Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Nick Ternette fonds: Home

Nick Ternette:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Richard E. Bennett
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1983)

Finding aid encoded by Lori Podolsky Nordland (September 2002)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 26 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
Nick Ternette
 
Title:
Nick Ternette fonds
 
Dates:
1969-1979
 
Quantity:
1.6 m of textual records
 
Identification:
MSS 26, PC 316 (A1979-23, A1992-16, A2009-90, A2012-137, A2013-108)
  
Language:
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Nick Ternette

Born in 1945 in Germany, Ternette immigrated to Canada with his parents at the age of ten. He attended Daniel McIntyre Collegiate and the University of Winnipeg where he received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Sociology. In 1969 he was an Instructor for the Department of Education on the up-grading of programs for native people. In 1970 he was a volunteer for the Company of Young Canadians and a coordinator of a Community Affairs Centre in Winnipeg in 1972. In 1976 Ternette was appointed Executive Director of the Winnipeg Council of Self Help Inc. He was active in several native people associations and the New Democratic Party.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The collection contains limited correspondence, political action papers, briefs, complaints, convention proceedings, promotional and conference literature, scrapbooks, newsclippings, and resource files concerning Winnipeg city core activities, and radical, left wing politics of the 1970's and 1980's.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 7 series

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on the material in this fonds. Researchers must abide by the relevant copyright legislation if they wish to use any material in any published form.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated by Mr. Nick Ternette on April 10, 1979 whereas Section F portion of collection acquired in March 1992.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

A. PERSONAL 1971-1975
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Resume/Vita
  2 Correspondence, 1971-1975
  3 Course Notes and Essays
  4 Finances 1972

Return to Top


B. POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONS/ELECTIONS 1969-1976
1. Provincial 1969-1976
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 5 Communist Party of Manitoba - Brochure
  6 New Democratic Youth (NDY) - Membership lists, copies of Weathervane, and resolution
  7 New Democratic Youth - Founding Conventions 1969
  8 J.S. Woodsworth NDY Local 1972
  9 New Democratic Conventions 1969
  10 New Democratic Conventions 1972
  11 Election 1969
  12 Election 1971
  13 Election 1976
2. Federal 1969-1971
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 14 Company of Young Canadians (1971) - Correspondence 1971
  15 Labour Action Committee (1970) - Issues of Labour Action 1970
  16 New Brunswick Socialists (1969) - Letters 1969
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 Poor People's Movement
3. International
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 2 SDS

Return to Top


C. COMMUNITY ACTION GROUPS 1963-1976
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 3 Ad Hoc Committee for the Defense of CBC Demonstrators 1969
  4 Ad Hoc Committee of Unemployed B.A.'s - Correspondence 1969
  5-7 Centennial Community Centre 1972-1975
  8 Civic Reform Coalition 1974
  9 Committee Representing Youth Problems of Today 1970
  10 The Craft Centre - Staff Interviews
  11 Festival of Life and Learning (1969) - Receipts 1969
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 The Indian/Metis Friendship Centre - Staff Interviews
  2 The Indian/Metis Friendship Centre - Meetings/Ledgers
  3 Legal Aid Services 1976
  4 Injured Workers Association (1974) - A. Brief 1974
  5 Native Brotherhood Organization 1969
  6 Opt-In Committee - Studies and Literature
  7 Peace in Vietnam Committee - Budget 1968-1972
  8 People's Cooperative Centre - Promotional Literature
  9 People's Opportunity Services - Open Letters
  10 Social Action Movement - Constitution, reports, lists
  11 Winnipeg Buyers Club - History, membership lists, clippings
  12 Winnipeg Community Communications (1971-72) - Finances, Meetings 1971-1972
  13 Winnipeg Community Communications (1974-76) - Minutes 1974-1976
  14 Winnipeg Council of Self-Help Groups (1971, 76) - Proposals for Evaluation 1971; 1976
 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 Winnipeg Pollution Probe and Citizen's Committee 1974
  2 Winnipeg Unemployment Committee 1970-1971
  3 YMCA (1963-65) - Letters 1963-1965
  4 YMCA - Petition

Return to Top


D. SPECIFIC ISSUES 1965-1976
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 5 Ashinabi, Neebin Project 1976
  6 Bill 37 Campaign 1971
  7 Brief-Citizens Inquiry on the War Measures Act
  8 Complaints Against Immigration laws 1966
  9 Complaints Against Liquor Commission 1975
  10 Complaints Against Municipal Affairs 1971
  11 Complaints Against Police Commission 1975
  12 Model United Nations (1965) - Resource Data 1965
  13 Mount Carmel Clinic - Press Releases

Return to Top


E. GENERAL RESEARCH/BACKGROUND MATERIALS 1970-1978
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 14 Community Organizing Institute
  15 New Radicals in Canada 1970-1972
  16 Planning the Corporate City 1978
  17 "The New Left", by Nick Ternette 1978
  18 "The Ternette Report" (VPW-Ch. 13) - Programs, correspondence
  19 Waffle News 1971

Return to Top


F. PORTION of COLLECTION ACQUIRED IN MARCH 1992 1986-1987
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1 Court File T-522-84 re: Privacy Act
  2 Human Rights Correspondence/Clipping
  3 Bill 47 (Human Rights) and related Correspondence
  4 The Green Magazine
  5 Green Party--Politics, Platforms & Background
  6 Green Party Politics Course, U of W 1987
  7 Society for Socialist Studies
  8 New Directions For the Forks: Committee on Planning...
  9 Welfare Rights Brief
  10 Proposals to Change the City of Winnipeg Act
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1 Writer's Grant Application & Letter of Rejection E. Smith
  2 Correspondence with University of Winnipeg
  3 Scrapbook: The Ternette Report VPW 11/Cable 10 Calgary
  4 Community and Race Relations Report: 1986
  5 The `Grundrisse' of Political Economy of 1844
  6 City of Winnipeg Violence and Vandalism Report - Outreach
  7 Social Profile of Sioux Look-out/Indian Metis Report
  8 Report on the Ad Hoc Committee on Housing
  9 Health Promotion Health Fair/Alberta Children's Hospital
  10 Baseball Manual & Football Manual
  11 For All Seasons - Elementary School writings
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7 1 Bingo Evaluation
  2 Social Profile of Christopher Lake
  3 Correspondence with Minister of Health, Green Party, Learned Society, Socialist Studies
  4 Forks Renewal: East Yard
  5 Manitoba: The Province that McLuhan left Behind
  6 Essays from University classes
  7 Essay: "Jiggedy Jig" (2020)
  8 Interview with a Social Worker T. Maloney
  9 Sociale Progile (sic) of Eagle River
  10 Ideology, Values & Social Policy: Readings in Nomative Analysis

Return to Top