Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Glenlea Research Station Series Finding Aid: Home

Glenlea Research Station Series Finding Aid

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
(1994)

Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (June 2006)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Glenlea Research Station
 
Title:
Glenlea Research Station series
 
Dates:
1962-1986
 
Quantity:
1.5 m of textual records
 
Identification:
UA 21 (A.88-08)
 
 
English

Return to Top


Administrative History of the Glenlea Research Station

In June 1966, Premier Duff Roblin on behalf of the Faculty of Agriculture and Home Economics officially opened the Centre for Applied Research at Glenlea. The Centre began to be commonly referred to as the Glenlea Research Station the same year. The area consists of nine river lots which, when purchased in 1962, had comprised three separate farms. The Station is located on Highway 75, approximately 20 km south of the University of Manitoba Fort Garry campus. There are approximately 500 hectares of land partitioned into three main areas by Highway 75 and the railway line. West of Highway 75 is an area of approximately 400 hectares which is divided into 14 fields. The Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences operate the Station with financial support from Manitoba Agriculture and the University of Manitoba.

The Station originally housed the Dairy Science Centre, a beef Nutrition Unit, a Swine Research Centre, and a research program involving field-scale crop rotation. Today there are facilities for other departments at the University of Manitoba including the Avian Behaviour Laboratory for ducks and geese, under the direction of the Department of Psychology, an observatory operated by the Department of Mathematics and Astronomy and a geomagnetic observatory supervised by the Department of Geology. In addition, the Station is an official meteorological recording site, providing weather information to Environment Canada. Finally, the Manitoba Wildlife Rehabilitation Organization operates the Wildlife Rehabilitation Center on site.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Records

The fonds consists of correspondence, budgets, committee files, contracts and agreements related to leases and insurance. Also included are files relating to: the Station's buildings, equipment and machinery; the laboratory analysis of the soil testing done at the Station; research; and the weather station.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

The material is open to all researchers unless labeled confidential. Access to confidential records is restricted.

Return to Top


Related Materials

Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences fond (UA 21, PC 17, TC 11). 45 photographs and 10 negatives pertaining to the Glenlea Research Station are interspersed throughout PC 17.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The material was donated to Archives & Special Collections in 1988 by the Department of Agricultural Economics.

Return to Top


Other Finding Aids

Printed finding aids for the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences and its component series exist in printed form in the Archives' reading room. A finding aid for this fonds is also available on-line.

Return to Top

Glenlea Research Station,[ 1962-1986 ]
 

The series consists of correspondence, budgets, committee files, contracts and agreements related to leases and insurance. Also included are files relating to the Station's buildings, equipment and machinery; the laboratory analysis of the soil testing done at the Station; research; and the weather station.

 

Box Folder  
167 8
Associate Dean and Director's Correspondence, 1974-1978

[No: 5110]

  9 Associate Dean and Director's Correspondence, 1983-1986

[No: 5112]

  10 Farm Equipment and Machinery,1966

[No: 5184]

  11 Farm Equipment and Machinery - Grain Drying, 1965-1967

[No: 5177]

Box Folder  
168 1
Farm Equipment and Machinery - Tractor and Implements, 1963

[No: 5182]​

  2 Farm Equipment and Machinery - Workshop Tools and Equipment,1964

[No: 5183]

  3 Farm Equipment and Machinery - Seed Cleaning,1968

[No: 5181]

  4 Farm Equipment and Machinery - Price Quotations, 1965-1966

[No: 5186]

  5 Farm Equipment and Machinery - Hay Drying,1964

[No: 5185]

  6 Extension Planning Committee,1981

[No: 5151]

  7 Grassland Farming Committee,1974

[No: 5154]

  8
Glenlea Union Grievances, 1980

Restricted

[No: 5218]

  9 Contract Negotiations, 1977-1978

[No: 5215]

  10 Collective Agreement, 1976-1977

[No: 5214]

  11 University of Manitoba Faculty Association Union, 1979-1980

[No: 5213]

 

Box Folder  
169 1
University of Manitoba Faculty Association Union, 1974-1976

[No: 5211]

  2 University of Manitoba Faculty Association Union, 1974-1979

[No: 5212]

  3
Merit Pay, 1975-1979

Restricted

[No: 5219]

  4
Union Grievances, 1980

Restricted

[No: 5217]

  5 Associate Director's Correspondence, 1963-1967

[No: 5113]

  6 Associate Dean and Director's Correspondence, 1978-1981

[No: 5111]

  7 Curriculum Committee, 1975-1978

[No: 5150]

  8 Faculty Council of Agriculture, 1978-1980

[No: 5167]

  9 Fire Protection, 1977-1978

[No: 5199]

  10 Fababeans Research and Experimentation, 1974-1977

(Correspondence)

[No: 5194]

  11 Glenlea Farm Census,1971

[No: 5133]

  12 Glenlea Farm Sales, 1964-1965

[No: 5134]

Box Folder  
170 1
Manure Silo, 1968

(Plans)

[No: 5142]

  2 Equipment Storage Building, 1964
  3 Silos,1967

[No: 5143]

  4 Government of Canada Correspondence - Re: Building, 1962-1963

[No: 5148]

  5 Employee Relations, 1981-1984

(Job descriptions)

[No: 5174]

  6 Admission Qualifications and Limitations, 1983-1985

(Correspondence)

[No: 5175]

  7 Dairy and Swine Barn,1980

(Drawings)

[No: 5129]

  8 Advisory Committee,1978

[No: 5153]

  9 Shelterbelt Dispute - Access to River Lot 10, 1970-1972

(Contracts, agreements)

[No: 5160]

  10 Capital Allocations Budget, 1962-1970

(Expansion of research station)

[No: 5116]

  11 Highway Traffic and Co-ordinating Board,1963

[No: 5114]

  12 Fields and Crops - Shelterbelts,1975

(Correspondence)

[No: 5188]

  13 M.O. Marchand Land Donation,1974

(Correspondence)

[No: 5190]

  14 Government of Manitoba Research Consultants, 1978-1980

[No: 5193]

 

Box Folder  
171 1
Government of Manitoba Research Consultants, 1975-1977

[No: 5192]

  2 Manitoba Agriculture Development Workshop,1983

[No: 5159]

  3 Institute of Agrologists and Faculty of Agriculture Consultation Conferences, 1976-1978

[No: 5158]

  4 Leases, 1969-1971

(Contracts, agreements)

[No: 5164]

  5 Swift, Macleod, Deacon, et al - Agreement, 1966-1967

[No: 5165]

  6 Leases, 1964-1973

(Contracts, agreements)

[No: 5163]

  7 Vehicle Licenses and Insurances, 1972-1979
  8 Insurances, 1962-1967

(Contracts, agreements)

[No: 5161]

  9 Course Offerings - Load Assessments, 1981-1982

[No: 5170]

  10 Farm Equipment and Machinery - Inventory, 1966-1967

[No: 5178]

  11 Farm Equipment and Machinery - Inventory,1971

[No: 5179]

  12 Farm Equipment and Machinery - Irrigration Equipment, 1962-1969

[No: 5180]

  13 Assocation of Employees Supporting Educational Services Union,1980

(Negotiations)

[No: 5210]

  14 Assocation of Employees Supporting Educational Services Union,1980

[No: 5209]

  15
Tenure Appeal Committee, 1978

Restricted

[No: 5156]

  16 Generic Job Description, 1963-1973

[No: 5216]

Box Folder  
172 1
Employee Relations, 1969-1977

(Job descriptions)

[No: 5172]

  2 Employee Relations, 1975-1980

(Job descriptions)

[No: 5173]

  3 Faculty-wide Promotion Committee, 1979-1980

[No: 5152]

  4 Staff Seniority Lists, 1976-1979

[No: 5207]

  5 Wild Rice Progress Reports,1973

[No: 5197]

  6 Weed Control, 1972-1973

(Reports)

[No: 5196]

  7 Department of Employment and Immigration - Young Canada Works Program, 1979-1980

(Correspondence)

[No: 5149]

  8 Minimum Tillage Committee, 1979-1980

[No: 5155]

  9 Research Funding Budgets, 1979-1980

[No: 5123]

  10 Canadian Agricultural Research Council, 1979-1982

(Correspondence)

[No: 5147]

  11 Canadian Agricultural Research Council, 1978-1979

(Correspondence)

[No: 5146]

Box Folder  
173 1
Faculty Council of Agriculture, 1976-1978

[No: 5166]

  2 Capital Allocations Budget,1965

(Equipment, fencing materials)

[No: 5115]

  3 Fire Prevention, Plans and Equipment, 1966-1976

[No: 5198]

  4 Losses through Fire, 1974-1975

[No: 5171]

  5 Fire Alarm System, 1964-1967

[No: 5189]

  6 Flood Protection, 1966-1967

[No: 5201]

  7 Flood Control, 1966-1967

(Correspondence)

[No: 5200]

  8 Captial Allocations Budget, 1979-1981

(Fuel reports)

[No: 5120]

  9 Capital Allocations Budget, 1977-1978

(Fuel reports)

[No: 5119]

  10 Capital Allocations Budget, 1976-1977

(Fuel reports)

[No: 5118]

 

Box Folder  
174 1
Capital Allocations Budget, 1975

(Fuel reports)

[No: 5117]

  2 Course Offerings in Genetics, 1976-1977

[No: 5169]

  3 Course Offerings in Genetics,1974

[No: 5168]

  4 Fields and Crops,1979

(Field maps)

[No: 5187]

  5 Buildings,1980

[No: 5136]

  6 Buildings correspondence, 1971-1979

[No: 5135]

  7 Beef Barn,1969

(Drawings)

[No: 5127]

  8 House E. Building,1968

(Drawings)

[No: 5140]

  9 Housing Complex,1967

[No: 5141]

  10 Hay Shelter and Drier, 1965-1966

(Drawings)

[No: 5138]

  11 Grain Storage Buildings,n.d.

(Drawings)

[No: 5137]

  12 Glenlea Administration Building, 1963-1967

(Correspondence)

[No: 5126]

  13 Swine Barn, 1969

(Correspondence)

[No: 5145]

  14 Dairy Barn, 1967

(Drawings, correspondence)

[No: 5130]

  15 Hay Shelter,1965

(Drawings)

[No: 5139]

  16 Dairy Barn, 1965-1966

(Operational correspondence)

[No: 5131]

 

Box Folder  
175 1
Beef Barn, 1965

(Correspondence, drawings)

[No: 5128]

  2 Grant Income Budgets, 1977-1981

[No: 5121]

  3 Grant Income Budgets, 1981-1982

[No: 5122]

  4 Glenlea Budget Statements, 1965-1966

[No: 5124]

  5 Glenlea Budget Statements, 1969-1970

[No:5125 ]

  6 Laboratory Analysis - Soil Testing, 1967-1968

[No: 5205]

  7 Laboratory Analysis - Soil Testing, 1967-1968

[No: 5206]

  8 Laboratory Analysis - Soil Testing, 1966-1967

[No: 5204]

  9 Laboratory Analysis - Soil Testing, 1965-1966

[No: 5203]

  10 Laboratory Analysis - Soil Testing, 1964-1965

[No: 5202]

  11 Typographical Surveys,1963

(Drawings, correspondence)

[No: 5208]

 

Box Folder  
176 1
Summer Student Assistantships, 1979

[No: 5108]

  2 Teaching Assistantships, 1977-1978

[No: 5109]

  3 History of Glenlea Research Station,1983

[No: 5191]

  4 Examinations - Undergraduate Student Marks,1977

[No: 5176]

  5 Unicom Study,1977

(Reports)

[No: 5195]

  6 Vice-President's Advisory Committee on University Exchanges, 1979-1980

[No: 5157]

  7 Water Treatment Wells, 1965-1968

(Correspondence)

[No: 5223]

  8 Weather Station, 1967-1968

[No: 5220]

  9 Weather Station, 1981-1982

(Readings)

[No: 5221]

  10 Weather Station, 1982-1983

(Readings)

[No: 5222]

Return to Top