Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

D. Harold Turner fonds: MSS 110 (A.87-30)

D. Harold Turner:

D. Harold Turner:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Richard E. Bennett
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1995)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (December 2002)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 110 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of D. Harold Turner

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Literary Manuscripts

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Archives, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2

Creator:
D. Harold Turner

Title:
D. Harold Turner fonds

Dates:
1977-1985

Quantity:
0.6 m of textual records

Identification:
MSS 110

Language
English

Return to Top

Biography of D. Harold Turner

Born and educated in Winnipeg, D. Harold Turner taught speech, drama and children's literature in the Faculty of Education at the University of Manitoba. He was active in the Manitoba Festival of Arts as a committee chairman and adjudicator and in the Manitoba Historical Society and Drama League. For his contribution to drama in the Manitoba community he received the Centennial Medal, but it was for his contribution to children's literature that D. Harold Turner will be remembered. His first publication, To Hang A Rebel , was a Children's Book Centre choice in 1978. He later published Quips and Cranks of George Ashton (1978) and Atomic Archers: Target Terror (1983).

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The collection is partial at best consisting of only a few of his letter known literary manuscripts, both novel and short story, and little if any of this personal papers.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 1 series.

Literary Manuscripts

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this collection.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

Users must abide by relevant copyright laws.

Return to Top

Custodial History

This collection was turned over to the University of Manitoba in 1987 by Mr. Jim Worth of Dalnavert House for which Dr. Turner wrote short stories and histories for young readers.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

      Literary Manuscripts

Box Folder  
1 1 You Are As Old As They Think
  2 Red Alfgar's Sons (Novel)
  3 Quips and Cranks of George Ashton
  4 The Case of the Unwanted Diamond
  5 The Peacemakers
  6 The Great Computer Syndrome
  7 Christmas Comes to Bernardo Carrie
  8 Wild Rice
  9 His Twelfth Birthday (Play)
  10 Out O'Port O'Narvik
Box Folder  
2 1 Scattered Notes/Letters
  2 Novel - Atomic Archers Target: Yeti-Nappers - Galleys
  3 Novel - Atomic Archers Target: Yeti-Nappers - Draft
  4 Novel - Atomic Archers Target: Yeti-Nappers - Draft
  5 Novel - Atomic Archers Target: Yeti-Nappers - Draft
Box Folder  
3 1 17 Play Summaries (for young readers)
  2 The Hoyden (for Grade Two readers)
  3 The Roller Skates (for Grade Two readers)
  4 A Wonderful Day (for Grade Six readers)
  5 A Pilot Study of the Historical Resources of Manitoba (Especially Railways)
  6 Novel - Let's Throw Dust in Their Eyes - 1st Draft
  7 Novel - Let's Throw Dust in Their Eyes - 2nd Draft
Box Folder  
4 1 Novel - Let's Throw Dust in Their Eyes - Later Draft
  2 Novel - Let's Throw Dust in Their Eyes - Later Draft
  3 Novel - Let's Throw Dust in Their Eyes - Miscellany

Return to Top