The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba.
Inventory prepared by Vladimira Zvonik
Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1985)
Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2005)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
CF-18 System Engineering Support Contract Proposal, 1985
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Creator:
J. M. Symonds
Title:
J. M. Symonds fonds
Dates:
1985
Quantity:
40 cm of textual material
Identification:
A.05-68
English
John Malcolm Symonds is Engineer-in-Residence at the Faculty of Engineering, University of Manitoba. He received his B.Sc. ME from the University of Manitoba in 1977. After his graduation he joined Bristol Aerospace Ltd. as design engineer. In 1983 he became a manager responsible for engineering administration and project management and processes. Mr. Symonds is a co-author of System Engineering Support Contract Proposal for CF-18 aircraft. The contract was published in 1985 by five Canadian Aerospace Companies: Canadian Aerospace Support Team - Bristol Aerospace Ltd.; Litton Systems Canada Ltd.; Bendix Avelex inc.; Leigh Instruments Ltd.
In 1987 Mr. Symonds became a director of Aircraft Engineering. During that time he developed the systems design for Bell Helicopter and CF-5 repairs, updates, and flight tests. In 1996 he took over responsibilities for Defence Missile engineering and in 1998, as Director of engineering Services, he added responsibilities for planning, tool design, tool build and data control. Mr. Symonds worked in Bristol Aerospace Ltd. until his retirement on January 2001.
At the present time, Mr. Symonds is teaching courses (Program Management and Systems Engineering) at the University of Manitoba. He donated his copy of CF-18 System Engineering Support Contract Proposal to the University of Manitoba in 2005.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds consists of the System Engineering Support Contract Proposal for CF-18 aircraft.
Arrangement of the Papers
This collection is arranged in one series
CF-18 System Engineering Support Contract Proposal
No restriction on Access
No restriction on Use
The fonds was donated to the Archives & Special Collections by John Malcolm Symonds in 2004.
Detailed Description of the Collection
CF-18 System Engineering Support Contract Proposal, [ 1985 ]
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | The 5x5 Choice for CF-18 System Engineering Support - poster, 1985
includes an issue of Aerospace Canada International, Dec. 1985 |
| 2 | Proposal to Provide CF-18 System Engineering Support: Executive Summary - Vol. 1, 1985 | |
| 3 | Management Proposal; Program Mangement Plan; Subcontract Management Plan - Vol. 2, 1985 | |
| 4 | Work Breakdown Structure - Charts; Index; AA - Vol.3, 1985 | |
| 5 | Work Breakdown Structure AB - Vol. 4, 1985 | |
| 6 | Work Breakdown Structure AC - Vol. 5, 1985 | |
| 7 | Work Breakdown Structure AD - Vol. 6, 1985 | |
| 8 | Engineering Proposal; System Engineering Management Plan; Engineering Cognizance Plan; Engineering Liaison Plan - Vol.7, 1985 | |
| 9 | Configuration Management Plan - Vol. 8, 1985 | |
| 10 | Documentation Support Plan; Data Management System Plan; Repair and Overhaul Plan - Vol. 9, 1985 | |
| 11 | Facilities Plan; Infrastructure Support Plan; Avionics Support Facility Support Plan - Vol. 10, 1985 | |
| 12 | CF-18 System Engineering Support Capability, Litton Systems Canada Ltd.: Statement of Work - CDRL NO. 1, 1985 | |
| 13 | Master Schedule - CDRL NO. 4, 1985 | |
| 14 | Special Tooling and Test Equipment; Inventory List - CDRL No. 5, 1985 | |
| 15 | Government-Furnished Equipment - CDRL NO. 6, 1985 | |
| 16 | Configuration Management Plan - CDRL NO. 9, 1985 | |
| 17 | Documentation Support Plan - CDRL NO. 10, 1985 |