An Inventory of Her Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Karyn Riedel Taylor
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
(2000)
Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (July 2006)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Collection Summary
Biography of Berenice Sisler
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Arrangement of the Papers
Restrictions on Use
Custodial History
Detailed Description of the Collection
Research Material, 1968-1997
Collection Summary
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
Creator:
Berenice Sisler
Title:
Berenice Sisler fonds
Dates:
1968-1997
Quantity:
1.69 m of textual records
Identification:
MSS 137 (A.98-20)
English
Return to Top
Biography of Berenice Sisler
Berenice B. Warne was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba on August 8, 1924. She graduated from East Kildonan Collegiate in Winnipeg where she won the Governor General's Award in 1941. She went on to achieve a Bachelor of Arts degree from United College, University of Manitoba in 1945 and a Diploma in Education from the University of Manitoba in 1946. In 1948, she married George C. Sisler. In 1970, she was presented with the University of Winnipeg Alumni Association's 25th Anniversary Award as the outstanding graduate of 1945 for her years of voluntary work in the church, community, the YWCA, and the United College Graduates' Association. Sisler served as president of the University of Winnipeg Alumni Association in 1974-1975 and was appointed to the University of Winnipeg Board of Regents from 1976-1979. She has received several awards for her work in the areas of family law and pension reform, including the Order of the Buffalo Hunt (1985), the Person's Award (1986), the YM-YWCA Woman of the Year Award for Public Affairs (1989), and an Honourary Doctor of Laws from the University of Winnipeg (1990). Her book,A Partnership of Equals: The Struggle for the Reform of Family Law in Manitoba was published in 1995.
Return to Top
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds consists of one series. The series is based on research material acquired by Berenice Sisler that relates to family law and related issues. This research was used in her book, A Partnership of Equals: The Struggle for the Reform of Family Law in Manitoba . The series is organized into three subseries. The first is material concerning family law and related issues. It encompasses the years prior to 1970 and up to and including 1996. The second subseries is material regarding the Anderson-Axworthy Affair. It begins with a summary written by Ms. Sisler in 1997 that documents the affair and her role in it. The documents regarding the affair include the years 1980 to 1984. The final subseries consists of various publications used by Sisler in her research. They consist mainly of government and special interest groups reports regarding the status of women in Canada. Included in the publications section is Sisler's book, A Partnership of Equals: The Struggle for the Reform of Family Law in Manitoba . The publications span the years 1968 to 1996.
Return to Top
Arrangement of the Papers
This collection is arranged into one series, Research Material, and subsequently divided into three subseries.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Use
There are no restrictions on the use of this material.
Return to Top
Custodial History
The fonds was donated to Archives & Special Collections by Berenice Sisler in 1998.
Return to Top
Detailed Description of the Collection
Research Material, [ 1968-1997 ]
Family Law and Related Issues, ca. 1970-1996
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 1 |
1 |
Family Law and Related Issues, prior to 1970 |
| |
2 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1970-1973 |
| |
3 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1974 |
| |
4 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1975 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 2 |
1 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1976 |
| |
2 |
Family Law and Related Issues, January-May 1977 |
| |
3 |
Family Law and Related Issues, June 1977 |
| |
4 |
Family Law and Related Issues, June 1977 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 3 |
1 |
Family Law and Related Issues, July-December 1977 |
| |
2 |
Family Law and Related Issues, July-December 1977 |
| |
3 |
Family Law and Related Issues, January-June 1978 |
| |
4 |
Family Law and Related Issues, January-June 1978 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 3 |
1 |
Family Law and Related Issues, June-December 1978 |
| |
2 |
Family Law and Related Issues, June-December 1978 |
| |
3 |
Selected Hansard, re: Family Law, March-June 1978 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 5 |
1 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1979 |
| |
2 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1980 |
| |
3 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1980 |
| |
4 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1981 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 6 |
1 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1982 |
| |
2 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1983 |
| |
3 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1984 |
| |
4 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1985 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 7 |
1 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1985 |
| |
2 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1986 |
| |
3 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1987 |
| |
4 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1988 |
| |
5 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1989 |
| |
6 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1990 |
| |
7 |
Family Law and Related Issues, 1990-1996
Anderson-Axworthy Affair, 1980-1984, 1997 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 8 |
1 |
Summary by Berenice Sisler, 1997 |
| |
1 |
Anderson-Axworthy Affair, June 1980 - January 19, 1981 |
| |
2 |
Anderson-Axworthy Affair, January 20, 1981 - January 30, 1981 |
| |
3 |
Anderson-Axworthy Affair, February 1, 1981 - February 27, 1981 |
| |
4 |
Anderson-Axworthy Affair, March 3, 1981 - September 1984
Publications, 1968-1996 |
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 9 |
|
- #1 - Report of the Manitoba Volunteer Committee on the Status of Women - March 1968
- #2 - Report of the Royal Commission on the Status of Women - 1970
- #3 - Law Reform Commission of Canada - The Family Court (Working Paper 1) - January 1974
- #4 - Law Reform Commission of Canada - Family Property (Working Paper 8) - March 1975
- #5 - Law Reform Commission of Canada - Maintenance on Divorce (Working Paper 12) - 1975
- #6 - Advisory Council on the Status of Women - The Person Papers: Matrimonial Property - 1976
- #7 - Manitoba Law Reform Commission - Report on Family Law: Part I - The Support Obligation, Part II - Property Disposition - 1976
- #8 - Law Reform Commission of Canada - Report: Family Law - March 1976
- #9 - Department of the Attorney-General and the Women's Bureau of the Department of Labour - Family Law in Manitoba - 1977
- #10 - Saturday Law Series: The Legal Profession Studies Manitoba's New Family Law - Edited Transcript of Proceedings - October 15, 1977
- #11 - Department of the Attorney-General - Family Law in Manitoba - 1978
- #12 - United Nations - Human Rights: A Compilation of International Involvement - 1978
- #13 - Report of the Family Law Review Committee - The Family Maintenance Act and the Marital Property Act - March 1978
|
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 10 |
|
- #1 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - The Royal Commission Report: 10 Years Later - October 1979
- #2 - Manitoba Law Reform Commission - Report on Improved Methods of Enforcing Support Orders Against Real Property - 1979
- #3 - Manitoba Law Reform Commission - Report on the One-Year Rule for Enforcement of Arrears in Maintenance - 1980
- #4 - Law Reform Commission of Canada - Modernization of Statutes Series Study Paper: Practical Tools to Improve Interprovincial Enforcement of Maintenance Orders after Divorce - 1980
- #5 - Lynn King - What Every Woman Should Know about Marriage, Separation and Divorce - 1980
- #6 - Department of the Attorney-General - Family Law in Manitoba - 1981
- #7 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Women and the Constitution - 1981
- #8 - A Report on the State of Family Law in Manitoba: Recommendations for Change - May 1982
- #9 - Statistics Canda - Divorce: Law and the Family in Canada - 1983
- #10 - Secretary of State - Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women: Report of Canada - May 1983
- #11 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Love, Marriage and Money: An Analysis of Financial Relations between the Spouses - March 1984
- #12 - Department of Justice - Divorce Law in Canada: Proposals for Change - 1984
- #13 - Manitoba Law Reform Commission - Summary of Report on an Examination of 'The Dower Act' - 1984
- #14 - Manitoba Law Reform Commission - Report on the Examination of "The Dower Act" - 1984
|
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 11 |
|
- #1 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Women and Legal Action: Precedents, Resources and Strategies for the Future - 1984
- #2 - Legislation re: Family Law - 1954-1987
- #3 - Divorce cases used as examples by monitoring group - 1978-1981
- #4 - Department of Justice - Equality Issues in Federal Law: A Discussion Paper - 1985
- #5 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Family Law in Canada: New Directions - November 1985
- #6 - Manitoba Law Reform Commission - Report on the Testators Family Maintenance Act - 1985
- #7 - Manitoba Law Reform Commission - Report on the Married Women's Property Act - 1985
- #8 - Manitoba Law Reform Commission - Report on Interstate Succession - 1985
|
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 12 |
|
- #1 - Manitoba Attorney General - Family Law in Manitoba - 1985
- #2 - Karen Dubinsky, Feminist Perspectives - Lament for a "Patriarchy Lost"? Anti-Feminism, Anti-Abortion, and R.E.A.L. Women in Canada - March 1985
- #3 - Margrit Eichler, Feminist Perspectives - The Pro-Family Movement: Are They For or Against Families? - September 1985
- #4 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Family Law Forum Papers - March 1985
- #5 - Status of Women Canada - A Feminist Review of Criminal Law - 1985
- #6 - The Charter of Rights Coalition (Manitoba) - Charter Compliance: Selected Provincial Statutes - 1985
- #7 - The Charter of Rights Coalition (Manitoba) - Charter Compliance: Selected Provincial Statutes - Recommendations - 1985
- #8 - Manitoba Attorney General - The Expansion of the Family Division of the Court of Queen's Bench: Feasibility Study - November 1986
- #9 - The Charter of Rights Coalition (Manitoba) - Charter Compliance: Selected Provincial Statutes - 1987
- #10 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Personal Autonomy and the Criminal Law: Emerging Issues for Women - Background Paper - September 1987
|
| Box |
Folder |
|
| 13 |
|
- #1 - Manitoba Association of Women and the Law - Gender Equality in the Courts - November 1988
- #2 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Canadian Charter Equality Rights for Women: One Step Forward and Two Steps Back? - September 1989
- #3 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Highlights from Canadian Charter Equality Rights for Women: One Step Forward and Two Steps Back? - September 1989
- #4 - Family Law Branch, Manitoba Justice - Issues Paper on the Dower Act - July 1991
- #5 - National Symposium on Women, Law and the Administration of Justice - Recommendations from the Symposium - Volumes I and II - June 1991
- #6 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Evaluating Child Support Policy: A Brief to the Federal/Provincial/Territorial Family Law Committee - December 11, 1992
- #7 - Manitoba Association of Women and the Law - Fairness in Family Law September 1994
- #8 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - The Tax Treatment of Child Support: Preferred Policy Options - The CACSW's Submission to the Task Group on the Tax Treatment of Child Support Canada - July 7, 1994
- #9 - The Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women - Work in Progress: Tracking Women's Equality in Canada - June 1994
- #10 - Berenice Sisler - A Partnership of Equals: The Struggle for the Reform of Family Law in Manitoba - 1995
- #11 - Status of Women Canada - Gender-Based Analysis: A Guide for Policy-Making - March 1996
- #12 - The Manitoba Human Rights Commission - Accommodating Equality Guidelines: Reasonable Recommendation Guidelies under the Provisions of the Manitoba Human Rights Code - April 1996
|
Return to Top
