Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

David Turnbull fonds: MSS 186, PC 178 (A.04-15, A.04-116)

David Turnbull:

David Turnbull:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by by Jonathan Nordland and Brian Hubner
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(August 2004)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (January 2005)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 186, PC 178 (A.04-15, A.04-116) converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of David Turnbull

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Correspondence

Biographical

PC 178

Oversized Material - Scrapbook

Subject Files - (A.04-116)

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Creator:
David Turnbull 

Title:
David Turnbull fonds

Dates:
1904-1995, predominant 1928-1931

Quantity:
40cm textual records, 2 photo albums (776 black and white photographs), 1 negative, 1 scrapbook
MSS 186, PC 178 (A.04-15, A.04-116)

Language
English

Return to Top

Biography of David Turnbull

David McIntosh Turnbull was born in Winnipeg, Canada in 1906. He was the son of Janet (McIntosh) and William Turnbull, a graduate of the school of Medicine at the University of Manitoba in 1904.

David attended the University of Manitoba from 1924 to 1928 where he obtained a Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics. In his final year he was the senior stick for the Faculty of Arts and was awarded the Manitoba Rhodes Scholarship to attend Oxford. At Oxford he obtained a Bachelor and Masters of Arts in Philosophy, Politics and Economics, graduating in 1931. During his time at Oxford University he was accepted as a member of the University Ice Hockey Team in 1928 and played for the team at the Spengler Cup in 1928 and 1929.

Turnbull returned to Winnipeg, but soon relocated to Toronto, in 1932, where prospects were believed to be better. That year he joined Manufacturers Life, but two years later he was hired by the firm Woods, Gordon and Co. as a time-study man. Employed within the firm’s work measurement services department, Turnbull was primarily concerned with time and motion, marketing, supervisory training and organizational studies. In 1952, he opened the firm’s Montreal office where he was to remain in charge for the next twelve years. Upon his mandatory retirement as a partner in 1964, he moved to the Toronto office to assist the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Medicine in its expansion project. He fully retired in 1972 to pursue his own interests until his death on December 26th, 1995.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds consists of four series and a photographic collection. The series includes correspondence, biographical and a scrapbook and subject files. The majority of the fonds consists of letters written by David Turnbull to his mother, which have been collected in the form of a journal. In addition, two photo albums consisting of 772 black and white photographs take up a large part of the collection. This fonds deals primarily with David Turnbull’s experience as a Rhodes Scholar from 1928 to 1931. The second accrual (A. 04-116) contains biographical information, correspondence, photographs, and two Spengler Cup medals from 1929 and 1930.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into five series

  • Correspondence
  • Biographical
  • PC 178 (A.04-15)
  • Scrapbook
  • Subject Files (A.04-116)

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions

Return to Top

Custodial History

Ian Turnbull donated the two accessions, A.04-15 & A.04-116, were donated to the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections in 2004.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

      Correspondence

Box Folder  
1 1 Journal – David Turnbull, [September 20, 1928 to November 9, 1928]
  2 Journal – David Turnbull, [November 21, 1928 to February 11, 1929]
  3 Journal – David Turnbull, [February 18, 1929 to May 12, 1929]
  4 Journal – David Turnbull, [May 13,1929 to August 7, 1929]
  5 Journal – David Turnbull, [August 11, 1929 to December 13,1929]
  6 Journal – David Turnbull, [December 17, 1929 to March 30, 1930]
  7 Journal – David Turnbull, [March 31, 1930 to June 29, 1930]
  8 Journal – David Turnbull, [June 30, 1930 to October 12, 1930]
  9 Journal – David Turnbull, [October 13, 1930 to February 14, 1931]
  10 Journal – David Turnbull, [February 16, 1931 to July 20, 1931]
  11 Journal – David Turnbull, [August 1979]

Return to Top

     Biographical

Box Folder  
1 12 Biographical – David Turnbull
  13 Oxford University Documentation, [1931-1941]
  14 Correspondence – items sent to Winnipeg from Oxford, [1929-1931]

Return to Top

PC 178

Box Folder  
1 1 1 photograph: b 20x25cm – Group photo, [1979]1 Negative: 12x17cm – Childhood portrait
  2 2 photo albums – 772 black and white photos, 1928-1931
Box Folder  
2 1 Oversized Material - PC 178
    1 Photograph: b&w 28x36 cm – St. John’s Archery Club, Oxford, 1931
    Undergraduate Parchment – David Turnbull, 1928
   

Curling Certificate – 1968

    Oxford, King Charles Club, 1930-31
    Oxford ice-hockey team, 1929

Return to Top

     Oversized Material - Scrapbook

Box Folder  
2 2 Scrapbook – Items removed from pages, [1920s?]

Return to Top


      Subject Files - (A.04-116)

Box Folder  
1 1 Biographical Information [1906-1995]
  2 D. Turnbull's Canadian Passport [1928]
  3 D. Turnbull's Incoming and Outgoing Correspondence [1928-1929]
  4 Cambridge and Oxford University Ice Hockey Team Photographs [ca. 1929] 
  5 2 Spengler Cup Medals [1929-1930]

Return to Top