The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Collections
Inventory prepared by Brian Hubner
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1940-2003)
Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (February 2004)
Finding aid written in English.
Revision History
Table of Contents
Collection Summary
Historical Sketch "You Can't Beat Fun"
Scope and Contents of the Records
Organization of the Records
Restrictions on Access
Restrictions on Use
Custodial History
Detailed Description of the Records
Original Song Manuscripts from Sam Seetner
January, 1940 Libretto Script
"You Can’t Beat Fun" Complete Lyrics of 1940 Production
"1940 Material"
Letter dated June 24, 1940 to Earle Beattie from C.L. Bouve
Complete printed music folios of the original arrangements for 2002 Production
“You Can’t Beat Fun Act I and Act II”
Scripts, Lyrics, Musical Arrangements (Vocal/Choral) for 2002 Production
Orchestrations (Piano/Drums)
Orchestrations (Strings)
Orchestrations (Woodwind/Brass)
Typewritten Lyrics
Material related to the 2002 Production
Tapes - “You Can’t Beat Fun” (2002 Production)
Collection Summary
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Creator:
Sam Seetner
Title:
"You Can't Beat Fun" Musical Collection
Dates:
1940-2003
Quantity:
34 cm textual records, 2 video tapes
Identification:
Mss 180 (A.03-59)
Language
English.
Return to Top
Historical Sketch "You Can't Beat Fun"
The musical “You Can’t Beat Fun” was originally conceived and musically written by 19 year old pianist Sam Seetner in 1939, a 2nd year Science student at the University of Manitoba, with help of two of his friends Earl J. Beattie (book), and Edward Parker (stage conception) - Seetner and Beattie wrote the lyrics .The production was staged by over 40 University of Manitoba music students (including future game show host “Monty Hall”) on January 11th -13th, & 15th, 1940, at the Winnipeg Civic Auditorium. The story follows the love lives of four college freshmen who enter a university beset by cut backs and reduced to four faculties: Love, Rhythm, Home Economics and Hotcha! [?] In 2002 the production was revived to celebrate the 125th anniversary of the University of Manitoba. It played February 20th - 22nd at the Walker Theatre.
Return to Top
Scope and Contents of the Records
The collection consists of material related to both the 1940 and 2002, including lyric sheets, musical scores, publicity and press exposure. Two video tapes record the 2002 performance.
Return to Top
Organization of the Records
These records are organized into fourteen series
Return to Top
Restrictions on Access
No restrictions apply to viewing the material. Users must abide by relevant royalty and copyright legislation
Return to Top
Restrictions on Use
No restrictions apply to viewing the material. Users must abide by relevant royalty and copyright legislation
Return to Top
Custodial History
The collection was donated by Dr. Sam Seetner and the estates of the other two principles in 2003. Some material was transferred to Archives & Special Collections after remaining in the custody of Paul Patterson and the University of Manitoba Department of Music since 2002
Return to Top
Detailed Description of the Records
Original Song Manuscripts from Sam Seetner
| Box | Folder |
| 1 |
-Typewritten list of songs in musical (with instrument designation) -Oversize handwritten scores (and some notes with comments for presentation) for: -“The World’s Gone Screwy” -“Me For Varsity” -“You Can’t Beat Fun” -“Thus Love Was Made” (2 versions) -“This Extra Curricular Is My Strong Particular” [Seetner] revised version of above, added September, 2003 -“I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” -“I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” -“So This Is Varsity” - “A Little Dark Fantasy” [Seetner] -“Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s” -“Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s” [Seetner] -“Whistle With a Tear” -“Flora’s Angora” -“You’ve No More Claim On Me” -“The Tag” -“The Tag” [Seetner] -“Why Can’t We Dance” -“What a Day, What a Night” -“Freshman Four” -“Freshman Four” [Seetner] -“The University Is A True Democracy” -“The University Is A True Democracy” [Seetner] -“What a Day, What a Night” [Seetner] |
Return to Top
January, 1940 Libretto Script
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | (same song listing as following) |
Return to Top
"You Can’t Beat Fun" Complete Lyrics of 1940 Production
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 2 |
-The World’s Gone Screwy [Seetner] -Me For Varsity Lyric – Sung as Quartette [Seetner] -We Are Freshman Four – Lyric [Seetner] -Angry Fathers Three – Lyric [Seetner] -Student Chorus March – You Can’t Be Fun [Seetner] -The University Is A True Democracy [Seetner] -I’m a Strictly Theoretical Man [Seetner] -Thus Love Was Made [Seetner] -I’m Got Rhythm In My System [Seetner] -This Extra Curricular Is My Strong Particular [Seetner] -This Extra Curricular Is Our Strong Particular [Seetner] -Letter and attachment dated March 18, 2003 to Paul Patterson (UM School of Music) from Sam Seetner regarding latest lyrics for “This Extracurricular Is My Strong Particular” -So This Is Varsity – Lyric [Seetner] -Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s – Lyrics 1st Stage [Seetner] -You’ve No More Claim on Me [Seetner] -Flora’s Angora – Comic Novelty Song [Seetner] -A Little Dark Fantasy [Seetner] -Whistle With a Tear – Lyric [Seetner] -The Tag Dance – Tag, You’re It – Lyric [Seetner] -Why Can’t We Cance [sic] [Seetner] -What A Day, What A Night – Lyric [Seetner] |
Return to Top
"1940 Material"
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 3 |
-You Can’t Beat Fun: A Musical Comedy, January 1940 [Seetner] -“You Can’t Beat Fun Has Dazzling Premiere,” The Manitoban, Jan. 12, 1940 -“You Can’t Beat Fun Has Dazzling Premiere,” Brown & Gold, [1940?], p. 274 -“…Might Work Wonders,” The Manitoban, January 15, 1940 -“Laugh and the World Laughs With You,” The Manitoban, January 10, 1940 -“A Review of You Can’t Beat Fun,” The Manitoban, January 15, 1940 (5 copies) -“Former Winnipegger receives business award in Turkey,” The Jewish Post & News, May 30, 2001. -Copies of “You Can’t Beat Fun Has Dazzling Premiere” and “Interfaculty Report,” Brown & Gold, 1940 with note attached from Shelley Sweeney to Paul dated January 2002 -“You Can’t Beat Fun” Performance Program, 1940 (3 copies) -2 copies of package containing: -copy of original poster for 1940 show -history/description of 2002 performance -“You Can’t Beat Fun Has Dazzling Premiere,” The Manitoban, Jan. 12, 1940 -“You Can’t Beat Fun Has Dazzling Premier,” The Brown and Gold [1940?] -“Smash Show Held Over,” The Manitoban, Jan. 15, 1940 -“Home-Ec. Baby Pie-Eyed,” The Manitoban, Jan. 15, 1940 -“A Review of You Can’t Beat Fun,” The Manitoban, Jan. 15, 1940 -“With ‘Ye Old and Ancient’ Guild,” The Manitoban, Jan 12, 1940 -“Swinging on Down at Swingmore,” The Manitoban, Jan. 12, 1940 -“Laugh and the World Laughs With You,” The Manitoban, Jan. 12, 1940 -Oversize package includes: -8 copies of original poster for 1940 show -“Laugh and the World Laughs With You,” The Manitoban, Jan. 12, 1940 -“It Might Work Wonders,” The Manitoban, Jan. 15, 1940 -“Swinging on Down at Swingmore,” The Manitoban, Jan. 12, 1940 -“A Review of You Can’t Beat Fun,” The Manitoban, Jan. 15, 1940 -“You Can’t Beat Fun Has Dazzling Premiere,” The Manitoban, Jan. 12, 1940 -“With Ye Old and Ancient Guild,” The Manitoban, Jan. 12, 1940 -“Home-Ec. Baby Pie-Eyed,” The Manitoban, Jan. 15, 1940 -“Smash Show Held Over,” The Manitoban, Jan. 15, 1940 -“Former Winnipegger receives business award in Turkey,” The Jewish Post & News, May 30, 2001. |
Return to Top
Letter dated June 24, 1940 to Earle Beattie from C.L. Bouve
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 4 | Letter - Register of Copyrights for the Library of Congress |
Return to Top
Complete printed music folios of the original arrangements for 2002 Production
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 5 |
(prior to selection for performance) -“No. 1: The World’s Gone Screwy” [Seetner] -“No. 2: Me For Varsity” [Seetner] -“No. 3: We Are Freshmen Four” [Seetner] -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” [Seetner] -“No. 5: The University Is A True Democracy” [Seetner] -“No. 7: Thus Love Was Made” (2 copies) [Seetner] -“No. 6: I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” [Seetner] -“I’ve Got Rhythm in My System” [Seetner] -“No. 15: Take Me With a Sneer” [Seetner] -“No. 15: Whistle With a Tear” [Seetner] -“Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” [Seetner] -“No. 16: Flora The Horror” [Seetner] -“No. 10: So This Is Varsity” [Seetner] -“Reprise: So This Is Varsity” [Seetner] -“No. 12: Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s” [Seetner] -“No. 14: Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” [Seetner] -“No. 17: You’ve No More Claim on Me” [Seetner] -“Flora’s Angora” [Seetner] -“A Little Dark Fantasy” [Seetner] -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” [Seetner] -“No. 18: The Tag” [Seetner] -“No. 19: Why Can’t We Dance?” [Seetner] -“Finale: What A Day, What A Night” [Seetner] |
Return to Top
“You Can’t Beat Fun Act I and Act II”
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 6 |
(in two blue coil binders) Scores for the following songs: ACT I No. 1: “Overture” No. 1 (annotated as No. 2): “The World’s Gone Screwy” No. 2 (annotated as No. 3): “Me For Varsity” No. 4: “You Can’t Beat Fun” No. 7 (annotated as No. 5): “Thus Love Was Made” No. 6: “I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” No number printed (annotated as No. 7): “I’ve Got Rhythm in My System” No. 9 (annotated as No. 8A): “Flora the Horror” No. 10 (annotated as No. 9): “So This Is Varsity” No. 11 (annotated as No. 10): “My Little Dark Fantasy” No number printed (annotated as No. 11): “Reprise: So This Is Varsity” ACT II No. 4 (annotated as No. 12): “You Can’t Beat Fun” No. 14 (annotated as No. 13A): “Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” No. 13 (annotated as No. 14): “Take Me With A Sneer” No. 15: “Whistle With a Tear” No. 15A: “Whistle With a Tear: Dance Reprise” No. 16 (annotated as No. 17): “Flora’s Angora” No number printed (annotated as No. 18): “The Tag” No. 19 (annotated as No. 19A): “Why Can’t We Dance?” No number printed (annotated as No. 20): “Travellin’ Music” No. 20 (annotated as No. 20A): “Angry Fathers Three” No. 4 (annotated as No. 21): “You Can’t Beat Fun” No number printed (annotated as No. 22): “Finale: What a Day, What a Night” No. 4 (annotated as No. 23): “You Can’t Beat Fun” |
Return to Top
Scripts, Lyrics, Musical Arrangements (Vocal/Choral) for 2002 Production
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 7 |
-“You Can’t Beat Fun!: A Musical Comedy” 07.11.01 (Most recent version – February 15, 2002). 68 pages. -“You Can’t Beat Fun!: A Musical Comedy” Revised Lyrics. 25th October, 2001, 31 pages. -“No. 1: The World’s Gone Screwy” -“No. 2: Me For Varsity” -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” -“No. 7: Thus Love Was Made” -“No. 6: I’m a Strictly Theoretical Man” -“No. 6: I’m a Strictly Theoretical Man” -“I’ve Got Rhythm in My System” -“No. 16: Flora The Horror” (Voice and Piano) -“No. 10: So This Is Varsity” -“A Little Dark Fantasy” (Voice and Piano) -“Reprise: So This is Varsity” -“No. 14: Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” -“No. 15: Take Me With a Sneer” -“No. 15: Whistle With a Tear” -“Whistle With a Tear: Dance Reprise” -“Flora’s Angora” (Voice and Piano) -“No. 17: You’ve No More Claim on Me” -“No. 18: The Tag” -“No. 19: Why Can’t We Dance?” -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” -“Finale: What A Day, What A Night” |
Return to Top
Orchestrations (Piano/Drums)
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 8 |
-“No. 1 Overture” (Piano) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Piano) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Piano) -“No. 4 You Can’t Beat Fun” (Piano) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (no instrument listed) -“No. 6 I’m a Strictly Theoretical Man” (Piano) -“I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Voice and Piano) -“No. 16 (annotated as No. 8A) Flora The Horror” (Voice and Piano) -“No. 9 (annotated as No. 8A) Flora the Horror” (Piano) -No. 10 (annotated as No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Piano) -“A Little Dark Fantasy” (Voice and Piano) -“No. 11 (annotated as No.10) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Piano) -“(Annotated as No. 11) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Piano) -“No. 4 (annotated as No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Piano) -“No. 14 (annotated as No. 13) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” -“No. 14 (annotated as No. 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Piano) -“No. 13 (annotated as No. 14) Take Me With a Sneer” (Piano) -“No. 15 (annotated as No. 14A) Take Me With a Sneer” -“No. 15 Whistle With A Tear” (Piano) -“No. 15A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” -“No. 1 (annotated as No. 16 and No. 16A) The World’s Gone Screwy” -“No. 16 (annotated as No. 17) Flora’s Angora” (Orchestra) -“(Annotated as No. 17A) “I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” -“You’ve No More Claim on Me” -“No. 18 The Tag” (Piano, annotated as Orchestra) -“No. 19 Why Can’t We Dance?” -“No. 20 Travellin’ Music” (Piano, annotated as Orchestra) -“No. 20 (annotated as No. 20A) “Angry Fathers Three” (Piano, annotated as Orchestra) -“No. 4 (annotated as No. 21) “You Can’t Beat Fun” (Piano, annotated as Orchestra) -“Finale: What a Day, What a Night” -“No. 4 (annotated as No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Piano) -“No. 1: Overture” (Drum Set) -“No. 1 (annotated as No. 2): The World’s Gone Screwy” (Drum Set) -“No. 2 (annotated as No. 3): Me For Varsity” (Drum Set) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Drum Set) -“No. 7 (annotated as No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Drum Set) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Drum Set) -“No. 7 I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Drum Set) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 7) Flora The Horror” (Drum Set) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 8) So This Is Varsity” (Drum Set) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 9) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Drum Set) -“(Annotated No. 10) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Drum Set) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Drum Set) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Drum Set) -“No. 13 Take Me With A Sneer” (Drum Set) -“No. 15 (annotated No. 14) Whistle With A Tear” (Drum Set) -“(Annotated as No. 14A) Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Drum Set) -“No. 16 Flora’s Angora” (Drum Set) -“You’ve No More Claim on Me” -“(Annotated No. 18) The Tag” (Drum Set) -“No. 19 Why Can’t We Dance” (Drum Set) -“Travellin’ Music” (Drum Set) -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” (Drum Set) -“No. 4 (annotated as No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Drum Set) -“(Annotated as No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Drum Set) -“No. 4 (annotated as No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Drum Set) |
Return to Top
Orchestrations (Strings)
| Box | Folder | Envelope |
| 3 | 1 |
-“No. 1: Overture” (Violin I) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Violin I) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Violin I) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Violin I) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 7) Flora The Horror” (Violin I) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 8) So This Is Varsity” (Violin I) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 9) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Violin I) -“(Annotated No. 10) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Violin I) -“No. 13: Take Me With A Sneer” (Violin I) -“No. 15 (annotated No. 14) Whistle With A Tear” (Violin I) -“(Annotated No. 14A) Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Violin I) -“No. 16: Flora’s Angora” (Violin I) -“Travellin’ Music” (Violin I) -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” (Violin I) -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Violin I) -“No. 1: Overture” (Violin II) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Violin II) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Violin II) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Violin II) -“No. 7 Thus Love Was Made” (Violin II) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Violin II) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man (Violin I) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Violin II) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 7) Flora The Horror” (Violin II) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 8) So This Is Varsity” (Violin II) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 9) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Violin II) -“(Annotated No. 10) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Violin II) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Violin II) -“No. 14: Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Violin II) -“No. 13: Take Me With A Sneer” (Violin II) -“No. 15 (annotated No. 14) Whistle With A Tear” (Violin II) -“(Annotated No. 14A) Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Violin II) -“No. 16: Flora’s Angora” (Violin II) -“No. 19: Why Can’t We Dance?” (Violin II) -“Travellin’ Music” (Violin II) -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” (Violin II) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Violin II) -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Violin II) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Violin II) -“No. 1: Overture” (Viola) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Viola) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Viola) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Viola) -“No.7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Viola) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Viola) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Viola) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 8A) Flora The Horror” (Viola) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Viola) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 9) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Viola) -“(Annotated No. 10) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Viola) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Viola) -“No. 13: Take Me With A Sneer” (Viola) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Viola) -“No. 15 (annotated No. 14) Whistle With A Tear” (Viola) -“(Annotated No. 15 Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Viola) -“No. 16: Flora’s Angora” (Viola) -“No. 19: Why Can’t We Dance?” (Viola) -“Travellin’ Music” (Viola) -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” (Viola) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Viola) -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Viola) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Viola) -“No. 1: Overture” (Cello) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Cello) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Cello) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Cello) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Cello) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Cello) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Cello) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 8A) Flora The Horror” (Cello) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Cello) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 10) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Cello) -“(Annotated No. 11) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Cello) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Cello) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Cello) -“No. 13 (annotated No. 14): Take Me With A Sneer” (Cello) -“No. 15 Whistle With A Tear” (Cello) -“(Annotated No. 15A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Cello) -“No. 16 (Annotated No. 17): Flora’s Angora” (Cello) -“No. 19 (annotated 19A): Why Can’t We Dance?” (Cello) -“(Annotated No. 20) Travellin’ Music” (Cello) – 2 copies -“No. 20 (Annotated No. 20A): Angry Fathers Three” (Cello) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Cello) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Cello) |
Return to Top
Orchestrations (Woodwind/Brass)
| Box | Folder | Envelope |
| 3 | 2 |
-“No. 1: Overture” (Flute) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Flute) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Flute) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Flute) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Flute) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Flute) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Flute) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 8A) Flora The Horror” (Flute) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Flute) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 9) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Flute) -“(Annotated No. 10) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Flute) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Flute) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Flute) -“No. 13 (annotated No. 14): Take Me With A Sneer” (Flute) -“No. 15 Whistle With A Tear” (Flute) -“(Annotated No. 15A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Flute) -“No. 16 (Annotated No. 17): Flora’s Angora” (Flute) -“(Annotated No. 18) The Tag” (Flute) -“No. 19: Why Can’t We Dance?” (Flute) -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” (Flute) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Flute) -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Flute) -“No. 4 (Annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Flute) -“No. 1: Overture” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Clarinet B flat) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Clarinet in B flat) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 8) Flora The Horror” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 10) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Clarinet in B flat) -“(Annotated No. 11) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13D) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 13 (annotated No. 14): Take Me With A Sneer” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 15 Whistle With A Tear” (Clarinet in B flat) -“(Annotated No. 15A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 16 (Annotated No. 17): Flora’s Angora” (Clarinet in B flat) -“(Annotated No. 18) The Tag” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 19 (annotated No. 19A): Why Can’t We Dance?” (Clarinet in B flat) -“(Annotated No. 20) Travellin’ Music” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 20 (annotated No. 20A): Angry Fathers Three” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Clarinet in B flat) -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 4 (Annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Clarinet in B flat) -“No. 1: Overture” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Alto Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 8A) Flora The Horror” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 10) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Alto Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 11) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 13 (annotated No. 14): Take Me With A Sneer” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 15 Whistle With A Tear” (Alto Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 15A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 16 (Annotated No. 17): Flora’s Angora” (Alto Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 18) The Tag” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 19 (annotated No. 19A): Why Can’t We Dance?” (Alto Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 20) Travellin’ Music” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Alto Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 4 (Annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Alto Saxophone) -“No. 1: Overture” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Tenor Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 8D) Flora The Horror” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 10) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Tenor Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 11) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13D) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 13 (annotated No. 14): Take Me With A Sneer” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 15 Whistle With A Tear” (Tenor Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 15A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 16 (Annotated No. 17): Flora’s Angora” (Tenor Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 18) The Tag” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 19 (annotated No. 19A): Why Can’t We Dance?” (Tenor Saxophone) -“Travellin’ Music” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Tenor Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 4 (Annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Tenor Saxophone) -“No. 1: Overture” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Baritone Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 8A) Flora The Horror” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 10) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Baritone Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 11) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 14 (annotated 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 13 (annotated No. 14): Take Me With A Sneer” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 15 Whistle With A Tear” (Baritone Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 15A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 16 (Annotated No. 17): Flora’s Angora” (Baritone Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 18) The Tag” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 19 (annotated No. 19A): Why Can’t We Dance?” (Baritone Saxophone) -“Travellin’ Music” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 20 (annotated No. 20A): Angry Fathers Three” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Baritone Saxophone) -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 4 (Annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Baritone Saxophone) -“No. 1: Overture” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 8A) Flora The Horror” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 10) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“(Annotated No. 11) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 13 (annotated No. 14): Take Me With A Sneer” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 15 Whistle With A Tear” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“(Annotated No. 15A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 16 (Annotated No. 17): Flora’s Angora” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“(Annotated No. 18) The Tag” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 19 (annotated No. 19A): Why Can’t We Dance?” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“Travellin’ Music” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 20 (annotated No. 20A): Angry Fathers Three” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“(Annotated No. 21A) President and Deans Enter” -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 4 (Annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trumpet in B flat 1) -“No. 1: Overture” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 7) Flora The Horror” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 8) So This Is Varsity” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 9) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“(Annotated No. 10) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 13: Take Me With A Sneer” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 15 (annotated No. 14) Whistle With A Tear” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“(Annotated No. 14A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 16: Flora’s Angora” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“(Annotated No. 18) The Tag” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 19: Why Can’t We Dance?” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“Travellin’ Music” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“(Annotated No. 21A) President and Deans Enter” -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 4 (Annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trumpet in B flat 2) -“No. 1: Overture” (Trombone) -“No. 1 (annotated No. 2) The World’s Gone Screwy” (Trombone) -“No. 2 (annotated No. 3) Me For Varsity” (Trombone) -“No. 4: You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trombone) -“No. 7 (annotated No. 5) Thus Love Was Made” (Trombone) -“No. 6 I’m A Strictly Theoretical Man” (Trombone) -“(Annotated No. 7) I’ve Got Rhythm In My System” (Trombone) -“No. 9 (annotated No. 8A) Flora The Horror” (Tenor Trombone) -“No. 10 (annotated No. 9) So This Is Varsity” (Trombone) -“No. 11 (annotated No. 10) My Little Dark Fantasy” (Tenor Trombone) -“(Annotated No. 11) Reprise: So This Is Varsity” (Trombone) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 12) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trombone) -“No. 14 (annotated No. 13A) Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s, Reprise” (Trombone) -“No. 13 (annotated No. 14): Take Me With A Sneer” (Trombone) -“No. 15 Whistle With A Tear” (Trombone) -“(Annotated No. 15A Whistle With A Tear: Dance Reprise” (Trombone) -“No. 16 (annotated No. 17): Flora’s Angora” (Tenor Trombone) -“(Annotated No. 18) The Tag” (Tenor Trombone) -“No. 19: Why Can’t We Dance?” (Trombone) -“Travellin’ Music” (Trombone) -“No. 20: Angry Fathers Three” (Trombone) -“No. 4 (annotated No. 21) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trombone) -“(Annotated No. 21A) President and Deans Enter” -“(Annotated No. 22) Finale: What A Day, What A Night” (Trombone) -“No. 4 (Annotated No. 23) You Can’t Beat Fun” (Trombone) |
Return to Top
Typewritten Lyrics
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 3 |
- from the Department of Music (June 2003) -Letter dated June 19, 2003 to Samuel Seetner from Paul Paterson -Letter dated August 30, 2001 to Paul Paterson from Samuel Seetner -Letter dated July 31, 2001 to Paul Paterson from Samuel Seetner -Letter to Paul Paterson from Samuel Seetner [undated] -Letter dated August 15, 2001 to Samuel Seetner from Paul Paterson -Letter dated June 11, 2001 to R. Burleson from Samuel Seetner attached to - typewritten lyrics for: -The World’s Gone Screwy -Me For Varsity Lyric – Sung as Quartette -We Are Freshmen Four – Lyric -Student Chorus March – You Can’t Beat Fun (Lyric) -The University is a True Democracy -I’m a Strictly Theoretical Man -Thus Love Was Made -I’ve Got Rhythm in My System – Lyric -So This Is Varsity – Lyric -Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s – Lyrics -Whistle With a Tear – Lyric -You’ve No More Claim on Me -The Tag Dance – Tag, You’re It – Lyric -Why Can’t We Dance – Lyric -Flora’s Angora – Comic Novelty Song -Angry Fathers Three – Lyric -What a Day, What a Night – Lyric -Letter dated June 1, 2001 to R. Burleson from Samuel Seetner attached to (primarily) handwritten lyrics for: -The World’s Gone Screwy -Me For Varsity Lyric – Sung As Quartette -We Are Freshmen Four – Lyric -Student Chorus March – You Can’t Beat Fun (Lyric) -The University is a True Democracy – Lyric -I’m a Strictly Theoretical Man -Thus Love Was Made -I’ve Got Rhythm In My System – Lyric -So This Is Varsity – Lyric -Council Minds Your P’s and Q’s – Lyrics -Whistle With a Tear – Lyric -A Little Dark Fantasy -The Tag Dance – Tag, You’re It – Lyric -Why Can’t We Dance – Lyric -Flora’s Angora – Comic Novelty Song -Angry Fathers Three – Lyric -What a Day, What a Night – Lyric |
Return to Top
Material related to the 2002 Production
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 4 |
-Book - I Didn’t Come Here To Stay: The Memoirs of Ed Parker -9 copies of 2002 program for remade performance entitled “Hotcha!” -2 photographs of 2002 cast -6 copies of poster for 2002 performance - 3 copies of “U of M’s ‘40s Satire Revived,” Winnipeg Free Press, January 8, 2002 - “After 62 Years, You Still Can’t Beat Fun,” Winnipeg Free Press, January 2, 2002 (2 copies and 2 originals) - Letter dated November 12, 2001 from Monty Hall to Paul Paterson -“University is ready to celebrate 125th Anniversary,” The Bulletin, November 1, 2001 -“You Can’t Beat Fun! Musical Comes Together,” The Bulletin, January 31, 2002 (1 copy, 2 originals) -3 copies of “‘You Can’t Beat Fun’ returns after 62 years,” Alumni Journal, December 2001 -“Ain’t they got fun…again?” Winnipeg Free Press, February 17, 2002 (2 copies, 1 original) -5 colour photographs of Mr. Seetner’s visit to campus in June 2001 (other individuals also pictured in photographs) - Description/promotion sheets for 2002 production from Haanita Wagn, the publicist for “You Can’t Beat Fun!” in U of M folder |
Return to Top
Tapes - “You Can’t Beat Fun” (2002 Production)
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 4 |
Sony DVCAM Tape -“Tape 1 - You Can’t Beat Fun” -“Tape 2 - You Can’t Beat Fun” |
Return to Top