The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of her audio tapes & CDs at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe Library Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2
(August 2009)
Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (August 2009)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Biography of Catherine Thexton
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION 1970-2008
BIRD CALL AUDIO TAPES & CDS 1975-1994
COMMERCIALLY PRODUCED CDS & AUDIO CASSETTES 1983-2002
CDS PRODUCED BY OTHER PEOPLE 2004
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe LibraryWinnipeg, Manitoba
Creator:
Catherine Thexton
Title:
Catherine Thexton fonds
Dates:
1975-2004
Quantity:
2 m. of audio & other material including .25 m. of textual records & 134 micro cassettes, 62 data tapes, 21 reel to reel audio tapes , 4 vinyl discs, 206 CDS, 7 audio cassettes.
Identification:
TC 135, A.08-09, A.09-60
English
Biography of Catherine Thexton
Catherine Thexton was born in Balmoral, Manitoba in 1921. She and her husband George farmed in the area for over 45 years.She graduated from the Provincial Normal School in 1939 and taught school for twenty years. In 1944 -1945 she studied conservation in Ontario. She received a Bachelor of Science degree from University of Manitoba in 1966. She obtained her Bachelor of Education in 1973 & an Master of Education in 1978. In 1977-1978 she taught the first full course in ecology in a secondary school at St. John's High School.
A lifelong devotee of nature has been recording bird calls and songs since the mid 1970s. She has produced eight commercial recordings. They include: In Praise of Spring in album format in1981, Meadowlark Music & Other Nature Sounds in album format in 1983, Let Nature Sing in album format in 1987, Songs & Sounds in audiocassette in 1989, Dusk to Dawn Nature Sounds in audiocassette in 1992, Just Birds in CD & cassette in 1995, Sounds from Fields & Woods in CD & cassette in 1997 & Bird Song with Ambient Sound in CD 2003.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds are divided into seven series. They include: Biographical information, lists of bird calls, bird calls audio tapes & CDs, commericially produced CDs, vinyl discs, & audio cassettes & CDs produced by other people
There are no restrictions on access
There are no restrictions on use
The fonds were donated by Catherine Thexton in 2008 & 2009.
Detailed Description of the Collection
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION [1970-2008]
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Biographical Information 1970-2008 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 2 | List of Bird Calls 1980-1994 |
| 3 | List of Bird Calls 1975-1994 |
BIRD CALL AUDIO TAPES & CDS1975-1994
| Box | Folder | |
| 1A | 1 | Includes 10 mid sized tapes & 15 CDs including three from the Feb. 26, 1979 eclipse of the sun. 1975-1981 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2B | 1 | Includes 10 small audio tapes, 8 mid sized tapes & 12 CDs 1975-1981 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Includes 8 small tapes, 8 mid size tapes & 17 CDS 1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Includes 6 small tapes, 6 mid size & 12 CDS 1983 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 1 | 6 small tapes, 7 mid size & 14 CDS 1984 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 1 | 11 small tapes, 9 mid size & 22 CDS 1985 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 1 | 8 small tapes, 8 mid size tapes & 14 CDS 1986-1987 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 1 | 18 small tapes, 7 mid sized tapes & 25 CDS 1988-1989 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 1 | 43 small tapes & 37 CDS 1990-1992 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 9 | 1 | 24 small tapes & 28 CDS 1993-1994 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 10 | 1 | 5 reel to reel tapes 1 of Robins et al. 1987, 2 of In Praise of Spring 1984 & 2 of Let Nature Sing 1987 1984-1987 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 11 | 1 | 3 reel to reel tapes of Prairie Sounds 1989 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 12 | 1 | 2 reel to reel tapes of Meadow Lark Music 1984 & 2 reel to reel tapes of Nature Sounds 19921984-1992 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 13 | 1 | Let Nature Sing 2 reel to reel tapes (1987) Meadowlark Music 2 reel to reel tapes (1983) 1 unidentified data tape 1983-187 |
COMMERCIALLY PRODUCED CDS & AUDIO CASSETTES 1983-2002
| Box | Folder | |
| 13 | 2 | Bird Song with Ambient Sound 5CDs (2002) Just Birds A Selection of Sounds 1 CD (1995) Sounds from Fields & Woods 1CD (1997) Let Nature Sing 1CD (1987) Meadowlark Music 1CD (1983) 1983-2002 |
| 3 | Songs & Sounds 1 audio cassette, Dawn to Dusk 1 audio cassette, Sounds from Fields & Woods 1 audio cassette, Just Birds 1 audio cassette, In Praise of Spring 1 audio cassettes, Let Nature Sing 1 audio cassette & Meadowlark Music 1 audio cassette 1983-1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 14 | 1 | 4 reel to reel tapes 1 CD In Praise of Spring (1981 & 1987) 1981-1987 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 15 | 1 | 2 albums In Praise of Spring, 1 Meadowlark Music & 1 Let Nature Sing 1981-1987 |
CDS PRODUCED BY OTHER PEOPLE 2004
| Box | Folder | |
| 15 | 2 | Birds of Minnesota by Stan Tekiela 2 CDs (2004) Birds of Wisconsin by Stan Tekiela 2CDs (2004) Bird Songs of the Arctic by John Neville 2004 |