Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River M├ętis. More

Task Force on Social Assistance fonds: Home

Task Force on Social Assistance:

Call Number: A.90-62

Title: Task Force on Social Assistance fonds.

Dates: 1983-1984.

Extent: 1 m of textual records.

Administrative history: The Task Force on Social Assistance was established in May of 1982 to examine the structure and policies of Manitoba's provincial and municipal social assistance programs. The Task Force was appointed under the chairmanship of Dr. Joe Ryant, Professor of Social Work at the University of Manitoba. Dr. Ryant is particularly well-known for contributions as Chairman of the 1975 Manitoba Child Welfare Review and for his activities as a teacher and author in the social service field. The Task Force was designed to study the legislation and programs in other provinces and to make recommendations to the Minister of Community Services and corrections within certain terms of reference.

Custodial history: The fonds was donated to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Dr. Joe Ryant in 1990.

Scope and content: The fonds contains correspondence regarding the establishment of the Task Force, reports from various groups within Manitoba, minutes of meetings, and progress reports.

Restrictions: There are no restrictions on this material.

Accruals: No further accruals are expected.

Finding aid: Finding aid is currently unavailable.