LibGuides: Environment, Earth, and Resources: Citing & Writing

Writing tutors

There are Academic Learning Centre (ALC) writing tutors available at 2 library locations (Elizabeth Dafoe Library and Sciences & Technology Library)l To make an appointment online visit

manitoba.mywconline.com/

Journal selection resources

Journal Citation Reports (InCites) This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports provides citation data for journals in science, technology and the social sciences. JCR can be used to identify the most frequently cited journals or those with the highest impact (Journal Impact Factor). JCR is split into two editions: JCR Science Edition and JCR Social Sciences Edition, and each annual edition contains the previous year’s publication data.
SciVal This link opens in a new window
Please Note: You must create a personal account or use an existing Elsevier or Scopus ID to access SciVal.

Please Note: To use SciVal off-campus, you must use the University's Virtual Private Network (VPN)

SciVal is a research performance assessment tool which provides bibliometric measures using data from Scopus. SciVal provides access to comprehensive research performance summaries, comparisons of institutional performance, potential collaboration opportunities based on publication output and impact, and analysis of trends in various research areas with corresponding citation and usage data.
ulrichsweb.com (Ulrich's Periodicals Directory) This link opens in a new window
A database of publishing information for journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and monographic series worldwide. Key information about each title includes a description of its subject matter, refereed status, title history, alternative titles, ISSN, language, frequency, publisher, other media formats, abstracting and indexing sources, and cost. Links to tables of contents, article abstracts.

Citation/Reference Styles

APA style guide from University of Manitoba Libraries
Link to University of Manitoba Libraries' page about APA (American Psychological Association) style.

Examples of APA Documentation
MLA Style of documentation
NRC Research Press Journal Reference Style
Document outlines how to do in-text citations and references for journals published by NRC Research Press (major Canadian journal publisher predominantly in the natural sciences).
NRC Research Press Journal Reference Style Accessible Version
This is a Word document of the NRC Research Press Journal Reference Style handout.

Citation managers

Citation managers help you keep citations, reference materials, and PDFs organized and generate reference lists and in text citations automatically in the citation style of your choice when using their Microsoft Word (or other word processing software) plugin. Learn more about Citation Managers on the Citation Management Guide.