Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Libby Simon fonds: MSS 307 (A.08-162)

MSS 307 (A.08-162)


Libby Simon:

An Inventory of Her Papersat the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Emma Prescott
University of Manitoba
330 Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
(1992 - 2009)

Finding aid encoded by Emma Prescott (September 2009)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Libby Simon

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Other Finding Aids

Detailed Description of the Collection

Correspondence and Published work of Libby Simon. 1992 - 1009

Collection Summary

Repository:
Univresity of Manitoba
330 Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
Creator:
Libby Simon

Title:
Libby Simon fonds

Dates:
1992 - 2009

Quantity:
0.127m

Identification:
Mss 307 (A.08-162)

English

Return to Top

Biography of Libby Simon

Libby Simon (nee Klein) was born on 21 December, 1934 in Winnipeg. The youngest of five children and the only girl, she grew up in the North End of Winnipeg in a multi-racial, multicultural and multi-ethnic community of immigrants. Her parents had arrived in Canada from Poland in 1928. She married Harold Simon in 1956, and together, they raised one daughter.

She received a Bachelor of Arts degree majoring in Psychology, a Pre-Master’s degree in Educational Psychology and a Masters degree in Social Work from the University of Manitoba. She was on the Dean’s Honour List in both years of the Master’s Program in 1970-1971 and received the Solomon Grand Prize in a tie for the highest standing in her final year in Social Casework (Fall Convocation 1970).

In her professional life, she was employed as a social worker with the Children’s Aid Society of Winnipeg for several years, then worked as a school social worker with the Child Guidance Clinic in the Seven Oaks School Division for twenty years. While there, she created and led a special program called the Tri-Agency Parent Project, which joined some of the services of Child and Family Services, Child Guidance Clinic and the Seven Oaks School Division to focus on parenting.

Her first foray into writing was in 1992 when she wrote an academic essay for the B.C. Journal of Special Education. Since then she has become a freelance writer who has been published in the Winnipeg Free Press, Homemakers and Geist magazines, Canadian Living online magazine, U.S. anthologies, scholarly Canadian journals as well as a variety of smaller periodicals. She has also read some of her works on CBC Radio in Winnipeg. In 2006 she received a Grant for Professional Development as a writer, from the Winnipeg Arts Council.

She is a member of the Penhandler’s Professional Women’s Writers’ Club, The Freelancers Writing group, the Writers Collective and the Manitoba Writer’s Guild. She also holds membership in the Winnipeg Teachers’ Association and the Manitoba Institute for Registered Social Workers. She currently resides in Winnipeg with her husband.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

This collection consists of published articles written by Libby Simon in journals, the Winnipeg Free Press and various books. It also consists of a small amount of correspondence.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on use

Return to Top

Custodial History

The collection was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections by Libby Simon in 2008.

Return to Top

Other Finding Aids

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

     Correspondence and Published work of Libby Simon.[ 1992 - 1009 ]

Box Folder  
1 1 Article in Focus: “Born to Succeed”. 2000
  2 Articles in Manitoba Social Worker: “Beyond the Perimeter: surviving as a social worker in rural Manitoba” and “Social Work – Bleeding Heart or Heavy Mettal”. 1992 & 2007
  3 Articles in the Manitoba Journal of Counselling: “The School Ecomap” & “Mainstreaming: Is it in the best interest of all children?” 1993
  4 Article in the ata magazine: “Children need a daily dose of Alphabet Soup”. 1999
  5 Articles in Geist: “St. John’s Park” & “Sadie Hawkins”. 2008
  6 Newspaper clippings. [1994, 2000 - 2008]
  7 Certificate of Appreciation. 1992
  8 Correspondence with Penelope Leach re. “How does it feel to be spanked?” 1993, 2000
  9 Correspondence with Corinne Robertshaw re. repeal 43. 2001, 2007
  10 Correspondence re. “How does it feel to be spanked?” 2001
  11 Correspondence re. various publications. 2005, 2007 - 2008
  12 Correspondence re. Professional Development Grant. 2007
  13 Correspondence with Elliot Barker re. re-publication of “How does it feel to be spanked?”2009
Books and other published material 1992 - 2006

• How do I love thee? / Libby Simon in “A Cup of comfort for Grandparents” / edited by Colleen Sell. 2006.
• Where doves dare to fly / Libby Simon in “A Cup of comfort for courage” / edited by Colleen Sell. 2004.
• You just had to be there / Libby Simon in “Chocolate for a woman’s dreams” / Kay Allenbaugh. 2001.
• The school ecomap / Libby Simon in “Guidance and counseling” / edited by Laurie Carty. 1992.
• Beyond the perimeter / Libby Simon in “Double Vision” / edited by Margaret Tobin. 1993
• Childhood Violence: a new dis-ease / Libby Simon in “Educational issues from a social work perspective” / edited by Libby Simon. 1996.
• Carrie / Libby Simon in “Homemaker’s” / edited by Mary McIver. 2000.
• Mainstreaming: is it in the best interest of all children? / Libby Simon in “B.C. Journal of Special Education”/ edited by Marg Csapo. 1992.
• How does it feel to be spanked / Libby Simon in “Empathetic Parenting” / edited by E.T. Barker. 2001.

Return to Top