Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River M├ętis. More

Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association fonds: Home

Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association:

Call Number: Mss 175, Pc 172, Tc 107 (A2003-53)

Title: Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association fonds.

Dates: 1970-2003.

Extent: 1.6 m of textual records. -- 58 audio-cassettes. -- 12 videocassettes.

Administrative history: The Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association is a non-profit, voluntary farm organization founded in 1970 as Palliser Triangle Wheat Growers Association. The first President of the Association was Wally Nelson. The Association helps individual wheat farmers to represent their interest to government and other sectors of agriculture. The Association head office is in Regina, Saskatchewan. n 1985, the Association changed its name to the Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association. The President of the Association at that time was George Fletcher. The Board of Directors is elected at the annual convention. W.C.W.G.A. is active and strives for the establishment of a flexible system for individual farmers to maximize their profitability. The Association is entirely supported by member contributions.

Custodial history: The fonds was donated to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by by Dr. Paul Earl, a former policy manager of W.C.W.G.A.'s Winnipeg office, in 2003.

Scope and content: The fonds consists of the W.C.W.G.A.'s Regina, Winnipeg, and Calgary office records, including minutes of the meetings, financial records, convention records, newspaper clippings, publications, and video and audio tapes.

Source of supplied title: Title based on contents of fonds.

Restrictions: Two folders have been designated confidential.

Accruals: No further accruals are expected.

Finding aid: An on-line finding aid is available at the link below:

MSS 175, PC 172, TC 107 (A2003-53).