Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

John Plantje Collection (German Occupation of Holland Postcards): Home

John Plantje Collection (German Occupation of Holland Postcards)

Call Number: Pc 11 (A.78-26)

Title: John Plantje Collection (German Occupation of Holland Postcards).

Dates: 1940.

Extent: 37 photographs: b&w.

Historical note: On May 10, 1940, German troops invaded the Netherlands. The initial conflict ended five days later as Dutch forces surrendered and German occupation of the Netherlands officially began. Five years later, the Netherlands would be liberated. However, the toll in human life and suffering during those five years was enormous.

Custodial history: John Plantje donated the collection to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 1978.

Scope and content: The collection consists of postcards of the German occupation of Holland in 1940.

Source of supplied title: Title based on contents of collection.

Restrictions: There are no restrictions on this material.

Accruals: No further accruals are expected.

Finding aid: A printed finding aid is available in the Archives reading room.