Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Elizabeth Thornton (Mary George) fonds: MSS 243 (A.06-84, A.10-62)

Elizabeth Thornton (Mary George):

Elizabeth Thornton (Mary George):

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Andrea Martin
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2010)

Finding aid encoded by Andrea Martin (2010)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Elizabeth Thornton (Mary George)

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Access

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

A.06-84, 2003-2006

A.10-62, 1987-2010

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Creator:
Elizabeth Thornton (Mary George)

Title:
Elizabeth Thornton (Mary George) fonds

Dates:
1987-2010

Quantity:
0.69 m of textual records

Identification:
Mss 243 (A.06-84, A.10-62)

English

Return to Top

Biography of Elizabeth Thornton (Mary George)

Mary George (pen name Elizabeth Thornton) was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, and taught school there for several years. In 1969, she emigrated to Canada with her family. She taught elementary school in Winnipeg until 1977, when she resigned to take a position as a lay minister with the Presbyterian church. In 1980, she enrolled in evening classes at the University of Winnipeg and received a B.A. in Classics in 1985. Her first romance novel was published in 1987 and, in 1989, she became a full-time writer. She published 27 romances and 2 novellas and received a number of romance writing awards.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds consists of correspondence related to the Elizabeth Thornton novels The Marriage Trap and The Bachelor Trap , manuscripts for The Bachelor Trap and The Marriage Trap , and galley corrections for both books. A paperback advance reading copy of The Bachelor Trap (2006) is also included. The 2010 accession consists of notebooks of research corresponding to most published Elizabeth Thornton novels and novellas.

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into two accessions (A.06-84, A.10-62)

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this material

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Mary George in 2006. A second accession was donated in 2010 by her husband Forbes George.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

A.06-84, [2003-2006]

Box Folder  
1 1 Manuscript (with revisions): The Marriage Trap, 2003-2004
  2 Rewrites - line editing: Bachelor Trap, 2005
  3 Manuscript: The Bachelor Trap
  4 Advance Reading Copy of The Bachelor Trap, 2006
Box Folder  
2 1 Galley Copy of The Bachelor Trap, 2006
  2 Galley Copy of The Marriage Trap, 2005

Return to Top


A.10-62, 1987-2010
 

Box Folder  
1 1 Proposal for Cherished
  2 Notebook: Bluestocking Bride; The Worldly Widow, (1987, 2003), (1990, 2005)
  3 Notebook: A Virtuous Lady, 1988, 2004
  4 Notebook: Fallen Angel, 1989, 2004
  5 Notebook: Scarlet Angel; Sheer Sorcery, (1990, 2005), 1990
  6 Notebook: Tender the Storm, 1991, 2002
  7 Notebook: Velvet is the Night, 1992, 2003
  8 Notebook: Highland Fire, 1994, 2003
Box Folder  
2 1 Notebook: Dangerous to Love, 1994
  2 Notebook: Dangerous to Kiss, 1995
  3 Notebook: Dangerous to Hold, 1996
  4 Notebook: The Bride's Bodyguard, 1997
  5 Notebook: You Only Love Twice, 1998
  6 Notebook: Whisper His Name, 1999
  7 Notebook: Strangers at Dawn, 1999
Box Folder  
3 1 Notebook: Princess Charming, 2001
  2 Notebook: The Perfect Princess, 2001
  3 Notebook: Almost a Princess, 2003
  4 Notebook: Shady Lady, 2004
  5 Notebook: The Marriage Trap, 2005
  6 Notebook: The Bachelor Trap, 2006
  7 Notebook: The Pleasure Trap, 2007
Box Folder  
4 1 Notebook: The Runaway McBride; The Scot and I, 2009
  2 Notebook: A Bewitching Bride, 2010

Return to Top