990
	4	Women of Fort Albany excerpts, notes, corrections

Return to Top

Andrew Taylor, 1989

Box	Folder
3	5	Nan Shirley's correspondence to publishers, March 9 - September 15, 1989 Commander of Tarabin by N. Shipley Poles apart by N. Shipley Andrew Taylor's correspondence (biography) Arctic Blue Books: British Parliamentary Papers on Exploration in the Canadian North (reprinted from Arctic Bibliography vo. VIII) by A. Taylor

Return to Top

Kerby Brothers, 1990

Box	Folder
3	6	Nan Shirley's correspondence to publishers, October 28, 1987 - January 15, 1990 Judy Leyshon's correspondence to publishers, April 29 - July 2, 1990 William Kerby's War by N. Shipley Introduction by N. Shipley Kerby Brothers by N. Shipley Blood-Stained Red Sash by N. Shipley Kerby Brothers of 1812 by N. Shipley How the West Was Saved by N. Shipley Kerby Brothers in 1812 by N. Shipley Three Brothers Go to War - article by N. Shipley in Military History journal, August 1990.

Return to Top

Louise Marshall's Autobiography

Box	Folder
3	7	Thank God for Lemonade, January 1987

Return to Top