Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Spencer Family fonds: MSS 121, PC 124 (A.96-38, A.96-99)

MSS 121, PC 124 (A.96-38, A.96-99)

Spencer Family fonds:

An Inventory of their Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Don Kroeker
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1996)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (January 2003)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 121, PC 124 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of the Spencer Family

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Textual Records

Photograph Collection (PC 124)

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2

Creator:
Spencer Family

Title:
Spencer Family fonds

Dates:
1884-1973

Quantity:
0.64 m of textual records. -- 505 photographs.

Identification:
MSS 121, PC 124

Language
English.

Return to Top

Biography of the Spencer Family

Percy Spencer was born in England and came to Canada in the 1880s. He homesteaded in the Russell area, and eventually had seven children. One of his daughters, Lucy, became a R.N. in 1931. Her diaries are particularly interesting for what they reveal about women's education and careers in the first part of the 20th century. Scholars in the fields of Women's Studies and History will find much useful information in these diaries. Historians will also find the diaries of kept by Percy Spencer himself very useful. He wrote consistently and over a long period of time on the problems of homesteading.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The Spencer collection consists of diaries, account books, photographs and ephemera depicting rural life near Russell, Manitoba. Percy Spencer wrote journal entries for thirty-five years, and his daughter Lucy kept a diary from 1920 - 1926, 1944, and from 1946 - 1959 and 1961 - 1973. The collection contains sixty bound volumes (diaries) and five farm account books. The photographs are interesting in that they depict rural life, but the accompanying documentation is fragmentary thus reducing the overall usefulness of the photos.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 2 series:

Textual Records
Photograph Collection (PC 124)

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this collection.

Return to Top

Custodial History

Donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 1996.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Textual Records
                                           Percy H. Spencer Diaries/Account Books:

Box Folder  
1 1 1884
  2 1885-1886
  3 1887-1888
  4 1889-1890
  5 1891-1892
Box Folder  
2 1 1895-1896
  2 1897-1901
  3 1902-1908
  4

1909-1920

Diaries:

Box Folder  
2 5 1911-1915
  6 1916-1920
Box Folder  
3 1 1921-1926
  2 1927-1932
  3 1933-1935
  4 1946-1939
Account Books:
Box Folder  
3 5 1888-1891
  6 1892, 1911, 1935-1939
Lucy C. Spencer Diaries:
Box Folder  
3 7 1920-1936
  8 1943-1947
Box Folder  
4 1 1949-1953
  2 1954-1955
  3 1956-1959
  4 1961-1966
  5 1966-1973
  6 One School Notebook (Lucy Spencer)
  7 Grad & Registration Certificates and grad photo
Box Folder  
5 1 Betty Spencer 5-Year Diary, 1935-1940
  2 Craigie School Division #908 minutes, 1904-1934
  3 "Waghorn's Guide" (RR time tables) March 1949
  4 Massey Ferguson 125th Anniversary Booklet, 1972
  5 Letter from England 1941
  6 Order of the Crocus Awards - Josephine and Lucy Spencer
  7 Will of Richard White, 1867; Portion of unidentified Will, 1878
  8 Miscellaneous bills and papers
  9 Assorted clippings
  10 Pocket diary (nearly empty)
  11 Scrapbook (n.d.)

Return to Top


Photograph Collection (PC 124)
                                 Envelopes of photos, many with labels, grouped by subject:

Box Folder  
1 1 Threshing, Discing
  2 Haying, Richard's Homestead, Sawmill, Sawing Wood Miscellaneous
  3 Two Farming photos - haying, plowing, n.d.
  4 Family photo album (with identification notes)
  5 Portrait of P.H. Spencer, 1934
  6 Postcard album with photos (includes i.d. notes)
  7 Photo album (with labels)

Return to Top