Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EBSCOhost Full Text
EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
Please note: This resource will be unavailable during scheduled maintenance at the publisher's website:
Saturday, Jan. 30, 9:00 pm - Jan. 31, 7:00 am (CDT).
Please note: Users can create a "My Research" account to save searches, documents, and citations (up to 4000). Citations can be exported up to 1000 at a time.
Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Web of Science (all databases)
Web of Science is a a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.
BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)
BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
Data Citation Index (1900-present)
Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
Russian Science Citation Index (2005-present)
SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)
Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
Zoological Record (1864-present)
Dissertations & Theses Coverage:
1743-present (citation only)
Full text coverage:
University of Manitoba dissertations and theses, 1929-2014. For 2015 onward, see Mspace
Users can create a "My Research" account to save searches, documents, and citations (up to 4000). Citations can be exported up to 1000 at a time.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) is an interdisciplinary listing of PhD dissertations and Master's theses from around the world. Documents can be downloaded and (where available) the first dozen pages are available as a preview. Dissertations and theses published since 1980 includes an abstract written by the author.
Ebsco Open Dissertations
Ebsco, a library vendor, harvests theses from institutional repositories and provides its searching engine.
MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers,and students. It contains datasets, undergraduate and graduate theses, historical pamphlets, and other research publications.
Disability Studies covers highly interdisciplinary topics. The variety of academic databases held in the U of M Libraries offers students many options to explore their potential sources for their research and studies. Beyond the databases listed above, you can explore other potntial databases by visiting Database A-Z and searching by keyword(s). If you need any further assistance, please consult Asako Yoshida, your liaison librarian, (204) 227-3587, Asako.Yoshida@Umanitoba.ca.
Google or Google Scholar
Both Google and Google Scholar are useful searching tools for Disability Studies students. In particular, when you are looking for grey literature and not necessarily academic publications, Google Scholar is very useful. Google Scholar is also useful locating government documents, research publications from research centers or non-profit organizations, as well as academic scholarly publications.
If you want to gather and manage the research sources identified by searching Google Scholar, please go directly to Google Scholar, instead of accessing it from the Google Scholar button made available from the University of Manitoba Libraries web page.
You can configure your Google account to synchronize with the University of Manitoba Libraries as follows:
- Visit Google Scholar page.
- Click Settings from the top navigation bar menu.
- Click Library Links from the left column.
- In the Search Box, type in "Manitoba." (No quotation marks.)
- Select "University of Manitoba - Get It @ UML."
- Click Back-Page arrow on the browser and configure Bibliography Manager (at the bottom of the page) to forward to the bibliographical management tool of your choice.
Explore Library Access, a browser extension to get to the full text materials held by the Libraries regardless of where you are on the web.
META WEB SITES for Disability Studies
Annual Disability Statistics Compendium
The Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Disability Statistics and Demographics (StatsRRTC) collects large quantities of survey data and administrative records related to people with disabilities are collected each year.
National and International Organizations and Associations
CANADIAN DISABILITY STUDIES ASSOCIATION
Since 2004, The Canadian Disability Studies Association-Association Canadienne des Études sur L’Incapacité (CDSA-ACEI) is dedicated to:
Providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and scholarship regarding disability,
Networking among individual members, community groups, and other academic organizations, and
Maintaining and building a commitment to a scholarship that remains connected to, informed by, and in ongoing dialogue with community and consumer organizations and agencies.
The Association publishes a peer-reviewed academic journal, the Canadian Journal of Disability Studies
Academic Network of European Disability Experts (ANED)
"ANED established and maintains a pan-European academic network in the disability field to support policy development in collaboration with the Commission's Disability Unit. Its philosophy and aims support the objectives of European disability policy towards the goal of full participation and equal opportunities for all disabled people."
INDEPENDENT LIVING INSTITUTE
'[A] policy development center specializing in consumer-driven policies for disabled peoples' freedom of choice, self-determination, self-respect, and dignity."
Nordic Network on Disability Research (NNDR)
Provides a forum for scholars of all disciplines interested in research related to disability and marginalization.
Society for Disability Studies (SDS)
An international non-profit organization that "seeks to promote a greater awareness of disabilty across time and geography, as well as to advocate for social change.
OPEN ACCESS ebooks, journals and newsletters
Explore More Open Access Journals
Type in "disability" or "disabilities" to explore potential journals. You will retrieve the articles that include the keyword you used. Explore potential journals by selecting "Journals" from the left-hand side menu.
Aggregates links to representations of disability in the media, as well as information related to cultural studies and disability.
We Can Do
"This blog is for anyone who wants to end poverty and oppression for poor disabled people in developing countries.
I plan to cover a wide range of topics."
Selected Web Sites - Disability & Art