The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1993)
Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (August 2002)
Finding aid written in English.
Revision History
Table of Contents
Collection Summary
Biography of John Zubek
Scope and Contents of the Papers
Organization of the Papers
Restrictions on Access
Restrictions on Use
Custodial History
Detailed Description of the Collection
PUBLISHED JOURNAL ARTICLES & CORRESPONDENCE*
PAPERS PRESENTED AT CONFERENCES 1965-1973
NOTES TO ZUBEK'S SPEECHES & INTERVIEW [19-?]-1973
CORRESPONDENCE REGARDING BOOKS 1964-1972
ARTICLES & REVIEWS OF ZUBEK'S WORK 1959-1974
ZUBEK'S RESEARCH CORRESPONDENCE 1959-1964
RESEARCH CORRESPONDENCE 1965-1974
ZUBEK'S RESEARCH NOTES 1948-1950
ZUBEK'S EXAMS 1952-1962
CORRESPONDENCE WITH RESEARCH FUNDING BODIES 1953-1973
DEFENCE RESEARCH BOARD GRANTS 1964-1973
ASSESSMENTS OF DEFENCE RESEARCH BOARD GRANTS 1963-1972
UNITED STATES PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES GRANT 1964-1967
CORRESPONDENCE WITH UNITED STATES PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES 1963-1967
CORRESPONDENCE REGARDING NOMINATIONS & LETTERS OF REFERENCE 1955-1974
ZUBEK'S REFEREED COMMENTS ON ARNHOFF RESEARCH
CANADIAN PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION 1973 -1974
FACULTY OF PSYCHOLOGY CORRESPONDENCE 1961-1974
CLIFFORD J. ROBSON AWARD 1970-1974
JOHN J. ZUBEK MEMORIAL AWARD 1972-1974
PSYCHOLOGY DEPARTMENT EQUIPMENT PURCHASES 1958-1970
ZUBEK'S BOOK: HUMAN DEVELOPMENT
PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION (PC 88)
Collection Summary
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2
Creator:
John Zubek
Title:
John Zubek fonds
Dates:
1952-1974
Quantity:
5 m of textual records. -- 34 photographs.
MSS 85, PC 88
Language
English.
Return to Top
Biography of John Zubek
John P. Zubek was born in Trnovec, Czechoslovakia on 10 March 1925. He immigrated to Canada at the age of five with his parents. After his early education in Grand Forks, British Columbia. Zubek completed his B.A.in Psychology in 1946 graduating with first class honours from the University of British Columbia. In 1948 he received a Masters in Social Psychology from the University of Toronto. From 1948-1950 Zubek was an instructor in Psychology at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore from where he received his Ph.D. in 1950 graduating Phi Betta Kappa.
Zubek then joined the Psychology Department at McGill University in the fall of 1950. During his three years at McGill as assistant professor, Zubek published eight articles on such widely divergent topics as the cerebral cortex and locomotor activity in rats to a genetic of Doukhobors' attitudes.
In 1953 Zubek joined the faculty of the University of Manitoba as a full professor and chairman of the Department of Psychology. a post he held for the next eight years. In 1954 he and P.A. Solberg coauthored the book Human Development (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1954) an advanced textbook treating the development and decline, throughout the lifespan, of the nervous system, glands, physical structure, senses, learning and thinking processes, emotions, beliefs, attitudes and personality. The following year he authored the Laboratory Manual in Introductory Psychology, a textbook consisting of 25 student-oriented experiments. He also published fifteen articles. In 1959 he added Directorship of the Sensory Deprivation Laboratory to his workload.
Dr. Zubek did not limit his activities to the University of Manitoba. He served two terms as a member of the Associate Committee on Experimental Psychology for the National Research Council of Canada from 1955 to 1961. He also served two terms, from 1958 to 1964 as a member of the Human Resources Scientific Advisory Committee for the Defence Research Board of Canada. Zubek was a member of Directors of the Canadian Psychological Association from 1956 to 1958.
In 1961 Dr. Zubek turned his attention solely to research. His new position as Research Professor reduced his teaching load to only one class. In the next thirteen years he wrote or edited four more books. One of them, Sensory Deprivation: Fifteen Years of Research (New York: Appleton-Century-Crofts, 1969), consists of chapters written by eight of the leading investigators in the field. The book gives some 1,300 references to articles in journals and government technical reports, many of which were published in foreign languages. Zubek also published another 50 articles during this period, many of which were published, in foreign journals.
Zubek and his associates received prestigious research grants to further their work. The National Research Council provided six years of funding (1968-1974) at $13,200 per annum for research on the effects of prolonged sensory deprivation. The same funding body provided a development grant of $110,000 in 1968 to establish a centre for research in sensory deprivation at the University of Manitoba. Furthermore, from 1959 to 1974 the Defence Research Board provided operating grants of $15,000-21,000 for additional sensory deprivation research. Between 1964-1967 Zubek received a $100,000 from the United States Public Health Service.
Dr. Zubek was made a Fellow of the Canadian Psychological Association in 1967. He was the recipient of the Clifford J. Robson Distinguished Psychologist in Manitoba Award bestowed by the Manitoba Psychological Society in 1973. The same year, Manitoba's research in sensory deprivation was listed among the 30 major achievements in Canadian science and technology.
Dr. Zubek died suddenly on 22 August 22 1974 at the age of 49. His academic legacy includes six books and over eighty articles. He helped to establish two awards for academic excellence. The John J. Zubek Award, named for his father, has been presented to younger staff members at the University of Manitoba for excellence in research and scholarship. The purpose of the award is to accord public recognition and provide encouragement to younger professors who show promise of gaining prominence in their fields. Zubek was also responsible for establishing the Clifford J. Robson Award in the memory of his friend Dr. Robson from the Department of Psychology at the University of Winnipeg. The award is for teaching excellence at the University of Winnipeg.
Return to Top
Scope and Contents of the Papers
The Zubek Collection arrived at the Department of Archives and Special Collections in sixteen boxes. Roughly half of the material consisted of raw data results from various psychological tests Profesor Zubek administered to candidates in the sensory deprivation program. While significant to Dr. Zubek and his colleagues during their tests, this material held little archival significance. Of far more permanent value are his notes, rough copies and correspondence with many editors of learned journals in which he published. There is considerable correspondence between Zubek and the many funding bodies that he approached for capital. The collection is also rich in correspondence and related materials from other scholars, associations, and organizations like NATO that funded his research. Press clippings, both laudatory and highly critical of Zubek's research, have been maintained as have his books and correspondence commenting on papers that he presented at international conferences. While in short supply, there are photographs documenting sensory deprivation experiments.
Return to Top
Organization of the Papers
This collection is organized into 22 series.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Access
Some personal material is restricted. See finding aid.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Use
Researchers must confer with the Head Archivist before publishing anything other than fair use excerpts and must abide by the laws of copyright as amended by Parliament from time to time.
Return to Top
Custodial History
The sixteen boxes of material that contain the remnants of Dr. Zubek's academic career were discovered beneath the sensory deprivation chamber in the Psychology Department. Dr. Al Pressey of the Psychology Department was responsible for pointing out the value of the collection to the Department of Archives and Special Collections. Dr. Richard Bennett, University Archivist, along with Professor Pressey and Professor Barry Ferguson, transported the material to the University Archives. Funding for the processing of the collection was made available by the Faculty of Arts, the Department of Psychology, the University of Manitoba Libraries, and Dr. Pressey.
Return to Top
Detailed Description of the Collection
PUBLISHED JOURNAL ARTICLES & CORRESPONDENCE*
* Co-authors are not mentioned
Curriculum Vitae
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 |
"The Doukhobors: A Genetic Study on Attitudes" (rough copy). Journal of Social Psychology, 1952. - 2 pages of handwritten notes |
| 2 |
"Studies in Somesthesis 2. Role of Somatic Sensory 2 1 & 2 in Roughness Discrimination in the Cat". Journal of Neurophysiology 1952. - diagrams & rough notes |
|
| 3 |
"Studies in Somesthesis 3. Role of Somatic Areas 1 & 2 in the Acquisition of Roughness Discrimination in the Rat". Journal of Neurophysiology 1952. - diagrams & rough notes |
|
| 4 | "Role of the Cerebral Cortex in Temperature Discrimination in the Rat". Journal of Comparitive & Physiological Psychology 1954. |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 4 | Incoming correspondence
- Harlow, Harry 8 December 1953 - diagrams & rough notes |
| 5 | "Effects of Glutamic Acid on the Learning Ability of Bright & Dull Rats. 1 Administration during infancy".. Canadian Journal of Psychology 1956 | |
| 5 | "Effects of Glutamic Acid on the Learning Ability of Bright and Dull Rats". 2. Duration of the effect. C.J.P. 1957 | |
| 5 | "Effect of Glutamic Acid on the Learning Ability of Bright & Dull Rats. 1 Effect of varying dosages. C.J.P. 1958 Incoming correspondence - Rosensweig, Mark 24 September 1957 - Ross, Sherman 7 August 1958 - Ross, Sherman 29 September 1958 Outgoing correspondence- Ross, Sherman 14 August 1958 - Rough notes & unpublished article |
|
| 6 | "The Effects of Age on Critical Thinking Ability". Journal of Gerontology 1958. Incoming correspondence - Neugarten, B. 9 June 1958 - Neugarten, B. 28 July 1958 - Neugarten, B. 2 September 1958 |
|
| 7 | "The Effect of Age on the Intellectual Performance of Mental Defectives". Journal of Gerontology 1960. Incoming correspondence - Neugarten, B. 9 September 1959 - Rough notes & graphs |
|
| 8 | "The Effects of Age on Factorially "Pure" Mental Abilities." Journal of Gerontology 1960. Incoming correspondence - Neugarten, B. 23 September 1959 |
|
| 9 | "A Technique of Intermittent Stimulation for Measurement of Tactual Sensitivity: Apparatus and Preliminary Results." C.J.P. 1960. | |
| 9 | "Discriminatory Ability of Various Skin Areas as Measured by a Technique of Intermittent Stimulation". C.J.P. 1960. Incoming correspondence - Blackburn, Julian 6 November 1959 Outgoing correspondnece- Blackburn, J. 21 August 1959 - Blackburn, J. 9 November 1959 - Rough notes & unpublished article |
|
| 10 | "Perceptual Changes after Prolonged Sensory Isolation (Darkness & Silence)". C.J.P. 1961. Incoming correspondence - Blackburn, J. 13 February 1961 - Blackburn, J. 22 March 1961 Outgoing correspondence- Blackburn, J. 15 March 1961 - Blackburn, J. 25 March 1961 - Rough drafts |
|
| 11 | "The Effect of Age on Pain Sensitivity". Perceptual & Motor Skills 1962. Incoming correspondence - Ammons, Carol 1 February 1962 Outgoing correspondence- Ammons, Carol 5 February 1962 - Rough drafts |
|
| 12 | "Personality Characteristics of Successful and Unsuccessful Sensory Isolation Subjects". Perceptual & Motor Skills 1962. Incoming correspondnece - Ammons, C. 24 November 1961 - Ammons, C. 18 January 1962 - Ammons, C. 30 January 1962 Outgoing correspondence- Ammons, C. 24 January 1962 |
|
| 13 | "Effects of Prolonged Isolation of the Skin on Cutaneous Sensitivity". Perceptual & Motor Skills 1963. Incoming correspondnece - Abelson, Philip 11 December 1962 - Estes, W.K. 24 December 1963 - Estes, W.K. 15 January 1963 - Ammons, C. 18 February 1963 |
|
| 14 | "Prolonged Immobilization of the Body: Changes in Performance and the Electroencephalogram." Science 1963. Incoming correspondence - Abelson, Philip 15 February 1963 Outgoing correspondence- Abelson, Philip 19 February 1963 - Rough notes |
|
| 15 | "Pain Sensitivity as a Measure of Perceptual 15 Deprivation Tolerance". Perceptual & Motor Skills 1963. Incoming correspondence - Ammons, C. 11 October 1963 - Rough notes |
|
| 16 | "Counteracting Effectings of Physical Exercises Performed During Prolonged Perceptual Deprivation". Science 1963. Incoming correspondence - Abelson, P. 2 August 1963 Outgoing correspondence- Abelson, P. 19 August 1963 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | "Effects of Severe Isolation on Human Behaviour", Image 1963. Incoming correspondence - Decker, H.P. 26 October 1962 - Decker, H.P. 5 November 1962 - Decker, H.P. 18 November 1962 Outgoing correspondence- Decker, H.P. 7 December 1962 |
| 2 | "Some Perceptual Deprivation Phenomena under Normal 2 Envirornmental Conditions". Unpublished 1963. Incoming correspondence - Dushane, Graham 25 May 1962 |
|
| 3 | "EEG. Changes During and After 14 Days of Perceptual 3 Deprivation." Science 1963. Incoming correspondence - Abelson, P. 29 November 1962 - Rough drafts. |
|
| 4 | "Effects of Immobilization of the Body on Various 4 Psychological Processes." Selecta 1963. Incoming correspondence - Idris, Ildar 30 November 1962 - Idris, Ildar 12 December 1962 - Salke, A.D. 11 January 1963 - Salke, A.D. 18 January 1963 Outgoing correspondence- Idris, Ildar 17 December 1962 - Copy of article |
|
| 5 | "Long Term After-Effects Following Isolation of a 5 Circumscribed Area of the Skin." Perceptual & Motor Skills 1963. Incoming correspondence - Ammons, Carol 1 November 1963 - Rough draft |
|
| 6 | "Intellectual and Perceptual Changes During Prolonged Perceptual Deprivation: Low Illumination and Noise Level." Canadian Journal of Psychology 1963. Incoming correspondence - Ammons, Carol 24 May 1963 - Rough draft |
|
| 7 | "EEG Changes after Prolonged Sensory and Perceptual 7 Deprivation." Science 1963. Incoming correspondence - Abelson, P. 10 January 1963 - Abelson, P. 29 January 1963 Outgoing correspondence- Abelson, P. 21 January 1963 - Rough draft |
|
| 8 | "Effects of Prolonged Sensory and Perceptual Deprivation." British Medical Bulletin 1964.
- Rough draft |
|
| 9 | "Cutaneous Sensitivity after Prolonged Visual 9 Deprivation." Science 1964. Incoming correspondence - Ringle, John 24 April 1964 - Rough draft |
|
| 10 | "Interlimb Transfer of Changes in Tactual Acuity 10 Following Occlusion of a Circumscribed Area." Perceptual and Motor Skills 1964. Incoming correspondence - Estes, W. K. 15 November 1963 - Estes, W. K. 9 January 1964 - Estes, W. K. 24 January 1964 - Ammons, Carol 13 March 1964 Outgoing correspondence- Estes, W. K. 11 November 1963 - Rough draft |
|
| 11 | "Changes in Cutaneous Sensitivity after Prolonged Exposure to Unpatterned Light." Psychonomic Science 1964.
- Research notes |
|
| 12 | "Cutaneous Sensitivity of Unilateral Arm Amputees." Canadian Journal of Psychology 1964. Incoming correspondence - Melzack, Ronald 6 November 1963 - Blackburn, Julian 28 November 1963 - Blackburn, Julian 8 January 1964 Outgoing correspondence- Blackburn, Julian 1 April 1964 - Research notes |
|
| 13 | "Behavioral Changes after Prolonged Perceptual 13 Deprivation. (No Intrusions)." Perceptual & Motor Skills 1964. Incoming correspondence - Ammons, Carol 28 January 1964 Outgoing correspondence- Ammons, Carol 3 February 1964 - Rough draft |
|
| 14 | "Auditory Sensitivity after Prolonged Visual 14 Deprivation." Psychonomic Science 1965. Incoming correspondence - Pringle, John 30 July 1965 Outgoing correspondence- Morgan, C.T. 23 Aug 1965 |
|
| 15 | "Effects of Immobization Behavorial and EEG Changes." Canadian Journal of Psychology 1966. Incoming correspondence - Newbigging, P.L. 8 December 1965 - Newbigging, P.L. 25 January 1966 Outgoing correspondence- Newbigging, P.L. 1 December 1965 - Newbigging, P.L. 4 February 1966 - Research notes |
|
| 16 | "Use of the Multiple Discrimination Function in the Prediction of Perceptual Deprivation Tolerance." Canadian Journal of Psychology 1966. Incoming correspondence - Newbigging, P.L. 1 September 1965 - Newbigging, P.L. 8 September 1965 - Newbigging, P.L. 21 September 1965 Outgoing correspondence- Newbigging, P.L. 13 September 1965 - Rough notes |
|
| 17 | "Urinary Excretion of Adrenaline and Nonadrenaline during Prolonged Perceptual Deprivation." Journal of Abnormal Psychology 1966. Incoming Correspondence - Hunt, H. 15 April 1966 - Hunt, H. 16 May 1966 Outgoing correspondence- Hunt, H. 8 March 1966 - Hunt, H. 21 April 1966 - Hunt, H. 11 July 1966 - Rough notes |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | "Effects of Immobilization of the Body on Human 3 1 Behavior." Image 1966.
- Rough draft |
| 1 | "Effects of Immobilization of the Body on Human 3 1 Behavior." Image 1966.
- Rough draft |
|
| 2 | "Effects of Prolonged Visual Deprivation (Dark-Rearing) 2 on the Weight of the Sensory Cortex of the Rat." Canadian Journal of Psychology 1967. Incoming correspondence - Newbigging, P.L. 9 September 1966 - Newbigging, P.L. 28 November 1966 - Newbigging, P.L. 24 January 1967 Outgoing correspondence- Newbigging, P.L. 14 December 1966 - Research notes & diagrams |
|
| 3 | "Perceptual Deprivation Phenomena: Role of the 3 Recumbent Position." Journal of Abnormal Psychology 1967.
- Galley proof & rough notes |
|
| 4 | "Changes in Olfactory and Gustatory Sensitivity after Prolonged Visual Deprivation." Canadian Journal of Psychology 1967. Incoming correspondence - Newbigging, P.L. 25 April 1967 - Newbigging, P.L. 5 May 1967 - Newbigging, P.L. 26 May 1967 Outgoing correspondence- Newbigging, P.L. 11 May 1967 - Rough notes & graphs |
|
| 5 | "Relationship between Perceptual Deprivation Tolerance 5 and Adequacy of Defences as Measured by the Rorschach." Journal of Abnormal Psychology 1968. Incoming correspondence - Hunt, H. 5 August 1968 - Hunt, H. 27 January 1969 Outgoing correspondence- Hunt, H. 1 August 1968 - Hunt, H. 23 August 1968 - Hunt, H. 6 January 1969 - Galley proof |
|
| 6 | "Urinary Excretion of Adrenaline & Nonadrenaline 6 during Prolonged Immobilization." Journal of Abnormal Psychology 1968. Incoming correspondence - Hunt, Howard 20 December 1966 - Hunt, Howard 17 January 1967 Outgoing correspondence- Hunt, H. 5 January 1967 - Rough draft |
|
| 7 | "The Effect of Short-term Sensory Restriction on the 7 Tachistoscopic Recognition Threshold," Psychonomic Science 1968.
- Rough copy |
|
| 8 | "Effects of Sensory and Perceptual Deprivation on a Battery of Open-ended Cognitive Tasks." Canadian Journal of Psychology 1968. Incoming correspondence - Guilford, J.P. 25 November 1964 - Snider, Frances 18 December 1964 - Taylor, Calvin n.d. - Snider, Frances 5 February 1965 - McNeil, Thomas 3 June 1965 - Osgood, Stanley 15 July 1965 - Newbigging, P.L. 2 January 1968 Outgoing correspondence- Mednick, Martha 16 November 1964 - Harway, L.T. 12 January 1965 - Snider, Frances 1 April 1965 - Snider, F. 18 May 1965 - Osgood, S.W. 7 February 1966 - Newbigging, P.L. 9 January 1968 - Rough notes |
|
| 9 | "The Effect of Prolonged Visual Deprivation on Various Cutaneous and Auditory Measures." Psychonomic Science 1969. Incoming correspondence - Alexander, W.D. 26 November 1965 - Phelps, James 1967 - Phelps, J. n.d. - Rough notes |
|
| 10 | "Relative Effects of Prolonged Social Isolation and Conefinment Behavioral and EEG. Changes." Journal of Abnormal Psychology 1969. Incoming correspondence - Hunt, Howard 9 October 1968 - Galley proof |
|
| 11 | "Behavioral and Physiological Changes during Prolonged 11 Immobilization Plus Perceptual Deprivation." Journal of Abnormal Psychology 1969. Incoming correspondence - Hunt, Howard 20 November 1967 - Hunt, H. 15 December 1967 Outgoing correspondence- Hunt, Howard 18 October 1967 - Hunt, H. 4 December 1967 - Hunt, H. 27 February 1969 - Galley proof, rough draft |
|
| 12 | "The Effect of Short-Term Sensory Restriction on the Tachistoscopic Recognition Threshold: A Follow-up Study." Perceptual & Motor Skills 1969. Outgoing correspondence - Ammons, Carol 21 April 1969 - Rough notes |
|
| 13 | "The Effect of One Day of Sensory Deprivation on a 13 Battery of Open-ended Cognitive Tests." Perceptual & Motor Skills 1970. Incoming correspondence - Ammons, Carol 21 August 1970 - Ammons, C.H. 5 October 1970 Outgoing correspondence- Ammons, C.H. 13 August 1970 - Rough notes |
|
| 14 | "EEG. Changes after 1, 4, & 7 Days of Sensory Deprivation: A Cross-Sectional Approach." Psychonomic Science 1970. Incoming correspondence - Saunder, Michael 17 July 1968 - Taub, Edward 17 July 1968 - Jackson, Wesley 25 September 1968 - Ax, Albert 6 May 1969 - Ax, Albert 20 August 1969 Outgoing correspondence- Jackson, W. 1 October 1968 - Kamiya, Joseph 4 October 1968 - Ax, A. 25 April 1969 - Williams, Harold 19 August 1969 - Morgan, C.T. 12 December 1969 |
|
| 15 | "A Comparison of the Effects of Prolonged Sensory and Perceptual Deprivation." Canadian Journal of Behavioral Science 1971. Incoming correspondence - Hunt, H. 5 January 1970 - Hunt, H. 27 January 1970 - Sullivan, Arthur 9 April 1970 - Skanes, G.R. 5 October 1970 - Skanes, G.R. 11 January 1971 - Inglis, James 12 February 1971 Outgoing correspondence- Hunt, H. 2 December 1969 - Sullivan, M. 3 April 1970 - Sullivan, M. 21 July 1970 - Hunt, H. 2 December 1969 - Sullivan, M. 3 April 1970 - Sullivan, M. 21 July 1970 - Rough draft |
|
| 16 | "Perceptual Deprivation Phenomena: Role of a "Live-In" Experimental Condition and Size of the Confinement Quarters." (Unpublished) Incoming correspondence - Vayda, Andrew 12 May 1971 Outgoing correspondence- Vayda, A. 12 March 1971 - Vayda, A. 31 May 1971 - Vayda, A. 16 August 1971 |
|
| 17 | "Temporal Changes in Cutaneous Sensitivity During Prolonged Visual Deprivation." Canadian Journal of Psychology 1971. Incoming correspondence - Mogenson, Gordon 9 March 1971 - Mogenson, G. 25 March 1971 Outgoing correspondence- Mogenson, G. 13 January 1971 - Mogenson, G. 22 March 1971 |
|
| 18 | "The CCF in Unilateral Arm Amputees." Perceptual & Motor Skills [1971] Incoming correspondence - Ammons, Carol 31 March 1971 - Ammons, C. 9 April 1971 - Ammons, C. 19 April 1971 Outgoing correspondence- Ammons, C. 24 March 1971 |
|
| 19 | "Temporal Changes in Auditory Flutter Fusion Frequency (AFF) During Prolonged Visual Deprivation." Perception & Psychophysics 1972. Incoming correspondence - Erickson, C.W. 18 June 1971 - Kristofferson, A. 11 August 1971 - Kristofferson, A. 17 September 1971 Outgoing correspondence- Erickson, C.W. 15 June 1971 - Kristofferson, A. 30 August 1971 - Rough draft |
|
| 20 | "Behavioral and Physiological Effects of Prolonged Sensory & Perceptual Deprivation." A review, Interamerican Journal of Psycholgy 1973. Incoming correspondence - Calkins, J.C. 7 February 1972 - Natilicio, Luiz 8 February 1972 - Natilicio, L. 6 March 1972 - Natilicio, L. 14 Apr 1972 - Natilicio, L. 26 May 1972 Outgoing correspondence- Natilicio, L. 4 January 1972 - Natilicio, L. 13 March 1972 - Natilicio, L. 11 July 1972 - Short version of NATO paper |
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 1 | "Cutaneous Sensitivity during Prolonged Visual 4 1 Deprivation: Role of Interpolating Testing." Perceptual & Motor Skills 1973. Incoming correspondence - Ammons, C. 31 January 1973 - Ammons, C. 7 March 1973 Outgoing correspondence- Ammons, C. 12 December 1972 - Rough notes |
Return to Top
PAPERS PRESENTED AT CONFERENCES 1965-1973
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 2 | EEG in Sensory Deprivation. 6th International Congress of Electoencephalography & Clinical Neurophysiology, Vienna, Sept. 1965 Incoming correspondence - Abelson, Philip 10 August 1965 |
| 3 | Behavorial & Physiology Changes during Prolonged Sensory & Perceptual Deprivation: A Summary of the Manitoba Studies Institute for Juvenile Research. Chicago 1966. | |
| 4 | Behavioral & Physiological Effects of Prolonged Sensory & Perceptual Deprivation. NATO Symposium for Man. Rome, 20-24 October 1969. | |
| 5 | Depression & Subsequent Enhancement of the CCF during 5 One Week of Monocular Deprivation. XIII Interamerican Congress of Psychology. Panama, December 1971.
- Programs from Conference |
|
| 6 | Changes in Visual Sensitivity during Prolonged 6 Monocular Deprivation. XXTH International Congress of Psychology. Tokoyo, August 1972. Incoming correspondence - Sugimoto, Sukeo 22 July 1972 - Rough notes - Programs to Conference |
|
| 7 | Sensory Isolation: Fifteen Years of Research at the 7 University of Manitoba. Third Meeting of Psychologists from the Danubian Countries. Smolenice, Czechoslovakia, 24-28 September 1973.
- Reports on meeting - Programs from meeting |
Return to Top
NOTES TO ZUBEK'S SPEECHES & INTERVIEW [19-?]-1973
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 8 | Undated speeches
- 11 pages of handwritten notes to McGill University speech - 5 pages of handwritten notes to Star Weekly in early 60's - notes to intellectual & perceptual changes - notes to effects on social isolation - 2 page unnamed lecture - 3 page unnamed lecture - notes to lecture Towards a Better Understanding - notes on subjects - notes of Zubek's experimental subjects |
| 9 | Dated speeches
- Sigma Ki Lecture presented 16 January 1973 - Presentation Speech to Dr. A.H. Shephard, June 3,1973 |
Return to Top
CORRESPONDENCE REGARDING BOOKS 1964-1972
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 10 | "Sensory Restriction & Effects on Behavior", Duane P. Schultz, general editor Incoming correspondence - Schultz, Duane 17 October 1964 - Schultz, D. 29 October 1964 - Schultz, D. 1 January 1965 - Schultz, D. 16 January 1965 - Schultz, D. 17 May 1965 - Schultz, D. 20 May 1965 - Schultz, D. 8 June 1965 Outgoing correspondence- Schultz, D. 22 October 1964 - Schultz, D. 6 November 1964 - Schultz, D. 12 January 1965 - Schultz, D. 25 January 1965 - Schultz, D. 13 July 1965 |
| 11 | Documention related to Schultz book
- 2 chapters of book - Copy of Schultz article - Publisher's advertisement |
|
| 12 | "Sensory Deprivation: Fifteen Years of Research". J.P. Zubek, editor. Incoming correspondence - Smith, Seward 7 December 1965 - Suedfeld, Peter 19 May 1966 - Jackson, Wes 2 June 1966 - Suedfeld, P. 22 June 1966 - Jones, Austin 22 June 1966 - Suedfeld, P. 30 June 1966 - Suedfeld, P. 12 July 1966 - Jackson, W. 21 July 1966 - Suedfeld, P. 16 November 1966 - Burton, Jack 16 January 1967 - Burton, J. 21 March 1967 - Kalins, Marjorie 31 July 1967 (Zubek's reply 4 August 1967) - Burton, J. 23 August 1967 - Dick, Viola 8 January 1967 (Zubek's reply February 1968) - Colin, Nadia (3 items January-April 1968) - Burton, J. 9 April 1968 - Colin, Nadia (4 items July-August 1968) - Brozek, Josef 13 October 1968 - Colin, N. 2 December 1968 - Kalins, M. 8 December 1968 - Busch, Barbara (3 items January-May 1969) (Zubek's reply 17 March 1969) - Majathenyi, K. 7 May 1969 - Kalins, M. 12 May 1969 - Zuckerman, Marvin 11 June 1969 - Wilson, Kay 17 June 1969 - Jackson, Wes 25 July 1969 - Kalins, M. 1 May 1969 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 13 | Outgoing correspondence
- Murphy, Donald 15 September 1965 - Contributors (5 items November 19- June 1966) - Jones, A. 12 August 1966 (Jones' reply 29 July 1966) - Smith, S. 1 September 1966 - Samuelson, Abner 16 November 16 1966 - Burton, J. 9 January 1967 - Contributors (3 items February 1967) - Burton, J. 8 March 1967 - Contributors (10 items March 1967- January 1968) - Colin, N. 26 February 1968 - Burton, J. 15 April 1968 - Contributors 15 April 1968 - Colin, N. (4 items July-October 1968) - Contributors (2 items April 1969) - Burton, J. 16 May 1969 - Kalins, M. 26 May 1969 - Contributors 11 June 1969 - Burton, J. 17 September 1970 Appleton - Century - Crofts |
| 14 | Documentation for Sensory Deprivation: 15 Years
- Zubek's contract with publisher (Signed 4 January 1967) - Contributors contracts (Signed 14 March 1967) - Publisher's instructions - Table of Contents - Detailed Outline - Questionnaire regarding book - Comments on chapters - Advertising for book (2 items) - Royalty Statements (1 January 1969-30 June 1973) |
|
| 15 | Correspondence for Translation to Slovak Incoming correspondence - Sipos, Ivan (2 items October-December 1972) - Jackson, W. 26 December 1972 - Rossi, A. M. 27 December 1972 - Zuckerman, M. 28 December 1972 - Suedfeld, P. 28 December 1972 - Smith, S. 5 January 1973 - Sipos, I. 11 January 1973 - Myers, T. 16 January 1973 - Sipos, I. (2 items March 1973) Outgoing correspondence- Sipos, I. (2 items September-October 1972) - Appleton-Century-Crofts 18 December 1972 - Sipos, I. (2 items December 1972- January 1973) - Appleton-Century 31 January 1973 - Sipos, I. 2 May 1973 |
|
| 16 | Encyclopaedic Handbook of Medical Psychology Incoming correspondence - Krauss, Stephen (2 items May-July 1972) - Greenfield, L.C. n.d. Outgoing correspondence- Krauss, Stephen (2 items June-July 1972) - 2 Drafts of Zubek's article |
|
| 17 | Human Behavior in Isolation and Conefinement Incoming correspondence - Braeunig, Janet 2 October 1972 Outgoing correspondence- Braeunig, Janet 12 October 1972 - Copy of Zubek's article |
Return to Top
ARTICLES & REVIEWS OF ZUBEK'S WORK 1959-1974
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 1 | Reviews
Sensory Deprivation (3 reviews Psychological Record 1970, Science 1970, Arch. Gen. Psychiat. 1970) Man in Isolation & Conefinement (undated) A Review of Child Development, Canadian Psychologist, 1974 |
| 2 | Newspaper Articles
"Space Man Tests Here" Winnipeg Free Press 3 October 1959 "City Scientist Spends..." Winnipeg Tribune 3 October 1959 "10 Days of Sheer..." Winnipeg Tribune 5 October 1959 "Woman may be next... " WFP. n.d. "Next Isolation ..." W.T. 8 October 1959 "Woman is best..." W.T. 5 November 1959 "Isolation Ok. at $25 " WFP. n.d. "Space Pioneers May..." Globe & Mail 9 June 1960 "Shutters on magic... " WFP. 16 August 1960 "15 Days in Dome..." WFP. 17 August 1960 "They can modify.., " WFP. 11 March 1961 "U. of M "coffin" " WFP. 24 October 1962 "Coffin Dwellers " W.T. n.d. "It may never be... " W.T. n.d. "Brainwashing not project..." W.T. 8 March 1972 "Brainwashing not object.." WFP. 9 March 1972 "U. of M. Psych. Dept." Manitoban 10 March 1972 "So does he ..." Manitoban 12 November 1972 "Advertisement" Manitoban 22 November 1972 "Forum" Manitoban 30 November 1972 Letters to Editor Manitoban 30 November 1972 "Vote Young Socialist" Manitoban 27 February 1972 "Vote Young Socialist" Manitoban 6 March 1973 "Convocation Issue" Manitoban May 1973 "Paranoia " WFP. 1 October 1973 "Torture in Ulster" WFP. 13 October 1973 "A Switch in Research..." W.T. 10 May 1974 "Brainwashing Removes...." WFP. 14 June 1974 "Grand Forks most..." Grand Forks Gazette 28 August 1974 - Zubek's notes for interview with Manitoban - Article distributed by Irish Canadian Civil Rights Assoc. |
|
| 3 | Incoming correspondence
- Suedfeld, Peter 10 April 1974 |
|
| 3 | Magazine Articles
"My Nightmare Ride" Tribune Weekend Mag. 3 November 1961 <<Gehirnwasche im Experiment>> Die Weltwoche 6 September 1963 "The Live-in Blot" Bulletin 23 September 1970 "Reading in Gen. Psych." Bulletin 12 November 1970 "Manitobans featured..." Bulletin 30 January 1974 "Sensory Deprivation" Mirrored Spectrum 1973 "World Torture" Tribune Weekend Mag. 30 March 1974 |
Return to Top
ZUBEK'S RESEARCH CORRESPONDENCE 1959-1964
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 4 | Incoming correspondence
- Van Ummerson, Charles (3 items, May-June 1959) - Rohrer, John 17 November 1959 - Larson, L.T. 10 December 1959 - Sherman, P. 17 December 1959 - Malmo, R.B. (2 items, March 1960) - Turner, G.H. 30 March 1960 - Syme, W.S. 11 April 1960 - Bryans, J.G. 26 April 1960 - Larmour, R.K. 25 November 1960 - Myers, T.I. 16 January 1961 - Freedman, S.J. 31 January 1961 - Carscallen, H.M. 1 February 1961 - Freedman, S.J. 17 February 1961 - Patriarche, V.H. 2 November 1961 - Sisler, G.C. 6 November 1961 - Freedman, S.J. 15 October 1962 - Sloane, R.B. (3 items, November 1962 - January 1963) - Huestis, E. 14 January 1963 - Engel, G.L. 14 February 1963 - Gunter, R. 20 February 1963 - Ostrom, I. 2 March 1963 - Engel, G.L. 12 March 1963 - Berk, M. 26 March 1963 - Beischer, D.E. 5 April 1963 - Campbell, C. 11 April 1963 - Freedman, N.L. 24 April 1963 - Goodman, E.P. 27 April 1963 - Kopec, A.D. 30 April 1963 - Garcia, Gloria 30 April 1963 - Bailey, C.J. 2 May 1963 - Richmond, J.B. 14 May 1963 - Freedman, N.L. 29 May 1963 - Gladstone, S. 11 June 1963 - Myers, T.I. 5 July 1963 - Weybrew, B.B. 11 July 1963 - Garcia, G. 1 August 1963 - Mudd, S. 29 October 1963 - Pollack, M. 4 December 1963 - Quarrington, B. 26 February 1964 - Weinstein, S. 21 March 1964 - Rasmussen, J.E. 30 March 1964 - Peatman, J. 31 March 1964 - Myers, T.I. 13 May 1964 - Watson, R. 14 May 1964 - Fuhrer, M.J. 4 June 1964 |
| Outgoing correspondence
- Turner.H. 4 April 1960 - Bryans, J.G. 22 April 1960 - Freedman, S.J. 2 February 1961 - Macleod, R.B. 6 February 1961 - Sisler, G.C. (2 items, October- November 1961) - Whitman, H. 8 November 1962 - Sloane, B.R. 5 December 1962 - Engel, G.L. 4 March 1963 - Berk, M. 28 March 1963 - Bailey, C.J. 23 April 1963 - Freedman, N.L. 21 May 1963 - Weybrew, B.B. 22 August 1963 - Weinstein, S. 20 March 1964 - Fortmayer, G. 22 June 1964 |
Return to Top
RESEARCH CORRESPONDENCE 1965-1974
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 6 | Incoming correspondence
- Farrell, R.J. 4 March 1965 - Marjerrison, G. 2 September 1966 - Wright, N. September 1966 - Fine, B.J. 16 October 1968 - Heron, W. 15 February 1971 - Malmo, R.B. 5 May 1971 - Suedfeld, P. 25 June 1971 - Tkac, P. (3 items, November 1972- February 1973) - Schonberger, J. 14 February 1973 - Tkac, P. (3 items, February-April 1973) - Suedfeld, P. 3 June 1973 - Tkac, P. 7 June 1973 - Schonberger, J. 25 June 1973 - Podietz, L. 2 July 1973 - Tkac, P. 23 August 1973 - Henry, K.R. 17 April 1974 - Scott, S. 22 October 1974 - 2 articles by Richard Farrell - 3 articles by Gordon Marjerrison - 1 article by Bernard Fine - 1 article by Kenneth Henry |
| 7 | Outgoing correspondence
- Farrell, R.J. 30 March 1965 - Wright, N. 13 September 1968 - Tkac, P. 23 November 1972 - Kovac, D. 18 December 1972 - Tkac, P. (2 items, January- March 1973) - Schonberger, J. 11 April 1973 - Tkac, P. 14 May 1973 - Jackson, W. 18 June 1973 - Con. Gen. Czech 20 June 1973 - Tkac, P. 14 August 1973 - Podietz, L. 10 September 1973 - Henry, K. 8 May 1974 - 4 Zubek articles - notes relating to Peatman letter 21 March 1964 |
Return to Top
ZUBEK'S RESEARCH NOTES 1948-1950
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 8 | Student research at John's Hopkins
- Theory of Measurement 604, February-May 1950 - 52 pages of handwritten notes - Assignments & final exams (14 items) |
| 9 | Student research at John's Hopkins
- Advanced Statistics 302, February-June 1949 - 53 handwritten pages of notes - Assignments & final exams |
|
| 10 | Student research at John's Hopkins
- Reading List - Vision Seminar, Spring Term 1948 - Reading for Personality Seminar, Fall 1949 - Basic Readings for Personality, Fall 1949 - Reading Lists for Vision Seminar, Second Term 1950 |
Return to Top
ZUBEK'S EXAMS 1952-1962
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 11 | McGill Examinations
- Psychology 33A 12 September 1952 - Psychology 33A 8 January 1953 - Psychology 33B 16 September 1952 - Psychology 33B 22 April 1953 - Psychology 33B Supplemental exam - References for Developmental & Child Psychology |
| 12 | University of Manitoba Examination
- Human Development 306 September 1955 - Human Development 306 April 1956 - Human Development 306 September 1956 - Psychology 307 April 1957 - Psychology 307 September 1957 - Study Outline Human Development - 14 handwritten pages regarding exams |
|
| 13 | Zubek's Research Notes
- EEG records low light & noise at Gen. Hospital 4 items - Includes Jean Mary Sheppard's analysis on alpha determination from 1962 |
|
| 14 | Miscellaneous Research Notes
- Personality characteristics of volunteer & non volunteers for Sensory Deprivation - Future projects (non isolation) - Effects of S.D. on a battery tasks - Short term research - Future research - Social interaction in isolation - Long eye syndrome - Recent isolation articles - Vigilance studies - Visual alertness - Auditory vigilance - Time judgements |
Return to Top
CORRESPONDENCE WITH RESEARCH FUNDING BODIES 1953-1973
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 1 | National Research Council Grant AF 16
- Progress report McGill 1953 - Handwritten draft of grant proposal - Handwritten notes - Reference article |
| 2 | National Research Council Grant A.P.B.T-40
- Progress report 1959-1960 - Terminal report 1962 - Wilgosh terminal report N.R.C. bursary 1962 |
|
| 3 | National Research Council Grant A.P.T.-106
- N.R.C. application December 1963 - Notice of award March 1964 - Common grant account May 1965 - Notice of award March 1966 |
|
| 4 | National Research Council Major Installment Grant
- N.R.C. application March 1967 - Notice of award February 1968 - Grant application November 1968 - Grant application November 1969 - Notice of award 1968-69 March 1968 - Notice of award 1969-70 - Application rough copy November 1968 - Rough notes |
CORRESPONDENCE WITH N.R.C.
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 5 | Incoming correspondence
- Van Laer, Judith (6 items, September 1964- February 1967) - Park, F.R. (2 items, March-June 1967) - Van Laer, J. 4 August 1967 - Park, F.R. 21 August 1967 - Van Laer, J. (2 items, August- September 1967) - Park, F.R. 21 November 1967 - Van Laer, J. (3 items, April 1968- October 1969) - Wright, H. (3 items, November 1970- January 1971) |
| 6 | Outgoing correspondence
- Van Laer, J. (2 items, December 1964- March 1967) - Park, F.R. 30 June 1967 - Van Laer, J. 10 August 1967 - Condo, W.J. (2 items, November 1967) - Park, F.R. 5 December 1967 - N.R.C. 16 November 1970 - Wright, H. (2 items, January 1971) - Van Laer, J. 27 December 1972 Zubek's Assessment N.R.C. Applications |
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 6 | Outgoing correspondence
- Rabinovitch, M.S. n.d. - Agnew, Neil n.d. - Royce, J. n.d. - Mackinnon, George n.d. - Schnore, Morris n.d. - Walley, Roc. n.d. - Newbigging, P.L. n.d. - Foley, Joan n.d. - Ferguson, H.B. 4 January 1972 - Heron, Woodburn (2 items, January 1972- January 1973) |
Return to Top
DEFENCE RESEARCH BOARD GRANTS 1964-1973
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 7 | Incoming correspondence
- Hoyt, R. 9 April 1964 - Lowe, R.H. (2 items, March 1966-August 1967) - Northey, W.H. 22 November 1967 - Lowe, R.H. (2 items, March 1968- April 1969) - Smith, A.H. 11 August 1969 - Lowe, R.H. (4 items, August 1969- April 1970) - Smith, A.H. 10 August 1970 - Lowe, R.H. 31 March 1971 - Smith, A.H. (2 items, August- November 1971) - Suedfeld, P. 8 December 1971 - Lowe, R.H. 31 July 1972 - Winser, C.A. 17 August 1973 Outgoing correspondence - Northey , W.H. 5 December 1967 - Pickett, B. 20 December 1967 - Smith, A.H. (3 items, March-September 1971) - Winser, C.A. 10 September 1973 |
Return to Top
ASSESSMENTS OF DEFENCE RESEARCH BOARD GRANTS 1963-1972
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 8 | Outgoing correspondence
- Rule, Brenden 1 December 1966 - Fenz, W.D. 8 December 1970 - Heron, W. 27 January 1971 - Ogilivie, J.C. n.d. |
| 9 | Minutes to D.R.B. Committee
Restricted - Minutes of committee on human engineering - Chairman's Report (November 1963-May 1964) |
|
| 10 | D.R.B. Research Applications
- Grant No.9425-08 (September 1964- October 1972) |
|
| 11 | D.R.B. Annual Progress Reports
- Effects of adverse envirornmental conditions on intellectual & perceptual processes, 1964 - Effects of adverse envirornmental conditions on performances, 1965 - Effects of adverse envirornmental conditions on intellectual & perceptual processes, 1966 - Effects of unusual envirornmental conditions on various behavioral & physiological measures, (September 1967- September 1972) - 3 handwritten pages of notes - 1 diagram of sensory deprivation lab |
Return to Top
UNITED STATES PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES GRANT 1964-1967
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 12 | Award notification 1964-1967
- Grant award M.H. 08748-01 24 June 1964 - Grant application 1 October 1964- 30 September 1965 - Summary of progress report 1 July 1964- 30 June 1965 - Application for grant extension 12 July 1966 - Summary progress report 1 July 1965- 30 June 1966 - Annual report of expenditures 1 October 1965- 30 September 1966 - Annual report of expenditures 1 October 1966- 30 September 1967 - Notice of award 4 November 1965 - Notice of award 1 November 1966 - Termination report December 1967 |
| 13 | Grant for Studies of Sensory Interaction
- Application receipt record 18 July 1966 - Copy of proposal - Copy of application for research grant - Draft article |
Return to Top
CORRESPONDENCE WITH UNITED STATES PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES 1963-1967
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 14 | Incoming correspondence
- Simos, Irving 20 November 1963 - Sapir, P. 24 June 1964 - Brand, J. 7 July 1964 - Sapir, P. 22 July 1965 - Brand, J. (2 items, August 1965) - Wienckowski, L.A. 29 September 1965 - Brand, J. 22 April 1966 - Shephard, A.H. 4 May 1966 - Saunder, M.G. 11 May 1966 - Condo, W.J. 11 May 1966 - Brand, J. (2 items, August 1966) - Ray, M. 11 August 1966 - Wienckowski, L. 15 August 1966 - Rubinstein, E. A. 14 September 1966 - Moran, J. 16 September 1966 - Gutter, F.J. (2 items, October 1966) - Gordon, J. (2 items, November 1966) - Ray, M. 17 April 1967 - Duckworth, H.E. 17 August 1967 - McLeod, G. (2 items, November- December 1967) |
| 15 | Outgoing correspondence
- Simos, I. 19 September 1963 - Sapir, P. (2 items, July 1964- August 1965) - N.I.M.H. 2 September 1965 - Brand, J. (2 items, October 1965- April 1966) - Saunderson, H.H. 26 April 1966 - Brand, J. 5 May 1966 - Gordon, J. 9 May 1966 - Mayor-Oakes, W.J. 9 May 1966 - Saunder, M.G. 9 May 1966 - Shephard, A. H. 9 May 1966 - Brand, J. (2 items, July-August 1966) - Ray, M. 17 August 1966 - Shephard, A.H. 2 November 1966 - Mayer-Oakes, W.J. 2 November 1966 - Saunder, M.G. 2 November 1966 - Gutter, F.J. (2 items, November 1966) - Gordon, J. 2 November 1966 - Gutter, F.J. 14 November 1966 |
Return to Top
CORRESPONDENCE REGARDING NOMINATIONS & LETTERS OF REFERENCE 1955-1974
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 16 | Incoming correspondence
- Hoffman, G.C. 22 February 1955 - Riesen, A. 17 April 1958 - Bilash, I. 17 March 1960 - Tamblyn, W.G. 30 July 1968 - Merrill, G. 5 March 1969 - Wheeler, K. 29 October 1969 - Harris, L. 14 July 1970 - Harris, L. 5 October 1970 6 16 - Toepfer, L. 19 April 1971 - Pressey, A. 20 March 1973 - Friesen, H. (2 items, November 1973) - McCormack, P.D. n.d. |
| 17 | Outgoing correspondence (Restricted)
- Leibowitz, H. 8 February 1956 - Bisson, J.P. 6 April 1956 - Smalley, Mrs. 31 August 1956 - Boston University 21 November 1957 - Freeman, D.R. 13 April1957 - Scotten, G. 9 August 1957 - To whom it may... 27 September 1957 - Marshall, J.B. 29 January 1958 - Ellis, R.G. 16 May 1958 - Wisconsin State Coll. 7 August 1958 - North Dakota Agr. Coll. 7 August 1958 - Barnett, A.G. 31 July 1958 - Sutherland, James 14 August 1958 - Univ. of Chicago 12 March 1959 - Myers, C.R. 17 March 1959 - Pincock, T.A. 23 March 1959 - Atkinson, H.S. 25 April 1959 - Registrar U.B.C. 22 March 1960 - Garner, W.R. 23 January 1961 - Russell, R.W. 23 January 1961 - Univ. of Chicago 23 January 1961 - McMurray, G.A. 23 September 1963 - Archer, E.J. 28 January 1964 - Mickelson, C.H. 19 March 1964 - Thomas, W.E. 6 October 1964 - Univ. of Chicago 25 January 1964 - Walters, R. 16 March 1965 - Wiltshire, E.B. 21 September 1965 - Canada Council 28 September - Canada Council 30 September - Univ. of Chicago n.d. - Canada Council Fellowship 1 December 1965 - National Research Council 6 December 1965 - Mogenson, G. 3 March 1966 - Brandon College 1 April 1966 - Canadian Penitentiary System 17 October 1966 - Sydisha, D. 12 December 1966 - Robson, C.J. 4 April 1967 - Braceland, Rev. L. 26 April 1967 - Wolpe, J. 15 July 1968 - Tamblyn, W.G. 13 August 1968 - Howard, J. 6 January 1969 - Cadwallader, T.C. 3 March 1969 - Merrill, G. 11 March 1969 - Blair, R.N. 17 March 1969 - To whom it may... 31 March 1969 - Wheeler, K. 14 November 1969 - Sykes, P. 2 December 1969 - Smith, C.P. 29 December 1969 - Harris, L. 16 July 1970 - Canada Council 25 September - Harris, L. 15 October 1970 - Hare, R.D. 6 April 1971 - Toepfer, L. 26 April 1971 - Diamond, L. 22 June 1971 - Reed, G.F. 6 July 1971 - Mendelson, J.H. 6 July 1971 - Court of Canadian Citizenship 30 August 1971 - Canada Council 27 September 1971 - Canada Council 27 September 1971 - McCarthy, D.J. 26 January 1972 - Findlay, P. 10 October 1972 - Signori, E.I. 27 November 1972 - Gagnon, Marc 15 January 1973 - Berlyne, D.E. 31 January 1973 - R.H. Institute Grants 15 March 1973 - Nickels, J.B. 15 March 1973 - Perlman, D. 22 March 1973 - Friesen, H.G. 13 November 1973 - Sullivan, A.M. 20 December 1973 - Sutherland-Brown, M. 29 January 1974 - Strub, H. 14 February 1974 |
|
| 17 | - Notes to letters of reference. |
Return to Top
ZUBEK'S REFEREED COMMENTS ON ARNHOFF RESEARCH
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 18 | Outgoing correspondence
- Blackburn, J. 21 May 1963 |
| 5 recipe card references | ||
| 3 articles |
Return to Top
CANADIAN PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION 1973 -1974
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 1-2 | Canadian Psychological Association
- Executive officer activities 1973 - Executive officer expenses 1973 - Statements of income 1973 - C.P.A. bulletin costs 1973 - Non member mailing costs 19 December 1973 - Secretary's Report 31 December 1973 - Minutes of executive Meeting October 1973 - Minutes of directors'Meeting 5-6 June 1973 - C.P.A. board of directors 1973 - 1974 - Professional Psychology in Quebec August 1973 - Minutes to board of directors meeting - Executive officer activities 1973 - Executive officer expenses 1973 - Statements of income 1973 - C.P.A. bulletin costs 1973 - Non member mailing costs 19 December 1973 - Secretary's Report 31 December 1973 - Minutes of executive Meeting October 1973 - Minutes of directors'Meeting 5-6 June 1973 - C.P.A. board of directors 1973 - 1974 - Professional Psychology in Quebec August 1973 - Minutes to board of directors meeting 9-10 February 1974 - Permanent program committee questionnaire - Proposed changes in by-law - Candidates for honorary life status January 1974 - ESL contract for 1974 annual meeting in Windsor - C.P.A. journal costs - Committee on professional affairs report February 1974 - C.P.A. report on permanent program committee - C.P.A. financial history 1964-1974 - Meeting of board of directors draft agenda 9-10 February 1974 |
| 3 | Memoranda & Correspondence with C.P.A. Board Incoming correspondence - Myers, C.R. 29 August 1973 - Gibson, Dave 12 December 1973 - Myers, C.R. (2 items, December 1973)
Outgoing correspondence - Gibson, D. 14 August 1973 - Executive Dir. 20 November 1973 - Meyers, C.R. (2 items, December 1973) - Gibson, D. 11 January 1974 - Myers, C.R. 22 January 1974 - Mogenson, G. 1 February 1974 - Executive Dir. (2 items, February 1974) |
|
| 4 | Zubek's C.P.A. Correspondence Incoming correspondence - Myers, C.R. 9 May 1973 - Gibson, D. 14 May 1974 Outgoing correspondence- Edwards, S.K. 11 February 1974 - Myers, C.R. 14 May 1974 |
Return to Top
FACULTY OF PSYCHOLOGY CORRESPONDENCE 1961-1974
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 5 | Incoming correspondence (Restricted) 1961-1969
- Sibley, W.M. (2 items, August-September 1961) - Duckworth, H.E. (3 items, September- October 1969) |
| 5 | Outgoing correspondence
- Waines, W.J. (4 items, March 1959- April 1961) - Springbett, B.M. 8 April 1961 - Burns, Joyce 8 April 1961 - Springbett, B.M. 22 April 1961 - Sibley, W.M. 23 October 1961 - Notes for letter |
|
| 6 | Zubek's Departmental Correspondence 1966-1974 Incoming correspondence - Shepherd, A.H. 26 March 1971 - Janisse, M.P. 24 April 1974 Outgoing correspondence- Research assistants 11 January 1966 - Volunteers wanted 16 February 1966 - Research assistants 16 September 1966 - Aftanas, M. 5 May 1969 |
|
| 7 | Psychology Department Exec. Committee Correspondence Incoming correspondence 1968- 1973 - Minutes of exec. committee (3 items, December 1968) - Exec. committee memo 3 January 1969 - Minutes (7 items, January- March 1969) - Graduate committee 21 January 1969 - Minutes 24 March 1969 - Memo 30 April 1969 - Minutes (13 items, March- November 1969) - Key system report 19 November 1969 - Minutes (5 items, November 1969- December 1972) - Committee on reorganization 24 January 1973 7 - Grad. committee activities 8 February 1973 - Dept. council meeting minutes 16 March 1973 Other documentation- A.W. Pressey to executive committee 17 January 1969 - M.S. Aftanas to A.H. Shepherd February 1969 - A.H. Shepherd to exec. committee 13 May 1969 - R.J. Albers to exec. committee 24 January 1973 |
Return to Top
CLIFFORD J. ROBSON AWARD 1970-1974
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 8 | Incoming correspondence
- Lockhart, W.C. 5 May 1970 - Robson, Mildred 12 May 1970 - Lockhart, W.C. 26 May 1970 - Bellhouse, R.M. (2 items, May-June 1970) - Lockhart, W.C. 18 December 1970 - Lockhart, W.C. 30 December 1970 - Bedford, A.G. 20 January 1971 - Duckworth, H.E. 17 May 1973 - McPherson, Ian 21 June 1974 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 8 | Outgoing correspondence
- Lockhart, W.C. 30 April 1970 - Bellhouse, R.M. 3 June 1970 - Lockhart, W.C. (2 items, June 1970) - Bedford, A.G. 27 January 1971 - Clake, John 25 May 1971 - Duckworth, H.E. 2 May 1973 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 8 | 3 University of Wpg. alumni journal articles |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 8 | - 3 newspaper clippings |
Return to Top
JOHN J. ZUBEK MEMORIAL AWARD 1972-1974
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 9 | Incoming correspondence 1972-1974
- McCarthy, D.J. (2 items, June-July 1972) - Sirluck, Ernest 31 July 1972 - Gilson, J.C. (2 items, August- September 1972) - Henry, C.E. (3 items, September- October 1972) - Connor, Robin 20 October 1972 - Gilson, J.C. (2 items, November- December 1972) - Henry, C.E. 3 January 1973 - Duckworth, H.E. 29 January 1973 - McBride, B. 1 March 1974 - Leckie, G.W. 22 April 1974 - Browning, B.G. 3 May 1974 - Leckie, G.W. 28 May 1974 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 9 | Outgoing correspondence
- Duckworth, H.E. 6 March 1972 - McCarthy, D.J. (4 items, March-July 1972) - Sirluck, E. 18 July 1972 - Gilson, J.C. 7 August 1972 - Henry, C.E. 14 September 1972 - Gilson, J.C. (2 items, November- December 1972) - McBride, Bill 15 April 1974 - Browning, B.G. (2 items, May 1974) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 9 | Related correspondence
- J.C. Gilson to D.J. McCarthy 17 May 1972 - R.D. Connor to D.J. McCarthy 15 May 1972 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 9 | Related documentation
- Notice of John J. Zubek award - 6 articles U. of M. Bulletin - 1973 convocation program |
Return to Top
PSYCHOLOGY DEPARTMENT EQUIPMENT PURCHASES 1958-1970
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 10 | Incoming correspondence 1958-1970
- Iverson, F.W. 21 May 1958 - Yates, H. (3 items, September- October 1958) - English, Max 5 June 1959 - Reed, A. 21 July 1959 - Mote, John (2 items, March-May 1961) - Davies, L.A. 4 October 1963 - Love, Winston (2 items, November 1964- April 1965) - Fraser, Russell 9 September 1965 - Tufts, Leroy 26 October 1965 - Fraser, Russell 8 November 1965 - Mulley, J.W. 16 June 1966 - Vanchuk, J.T. 6 October 1966 - Mulley, J.W. (5 items, October 1966- November 1969) |
| 11 | Outgoing correspondence
- Dennis, T. 30 January 1961 7 11 - Mote, John 19 April 1961 - Marrietta Apparatus Co. 16 October 1964 - Love, Winston 12 November 1964 - Mulley, J.W. 12 October 1966 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 11 | Outgoing correspondence
- Dennis, T. 30 January 1961 7 11 - Mote, John 19 April 1961 - Marrietta Apparatus Co. 16 October 1964 - Love, Winston 12 November 1964 - Mulley, J.W. 12 October 1966 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 11 | Related correspondence
- P. Davidson to A.H. Shepherd 17 October 1966 - G. Louis to Bill Gelfant 13 January 1970 - Bill Gelfant to Shaw Labratories Inc. 7 January 1970 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 11 | Related documentation
- Olfactometer specifications, Marietta Apparatus Co. - User's brochure, Climatic Research Equipment Ltd. - Respiratory protection brochure, Mine Safety Appliance Co. - Hospital filter, Mine Safety Appliance Co. - Ultra Aire filter, M.S.A. - M.S.A. Monitaire Sampler - M.S.A. Air Line Filter - Industrial Accoustics Co., Specifications, Rooms for medical profession - Tepro Industrial Ltd. brochure - Research Media Inc. brochure - Visual Perception Transparencies, Research Media Inc. - Skin Sensitivity Machine Specifications - Hardy-Wolff-Goodell Dolirimeter Manual - Niagara Therapy Mfg. Corp. brochure - Marietta Apparatus Manual |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 11 | Articles & Notes
- Walter Schutte research proposal - Schutte paper on Sensory Deprivation - 3 pages of Zubek's notes - "The Effect of Vibration on Psychic Stress", Geddes, David D. - Brigham Young University |
Return to Top
ZUBEK'S BOOK: HUMAN DEVELOPMENT
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 1 | Correspondence, articles and notes pertaining to Human Development |
| 2 | Correspondence with publisher |
Return to Top
PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION (PC 88)
Photographs 1-12 Pertain to Zubek & Downer's article "Role of the Cerebral Cortex in Temperature Discrimination in the Rat". McGill University, Journal of Comparative and Physiological Psychology, 1954
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Diagram of apparatus used in research |
| 2 | Zubek & rat taken by Montreal Standard, photo by R. Rodriguez | |
| 3 | Rat by Montreal Standard, photo by R. Rodriguez | |
| 4 |
Rat by Montreal Standard, photo by R. Rodriguez Photographs 13-17 Pertain to Zubek's article "Effects of Severe Isolation on Human Behaviour", published in Image, Medical Photo Reports, 1963 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 13 | Zubek & assistant examine sensory deprivation isolation chamber, photo by David Portigal |
| 14 | Zubek takes aptitude test, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 15 | Zubek in decline, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 16 | Zubek takes pain sensitivity test, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 17 |
Zubek takes EEG, photo by D. Portigal Photographs 18-27 Pertain to Zubek's article "Effects of Immobilization of the Body on Human Behaviour", Image, Medical Photo Reports, 1966 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 18 | Unnamed subject takes aptitude test, photo by D. Portigal |
| 19 | Unnamed subject takes colour discrimination test, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 20 | Subject lying strapped in position, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 21 | Zubek examines isolation bed, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 22 | Isolation bed, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 23 | Isolation bed, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 24-25 | Subject lying on isolation bed, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 26 | Subject takes portable EEG, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 27 | Subject takes pain sensitivity test, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 28-29 | Zubek in sensory deprivation test, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 30 | View of isolation chamber, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 31 | Zubek in his office, photo by D. Portigal | |
| 32 | Zubek outside isolation chamber | |
| 33 | Site of new psychology building during construction | |
| 34 | Zubek after 2 week stint in isolation chamber, photo by D. Portigal |
Return to Top