The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Vladimira Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2005)
Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2005)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Collection Summary
Biography of Anne Caroline Yanchyshyn
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Restrictions on Access
Restrictions on Use
Related Materials
Custodial History
Bibliography
Detailed Description of the Collection
MPC Flashbacks Interviews - documentation, research material 1988
Interviews, 1988
Collection Summary
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Creator:
Anne Yanchyshyn
Title:
Anne Yanchyshyn fonds
Dates:
1985-1989
Quantity:
10 cm of textual record, 11 audiotapes
Identification:
MSS 214, TC 113 (A.05-50)
English and Ukrainian
Return to Top
Biography of Anne Caroline Yanchyshyn
Anne Yanchyshyn was born and raised in Meleb, Manitoba. After attending Normal School in Winnipeg, she taught in several rural schools in Silver, Gilbert Plains, Lyleton, and Whytewold Beach Schools. She moved to St. Vital in 1959 and graduated from the University of Manitoba in 1968 with BA degree (Geography, English, Philosophy). She taught in Varennes School for 24 years and after her early retirement she took an Oral History workshop classes at the Provincial Archives. Anne Yanchyshyn edited the book MPC Flashbacks: a commemorative local history celebrating the 90th Anniversary of the arrival of settlers in Meleb-Park-Cumming School District Area. In the book she documented the local history of the Ukrainian, Polish, as well as the German and Jewish pioneers in the Interlake area. She travelled many miles for interviews and recorded an oral history on eight audiotapes which she donated to the Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba in 2005.
Return to Top
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds consists of research material and interviews compiled for the publication of MPC Flashbacks: A Commemorative History Celebrating the 90th Anniversary of the Arrival of Settlers in the Meleb-Park-Cuming School District Area.
Return to Top
Arrangement of the Papers
This collection is arranged into two series.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Access
No restrictions on access.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Use
No restrictions on use.
Return to Top
Subjects:
Ukrainian Canadians
Polish Canadians
GermanCanadians
Jewish Canadians
Return to Top
Related Materials
Autographed copy held in the Slavic Collection, E. Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba . FC 3395 I58 M6 1989
Return to Top
Custodial History
The fonds was donated to the Archives & Special Collections by Anne Yanchyshyn in 2005.
Return to Top
Detailed Description of the Collection
MPC Flashbacks Interviews - documentation, research material [ 1988 ]
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Agreement re: MPC Flashbacks, [ November 28, 1988 ] |
| 2 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with Maria Steciuk, [ October 23, 1988 ] | |
| 3 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with Katherine Popowich, [ September 21, 1988 ] | |
| 4 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with Justina Podborochynski, [ November 6, 1988 ] | |
| 5 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with Maria Rodych, [ September 29, 1988 ] | |
| 6 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with Elizabeth Schreyer, [ December 1, 1988 ] | |
| 7 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with Paulina Hrankowski, [ December 8, 1988 ] | |
| 8 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with Anna Prysiazniuk, [ 1988 ] | |
| 9 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with Martin Dwornick, [ September 22, 1988 ] | |
| 10 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with Minnie Kozyra, [ September 23, 1988 ] | |
| 11 | Biographical info, English translation of the interview with early students (Paulina Dudek, Annie Franz, Tekla Chopek, Joe Baliant, Pete Hykawy), [ 1988 ] | |
| 12 | Book reviews by Manitoba Genealogical Society Inc., and Senior's Today, Re; MPC flashbacks, [ 1991 ] | |
| 13 | Letter by Gerald Rogowsky to Paul Graham (CJOB Radio), Re: MPC Flashbacks Project and Anne Yanchyshyn. See also Tape 9 - CJOB Interview of Anne Yanchyshyn by Paul Graham re: MPC Flashbacks, [ 1994 ] | |
| 14 | Historical Methods Course Paper Entitled, "Alive and Well: Manitoba Local History" by Bradley King (U of M student) - includes Anne Anchyshyn's research for her book, MPC Flashbacks. See also Tapes 10 & 11. (Bradley King's interview with Anne Yanchyshyn), [ 1991 ] | |
| 15 |
Permission letter by Bradley King to Anne Yanchyshyn, in order to donate his audio-cassette interview and paper to the U of M Archives & Special Collections; and Anne Yanchyshyn's letter to Bradley King, [ 1994 ] See also Box 1, Fd. 14 - Historical Methods Course Paper. |
Return to Top
Interviews, [ 1988 ]
Interviews conducted by Anne Yanchyshyn in the Ukrainian language
| Box | Folder |
| 1 |
Tape no.1 A: Mrs. Steciuk,[ May 27, 1988 ] Tape no.1 B: Mrs. Wanda Chimchak, [ June 2, 1988 ] Tape no.2 A: Mrs. Maria Rodych, [ September 29, 1988 ] Tape no.2 B: Anne Yanchyshyn - letter to sister Phyllis who died in 1937; tribute to her father Michael Podborochynski (1889-1971) [] Tape no.3 A: Mrs. Popowich, [ September 21, 1998 ] Tape no.3 B: Martin Dwornik, [ September 22, 1988 ] (continuation on tape #4-5) Tape no.4 A: Mrs. Minnie Kozyra,[ September 23, 1998 ] Tape no.4 B: Martin Dwornik,[ September 22, 1988 ] Tape no.5 A: Mr. Hrankowski, Chopek Tape no.5 B: Maister, L. Tape no.6 A: Mr. Hrankowski, Annie Franz,[ December 1, 1988 ] Tape no.6 B: Mrs. Annie Franz Tape no.7 : Elizabeth Schreyer, Margaret Gottfried,[ December 1, 1988 ] Tape no.8 A: Anne Yanchyshyn interview with her mother Justina Podborochynski,[ May 12, 1985 ] Tape no.9 : Paul Graham's Interview with Anne Yanchyshyn on CJOB Radio, re: MPC Mushroom Statue. See also Box 1, Fd. 13, letter by Gerald Rogowsky to Paul Graham (CJOB Radio), Re: MPC Flashbacks Project and Anne Yanchyshyn[ July 16, 1994 ] Tape no.10 : Brad King's Interview with Anne Yanchyshyn for U of M's Historical Methods Course, Tape 1. See also Box 1, Fd, 14, Historical Methods Course Paper Entitled, "Alive and Well: Manitoba Local History" by Bradley King (U of M student) - includes Anne Anchyshyn's research for her book,[ 1991 ] Tape no.11 : Brad King's Interview with Anne Yanchyshyn for U of M's Historical Methods Course, Tape 2 . See also Box 1, Fd, 14, Historical Methods Course Paper Entitled, "Alive and Well: Manitoba Local History" by Bradley King (U of M student) - includes Anne Anchyshyn's research for her book,[ 1991 ] |
Return to Top