December 17: Temporary parking for library material pickup and returns near Elizabeth Dafoe Library.
October 30: Libraries and Archives are closed indefinitely beginning Monday, November 2, due to COVID-19 restrictions. Libraries' staff continue to deliver research support and resources online as well as provide limited access to physical collections. Ask Us any of your questions online!
October 21: Libraries provide Faculty Support for obtaining streaming videos for UM Learn.
October 13: Physical materials now require 7-day quarantine after being returned.
All UM Libraries and Archives are closed indefinitely beginning Monday, November 2, in response to the COVID-19 provincial restrictions.
Please note: All returned physical materials require a 7-day quarantine before processing. Expect delays in receiving requested items and also in the updating of your account following their return.
Borrow a book or material that UML owns:
We'll Scan It For You - Request a chapter, article or portion of a book that UML owns:
These are items you cannot find in our collection may be available from another institution.
NOTE: We cannot bring in an entire book or item right now as borrowing physical items between institutions is suspended until further notice. However, we can request a portion of a printed work to be scanned.
Books, journals, or other materials:
Get it Digitally: Find books online, including items in our collection or borrow from HathiTrust.
A rich collection of digital resources continues to be available through Library Search, including e-books. Borrow online resources from HathiTrust, which provides temporary access to millions of in-copyright and public domain works.
Please Ask Us!
We pride ourselves in getting back to you quickly, but it may take up to 3 business days, depending on the volume of requests.
IMPORTANT: Please read all the email notifications we send to you, as they contain important information about your request and will save you time.
For subject specific help or research consultations contact your subject librarian directly, by phone, email, or online chat.
Archives and Special Collections (Third floor, Elizabeth Dafoe Library) is closed until further notice, due to COVID-19 provincial restrictions.
Access to library resources frequently requires your UMnetID.
Your UM student photo ID card is your library card. Learn about UM Photo Identification Cards
For any other information technology issues, contact IST for help.
Please note: All physical materials require a 7-day quarantine before discharging items from your account, at which time the return is backdated.
Fort Garry Campus
Elizabeth Dafoe Library
25 Chancellor Circle
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2
Returning Document Delivery materials borrowed from outside UM Libraries:
Document Delivery material borrowed prior to the pandemic were due by September 30, 2020 and are now considered overdue unless an extension has been requested and granted. Please return all overdue items promptly.
Due dates for borrowed materials were automatically extended during the early pandemic period.
Should you receive a recall notice, you will have 7 days to return the material.
If you have any difficulty, Ask Us!
Late fees have been suspended.
We are now accepting returns from outside institutions.
Materials we have on loan from other institutions: We are consulting the Interlibrary Loans/Relais list to confirm returns of print materials. If you have indicated that you are accepting returns, we will be sending them as they are returned to us.
If your institution is not on that list, and you want materials returned, please contact email@example.com.
We may also be contacting you to check if we can return.
Please submit requests for streaming videos to your Subject Liaison Librarian as soon as possible.
In order to comply with the Canadian Copyright Act, the Libraries will try to obtain an educational streaming license for requested films. If no educational license is available, but the film is offered on one or more personal streaming services (Netflix, Amazon Prime, Google Play, etc.), we will not be able to procure the film.
The Libraries may be able to create a digital copy of a film from a DVD or VHS, however, the following criteria must be met:
This process requires rigorous copyright research and can take several weeks. Digitizing videos also takes additional time. Please note that if you would like a video you own to be digitized, it will be subject to a seven-day quarantine period, just like other items returned to the library.
Once a video has been digitized, the file will be uploaded to the Libraries’ streaming video service provider. Your subject liaison librarian will send you a secure link and a copyright statement; you can then post the link and copyright statement in UM Learn so that only students in your course will be able to access the streaming video. The original DVD/VHS copy must not be used while the streaming version is available to your students.
Links to streaming films must be removed from UM Learn at the end of the course. If you wish to use the video in another session, please submit a new request to your Subject Liaison Librarian.
There will be no physical reserves available for Fall and Winter Terms, due to COVID-19 restrictions.
The Libraries will try to obtain digital course reserves that you can use in UM Learn. We can accomplish this in two ways:
Please contact your Subject Liaison Librarian, either by email or by scheduling an appointment, to discuss your course reserve needs further.
Librarians are available to help faculty find an electronic version of a textbook, or a suitable alternative. We will add the e-textbook to the Libraries' collection so that all your students can access it.
Ask us to check to see if an electronic version of your print textbook is available or get more information about electronic textbook availability.
Open Education Resources teaching resources are available in a variety of formats that have an open copyright license and allow anyone to use, adapt and share them as needed.
Reading Lists is a new tool in UM Learn, designed to help instructors share reading materials within each course. These may include items from the Libraries, such as articles or books, as well as websites, video content, images, or lecture slides. All resources can be added directly to a UM Learn course, making it easier to access relevant content and stay organized.