Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Joseph C. Stangl fonds: MSS 203 (A2005-40)

Joseph C. Stangl:

An Inventory of his papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba  R3T 2N2
(Dec.2005)

Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (Dec.2005)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives
331 Dafoe Library
 
Creator:
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3T 2N2
 
Title:
Joseph C. Stangl fonds
 
Dates:
1931-2002
 
Quantity:
4.25 m. of textual records

Return to Top


Biography of Joseph C. Stangl

Joseph C. Stangl was born at Quantock, Saskatchewan in 1919. He attended St. Thomas College in Battleford from 1934-1937 obtaining the equivalent of a second year university education. In 1937 he moved to Winnipeg where he took a secretarial course that enabled him to get a job with Crane Ltd. the following year. In 1940 he married Katherine Mary Ottenbreit. In 1943 they moved to Saskatoon where their first daughter Judith Ann was born. Stangl left Crane Ltd. in 1950 to return to Winnipeg as a Sales Manager for Anthes Foundary Ltd. Stangl remained with the company until 1968 when he retired at the age of 49 as the General Sales Manager for Western Canada.

Return to Top


Stangl embarked on a second career as a professional volunteer. He spent thirteen years as Secretary Treasurer and Administrator of St. Paul's High School. He was active locally, provincially, nationally and in some instances internationally in Catholic, Public and Independent Schools Education. In 1958 he was honoured with a Papal Knighthood - Knight of St. Gregory the Great (KSG). In 1979 he was awarded the Order of Canada (CM).

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds is divided into 11 series. Biographical information, speeches, Manitoba Association for Equality in Education, Manitoba Federation of Independent Schools, Manitoba Association of School Trustees, Catholic Parochial School Trustees Association, Manitoba Catholic School Trustees' Association, Federation of Independent Schools of Canada, Canadian Catholic Trustees' Association, Canadian Catholic School Trustees' Association & Reports, Research

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restrictions on use

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds were given to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Georgina Lewis the Librarian at St. Paul's College. Stangl's paper had been held at the college for several years.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION [ 2001-2002 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Stangl's autobiography Life's Challenges A Man for Others 2002
  2 Outline of Stangl memoirs 2001

Return to Top


SPEECHES 1974-1985
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 3 Stangl speeches 1975-1987
  4 " A Brief Review of the Manitoba School Question from 1870 to April 30, 1980" 1980
  5 Presentation on "Non Public Schools" vis-a-vis "Public School" CSTA Congress on Education, Halifax 1985
  6 " Roles and Functions of School Board Members" , for Winnipeg Board of Jewish Education Orientation Night 1987
  7 Thank you notes from various students that Stangl loaned material to 1974-1985

Return to Top


MANITOBA ASSOCIATION FOR EQUALITY IN EDUCATION 1964-1985
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 Founding & meeting minutees 1964-1971
  2 Role of organization 1964-1972
  3 Brief presented by Arthur Mauro to a special committee of the Manitoba Legislature 1964
  4 Second Annual Convention 1966
  5 Correspondence 1968-1971
  6 Meeting minutes & correspondence 1968-1973
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 Meeting held at Balmoral Hall School includes membership lists 1972
  2 Bilingual grant appeal 1970-1985
  3 Correspondence 1972-1974
  4 Federal-Provincial programme of cooperation for the Development of Bilingualism in Education at the Pre-University levels 1973
  5 Handbook - French Language Support Manitoba Federation of Independent Schools 1975

Return to Top


MANITOBA FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS 1964-1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 Copies of Briefs sent to the Manitoba Government 1964-1984
  2 School enrollment statistics 1967-1996
  3 Enrollment reports & statistics 1970-1987
  4 Appeal for grade 12 grants 1970-1975
  5 Funding for Private Schools 1972-1984
  6 Catholic School enrolment 1972-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1 Federal bilingual grant data 1973-1985
  2 Board of Director's meeting minutes 1974-1987
  3 Declining enrollments research papers 1974-1979
  4 Incorporation document & letters patent 1974
  5 By-laws 1975-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1 Government correspondence 1975-1982
  2 Taxation Data - Re: Circular 75-23 1975-1982
  3 Financial statements 1975-1995
  4 Education Committee - academic purposes 1975-1990
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7 1 Executive committee meeting minutes 1976-1990
  2 Annual meetings 1976-1995
  3 Shared service agreements correspondence 1977-1986
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
8 1 Annual educational conference 1977-1996
  2 Standing Committee on Privileges & Elections - Presentations Re: Bill 22&23 1979
  3 Teacher classification material 1980
  4 Department of Education - private school enroll 1981-1986
  5 Correspondence 1981-1982
  6 Analysis of gross salaries with 1.5% provincial sales tax 1982-1987
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
9 1 Brief & Details re: Education Finance Review - Dr. Glenn Nicholls chairman 1982
  2 Correspondence 1983-1987
  3 Group insurance information 1983-1987
  4 Eighth annual meeting president's report 1983
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
10 1 Opinion place marketing insights - Manitobans attitude to Independent Schools 1983-1985
  2 Manitoba Schools Question - Legal Appeal - Section 18 Canadian Charter of Rights & Freedoms 1984
  3 Negotiating Committee details - 80% funding formula with the Province 1984-1995
  4 Funding of Independent Schools - Kerr Twaddle agreement 1985
  5 MLA Survey - Re: Equitable funding of private schools 1985
  6 Notes on the history of MFIS 1986-1999
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
11 1 Director's meeting minutes 1988-1996
  2 Manitoba Government reports & correspondence Re: Funding 1989-1991
  3 Government requirements & regulations Re: financial statements 1989
  4 Mission statement 1990
  5 Newsletter 1990-1996
  6 Sample of annual financial statement 1990
  7 Reports sent to Federal Government 1992
  8 Correspondence 1996

Return to Top


MANITOBA ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES 1964-1989 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
12 1 Article re: School Trustees 1964-1986
  2 Occasional papers for trustees 1971
  3 Occasional papers for trustees 1972-1973
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
13 1 Annual convention 1968
  2 Speeches & reports 1968-1971
  3 "Educational opportunity in Manitoba A study of Educational Opportunity and School Division Organization in Manitoba" Peter Coleman ca.1973
  4 M.A.S.T. correspondence with M.F.I.S. re: liason 1986-1989

Return to Top


CATHOLIC PAROCHIAL SCHOOL TRUSTEES ASSOCIATION 1962 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
14 1 Correspondence 1962-1964
  2 Meeting minutes 1963-1964
  3 Correspondence 1963-1975
  4 Manitoba Catholic Conference correspondence 1964-1982
  5 Constitution & Incorporation By-laws 1965-1970
  6 Catholic philosophy & objectives 1968-1987
  7 Member files 1971
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
15 1 Remedial Order of 1895 - correspondence & research 1967-1986

Return to Top


MANITOBA CATHOLIC SCHOOL TRUSTEES ASSOCIATION 1973-1990 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
15 2 Annual meeting 1984
  3 Twaddle report funding for independent schools 1982-1985
  4 Remedial Order Committee meeting 1982-1986
  5 Kerr Twaddle - Re: Funding of Independent Schools 1984-1985
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
16 1 Remedial Order Committee material 1985
  2 Remedial Order Committee meeting minutes 1985
  3 Remedial Order Committee - minutes from joint meeting with the Archbishops 1986
  4 Remedial Order Committee - meeting minutes 1986-1987
  5 Remedial Order Committee - meeting minutes 1987-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
17 1 Remedial Order Committee - meeting minutes 1987
  2 Remedial Order Committee - meeting minutes 1988-1989
  3 Remedial Order Committee - meeting minutes 1989-1990
  4 Petition 1990
  5 Remedial Order Committee - Letters to Education Minister to Education Minister Len Derkach 1990

Return to Top


FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS OF CANADA 1964-1992 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
18 1 Shared services 1964-1976
  2 Shared services agreements & correspondence 1964-1976
  3 Shared services information 1976
  4 Correspondence 1978-1984
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
19 1 Shared service agreements 1979-1982
  2 Reports & minutes 1979-1983
  3 By-laws & constitutions 1979
  4 Briefs presented to the Canadian Government Re: Constitution of Canada 1980-1981
  5 Meeting minutes 1981-1984
  6 Financial statements 1982-1983
  7 Protocol for Agreements between the Government of Canada and the Provincial Governments for Minority - Language Education and Second-Language Instruction 1984
  8 Shared service agreements between Public School Division & Independents Schools 1988
  9 International Conference - Montreal 1990
  10 Positioned paper presented to the Special Joint Committee on a Renewed Canada 1992

Return to Top


CANADIAN CATHOLIC TRUSTEES' ASSOCIATION 1964-1975 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
20 1 Annual convention 1964
  2 Annual convention 1967
  3 Annual convention 1968-1970
  4 Convention 1968
  5 Reports & addresses 1970-1971
  6 Annual convention minutes 1971
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
21 1 Annual convention - proceedings & position papers 1972
  2 Annual convention 1973
  3 Teaching Citizenship in Schools 1973-1974
  4 Aims & Objectives Committee 1973-1974
  5 Post Secondary Data on Grade XII 1974-1975
  6 Annual convention & position papers 1974

Return to Top

 

CANADIAN CATHOLIC SCHOOL TRUSTEES' ASSOCIATION 1976-2000 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
22 1 Annual convention & position papers 1977
  2 Annual convention 1976
  3 Annual convention 1978-1980
  4 Presentation to the Special Joint Committee on the Constitution 1980-1981
  5 Annual convention 1981
  6 Annual convention 1983
  7 Annual convention 1984-1985
  8 Annual convention 1988
  9 Annual convention 1990
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
23 1 Correspondence 1967-1969
  2 Watchdog Committee - Re: Federal Constitutional changes - B.N.A. 1969-1980
  3 Meeting minutes 1969-1970
  4 Public Relations Committee 1970-1973
  5 CCSTA & CSTA proposed federation details 1972-1975
  6 Correspondence 1972-2000
  7 Bylaws & constitution 1972-1975
  8 Inter-Provincial Religious Committee 1973-1975
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
24 1 Annual convention & position papers 1975
  2 Catholic trusteeship 1976
  3 "Canadian Catholic School Trustees' Association in the Sixties" Rev. Carl J. Matthews 1981
  4 Convention 1984
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
25 1 Canadian Public School Trustees Association 1968-1976
  2 Meeting minutes 1972-1977
  3 Provincial Association adresses as V.P. & president 1975-1979
  4 Data & presentations while president 1975-1977
  5 Organization for Economic Confederation Development 1976-2000

Return to Top


REPORTS, RESEARCH, MATERIAL & CONFERENCES 1931-1998 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
26 1 Press clippings Re: opening of St. Paul's College 1931
  2 Petition of the Catholics Taxpayers' Association of Manitoba to Government & Legislature of the Province 1933
  3 Report on Catholic Educational Conditions in Winnipeg 1947
  4 Public funding through Norwood School Division of Holy Cross & Precious Blood School 1952-1953
  5 Briefs presented to the Royal Commission on Education 1957
  6 Interim Report Manitoba Royal Commission on Education 1958
  7 The Catholic Social Life Conference in Winnipeg - proceedings & addresses 1958
  8 Report of the Royal Commission on Education 1959
  9 Holy Cross elementary school 1959-1984
  10 Presentations on Catholic Education 1961-1968
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
27 1C Research papers on Education in Manitoba 1962-1980
  2 Canadian Education Association - reports 1963-1964
  3 Catholic Education material 1964-1985
  4 "Manitoba School Question" Rev. V. Jensen 1964
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
28 1 Knights of Columbus appeal for funds to operate the superintendent's office 1966-1986
  2 Schools Acts effecting private schools 1967-1980
  3 Presentations on Catholic Education 1968-1985
  4 Catholic School information 1968-1980
  5 Funding calculations for Government Grants to private schools 1970-1989
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
29 1 Reports & papers on Alternative Education 1970-1993
  2 Presentations to the Manitoba Catholic Conference updating funding appeals status 1971-1992
  3 " A Reference Paper on Selected Topics in Education" Premier Edward Schreyer 1972
  4 Educational papers 1972-1974
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
30 1 National Catholic Educational Association Conference, New Orleans 1973
  2 Administration and the Valuing Process Proceeding of the Fifth Western Canada Educational Administrator Conference, Banff 1973
  3 Division IV - Christian Ethics - curriculum outline ca.1975
  4 Shared Services - Revised regulation to Public Schools Act 1975
  5 Articles on Education ca.1975
  6 Research papers on Education 1976-1990
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
31 1 Articles on Bilingualism 1976-1985
  2 Educational papers 1976-1981
  3 Research papers on Middle School 1976-1977
  4 7th Annual Commonwealth Conference on Education- Ghana 1977
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
32 1 7th Annual Commonwealth Education Conference - Ghana 1977
  2 7th Annual Commonwealth Education Conference - Ghana 1977
  3 Alternative Education - research material 1977-1987
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
33 1 Debates & proceedings of Manitoba Legislature 1978-1979
  2 Presentations & articles on Catholic Education 1979-1984
  3 John S. Ewart biographical material ca.1980
  4 Manitoba Teachers Society material 1980-1989
  5 Proposal Re: Brief to Minister of Finance - Income tax deduction on tuition 1980-1981
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
34 1 Financial & statistical data - Re: Independent Schools 1983-1989
  2 Presentations & articles on Catholic Education 1984-1996
  3 Funding statistical data - compiled 1985-1989
  4 "The Equality Provisions of the Charter and Educational Policy: Preparations for Implementation" Michael E. Manley-Casimer & Terri A. Sussul 1985
  5 The Manitoba Catholic School News 1987
  6 Report: The Manitoba Interdiocesan Catholic Schools Inc. & reference material 1992
  7 Canadian Society for the Study of Educational Administration 1998
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
35 1 Proposal Re: Brief to Minister iof Finance - Income tax deductions on tuition 1981-1986
  2 Charter of Rights & Freedoms as it applies to Catholic Schools 1982-1985
  3 Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms - Continuing Education Legal Education Seminar 1982
  4 Financial reporting and accounting in Manitoba Education - report ca.1982
  5 Financial Equity for Catholic Schools - Appeal through the Knights of Columbus 1982-1987

Return to Top