Skip to main content

Access to Libraries & Services During COVID-19: Information

Current Status

UM Libraries continues to provide resources and services online. 

Buildings remain closed and staff continue to work from home to provide access to collections and services.

Physical collections remain inaccessible until measures can be put in place to ensure the safety of both staff and those using the collections.

 

Please be advised, information on this page is subject to change.  Check back regularly for updates.
(Updated May 5, 2020)

Questions? Ask Us. 

Use Ask Us chat or contact a Subject Librarian. Check Ask Us hours.

 

For subject specific help or research consultations contact your subject librarian directly, by phone, email, or online chat.

For Archives reference, direct questions to archives@umanitoba.ca.

Online Resources

A rich collection of digital resources continues to be available through Library Search.

HINT: Select the Full text Available filter on the left-hand menu to filter your results to full-text material available electronically.

Data Management and Knowledge Mobilization Support

Online services for researchers are still available.  Check our Faculty and Researcher Help page for details.

Course Reserves

Only online reserve materials will be available during this period. 

Librarians can work with instructors to find online versions or suitable online replacements wherever possible.

Electronic Textbooks - Information for Faculty

Librarians are available to help you find an electronic version of a textbook, or a suitable alternative, for Summer 2020 courses. 

The textbook will then be made available for all students in your course through the Libraries webpages (either by searching the general collection or by looking at course reserves for your course) and in UMLearn. 

Please fill out the form available here and a librarian will contact you.

Subject Guides

Find resources tailored to your subject area in our Subject Guides. Search the list by Faculty, Department or keyword.

Learn at the Libraries

Learn at the Libraries is a website with information for students on academic writing, how to search the library, evaluating resources, and writing citations. Sections of the website can also be integrated into online courses. Click here for more information.

Course Support

Faculty who need support for your students, please contact your subject librarian directly via email.

Open Education Resources  - teaching resources available in a variety of formats that have an open copyright license and allow anyone to use, adapt and share them as needed

Library Locations, Hours, and Events

 

All library locations are closed indefinitely.

Borrowing and Returning Material

Due dates for UM library material currently checked out will be extended to August 22, 2020. Due dates have been automatically extended. Fines are suspended.

NOTE: We are not recalling items at this time. If you feel you must return physical items, you may do so in the return bin outside the Shipping & Receiving door at the back of the Dafoe Library, off Service Road 3N (near parking lot B).  Please take necessary precautions in keeping with the health and safety advice from the Province of Manitoba and Health Canada.

There will be no access to physical collections and all retrieval and delivery options have ceased.

For Document Delivery information, click here.

Library Holds

There is no longer access to physical hold materials.

Document Delivery

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, the University of Manitoba Libraries will be temporarily suspending the lending and borrowing of physical materials effective immediately. Staff will be working from home to process requests for electronic resources only. Our turnaround time may be slower than usual.

University of Manitoba Staff, Students and Faculty: Any loans University of Manitoba students, staff or faculty currently have out are being automatically renewed by our document delivery staff.

Other Institutions: We will not be returning any materials we presently have on loan from other institutions and ask that materials not be sent back to us at this time.

Any questions should be directed to documentdelivery@umanitoba.ca.

Copyright

If you have any questions concerning the use of copyright materials in an online course or adding them to UM Learn contact the UM Copyright Office directly. You can also consult the copyright resources linked on this page.