Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Edgar J. Tarr fonds: MSS 4

Edgar J. Tarr

Edgar J. Tarr:

An Inventory of his papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections.

Inventory prepared by Archives staff,
University of Manitoba, 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(July 1991.)

Finding aid encoded by Allan Neyedly (March 2002)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 4 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Edgar J. Tarr

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Detailed Description of the Collection

GENERAL

INSTITUTE OF PACIFIC RELATIONS, 1929-1947

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections. 
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Creator:
Mr. E. J. Tarr

Title:
Edgar J. Tarr fonds

Dates:
1881-1950

Quantity:
1.8 m of textual records (14 boxes)

Identification:
MSS 4

Language
English.

Return to Top

Biography of Edgar J. Tarr

Born in Ottawa in 1881, Tarr was educated at Ottawa Collegiate, Woodstock College, and McMaster University finishing with a B.A. Honours and a law degree. He was called to the Bar of Manitoba in 1905. In 1908 he married Kathleen A. Burke, daughter of the late Edmund Burke, a Toronto architect. Tarr went on to become Director of the Bank of Canada, national president of the Association of Canadian Clubs and the Canadian Institute of International Affairs, president of the Monarch Life Assurance Company, president of the Winnipeg Canadian Club, and International Chairman of the Institute of Pacific Relations. He also represented Canada several times at international conferences around the world.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The collection contains primarily the papers and proceedings of Tarr's involvement with various Institutes, in particular, the Institute of Pacific Relations, the Royal Institute of International Affairs, the Canadian Institute of International Affairs, the American Institute of Pacific Relations, the British Commonwealth Relations Conference, and the Conference of North Atlantic Relations.

Also included is correspondence by and concerning the publication Pacific Affairs, a monthly journal of the Pacific.

Publications of the different Institutes have been removed and separately catalogued.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 2 series and 8 sub-series.

  • GENERAL
  • INSTITUTE OF PACIFIC RELATIONS, 1929-1947,

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

     GENERAL

Box Folder  
1 1 E.J. Tarr: Correspondence

(1 folder)

Return to Top


INSTITUTE OF PACIFIC RELATIONS, 1929-1947

1. Correspondence
Box Folder  
1 2 Incoming
  3 Outcoming
  4

Telegrams


2. Conference Proceedings, 1929-1947
Third Biennial Conference, held in Kyoto, Japan, October 28 - November 10, 1929

Box Folder  
1 5 List of Members, Agenda and addresses.
  6 Round Tables
  7 Conference Papers
  8 Delegation Papers
  9 Correspondence
  10 Meetings: Minutes
Fifth Biennial Conference, held in Banff, Canada, 1933
Box Folder  
1 11 Roster of Members and Family
  12 Conference Papers
  13 Delegation Papers
  14a Meetings: Minutes
  14b

Correspondence

Sixth Conference, held at Yosemite, California, August 15 - 19, 1936

Box Folder  
2 15 Agenda
  16 Conference Papers
  17

Delegation Papers

Eighth Conference, held at Mont Tremblant, Quebec, 1942

Box Folder  
2 18 Conference Papers
  19 Delegation Papers
  20 Delegation Papers
Box Folder  
3 21 Delegation Papers
  22

Delegation Papers

Ninth Conference, held at Hot Springs, Virginia, 1945

Box Folder  
3 23 Conference Papers (papers are missing)
  24 Delegation Papers
  25 Delegation Papers
  26 Delegation Papers
Box Folder  
4 27 Delegation Papers
  28

Delegation Papers

Tenth Conference, held at Stratford-upon-Avon, England, September, 1947

Box Folder  
4 29 Delegation Papers
  30 Delegation Papers
Box Folder  
5 31 Delegation Papers
  32

Delegation Papers

Eleventh Conference, held at Lucknow, India, 1950

Box Folder  
5 33 Agenda
  34 Conference Papers
  35 Delegation Papers
  36

Delegation Papers

Second British Commonwealth Relations Conference, Lapstone Hotel, Sydney, Australia, September, 1938

Box Folder  
6 37 List of Conference Members and Observers
  38 Agendas
  39 Addresses
  40 Conference Papers
  41 Conference Papers
  42

Meetings-Agendas & Minutes

Third British Commonwealth Relations Conference, Chatham House, London, 1945

Box Folder  
6 43 List of Delegates
  44 Agendas
  45 Round Tables
  46 Conference Papers
Box Folders  
7 47 Delegation Papers
  48

Correspondence

Study Meeting, Empress Hotel, Victoria, B.C., Hotel Cavalier, Virginia Beach, 1939

Box Folder  
7 49 Round Tables
  50 Correspondence
I.P.R. Conference, Hotel Claridge, Atlantic City, 1944
Box Folder  
7 51 List of members attending Conference
  52 Agendas
Conference on North Atlantic Relations, Prout's Neck, Maine, 1941
Box Folder  
7 53 Round Table
  54 Conference Documents
Box Folder  
8 55 Conference Documents
International Studies Conference, Tenth Paris, 1937
Box Folder  
8 56 List of members attending Conference
  57 Agendas
  58 Round Tables
  59 Conference Papers & Supplementary Documents
  60 Conference Papers & Supplementary Documents 
Box Folder  
9 61 Delegation Papers
  62 Delegation Papers 
  63 Meetings - Minutes
Box Folder  
9 64 3. Constitution

(1 folder)

4. American Institute of Pacific Relations
Box Folder  
9 65 Correspondence
  66 Publications/ Annual Reports 
Box Folder  
10 67 Working Papers
  68 Working Papers
5. Canadian Institute of International Affairs 1934-1950
Correspondence
Box Folder  
10 69 Incoming. Mr. Tarr
  70 Outgoing. Mr. Tarr
Box Folder  
10 71 Presidents & Members
Conference Proceedings 1935-1950
Box Folder  
10 72 Second Study Conference, Kingston, 1935

- Round Tables

  73 Third Study Conference, Ottawa, May 23-24, 1936

- Conference Papers

  74 Fourth Annual Conference, McMaster University, Hamilton, 1937

- Round Tables

  75 Fifth Annual Conference, Ottawa, 1938

- Round Tables

  76 Seventh Annual Conference, London, Ontario, 1940

- Round Table

  77 Twelfth Annual Study Conference, Kingston, 1945

- Conference Papers

  78 Sixteenth Annual Study Conference, 1949

- Agendas

  79
Montebello Conference

- Round Tables

  80 Edmonton Study Group

- Round Tables

  81 Halifax Study Group

- Round Tables

  82 St. Johns Study Group, 1938

- Round Tables

  83 Saskatoon Study Group

- Round Tables

  84 Winnipeg Study Group, 1934 - 1950

- Round Tables

Box Folder  
10 85 Financial Papers
  86 Legal Papers & Documents: Constitution
  87 Legal Papers & Documents:
  88 Publications: Special Reports
Box Folder  
11 89 Working Papers: Miscellaneous Papers (3 folders)
  92 Minutes: National Council Annual Meetings
  93 Executive Council: Minutes
Box Folder  
12 94 Research Committee: Minutes
  95 Research Committee: Working Papers
6. Pacific Council, 1944-1946
Box Folder  
12 96 Correspondence

- Outgoing

Conference Proceedings: 1944
Meeting of the Pacific Council, Atlantic City, 1944
 
Box Folder  
12 97 Agenda
  98

Reports

Meeting of the Pacific Council, Atlantic City, 1946

Box Folder  
12 99 List of Members
  100 Agenda
  101a Reports
Box Folder  
12 101 Financial papers
  102 Minutes
  103

Working Papers: Secretariat Reports

7. Royal Institute of International Affairs

Box Folder  
12 104 Publications
Box Folder  
13 105 Working Papers: Memoranda
  106

Publications: Special Documents & Reports

8. Institute of Pacific Relations

Working Papers

Box Folder  
13 107 Secretariat Reports
  108 Secretariat Reports
Box Folder  
14 109 Reports
Box Folder  
14 110 Newspapers Clippings & Scrapbooks
  111 Other Publications

Return to Top