Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

We'll Get it for you!: Home

During the COVID-19 pandemic, the UM Libraries is providing digital and pickup locker delivery of our print collections.

About

UM Libraries (UML) is committed to building student and faculty success. Although you are unable to browse in our physical collections, you can access them in the following three ways:

Get it Digitally: Find full-text books and articles online using Library Search, including temporarily licensed content from HathiTrust Digital Library

Pickup Locker: Request Pickup Locker delivery of print materials.

Scan on Demand: Request a chapter from a print book to be emailed to you.

Request from another institution: For items not owned by UM Libraries, request from another institution.

Get it Digitally

Accessing Full Text Books and Articles Online.

  1. Enter relevant keywords in the library search box to find desired material. Click Search.

  1. On the search results page, make sure you sign in iconSign in to get a complete list of items, and to enable access to online resources.
  1. Items that are available online will have a Full text available link located under the item's description.*

undefined

  • To view more more information about the item, click on the title.
  • To get full text access to the item, click on the Full text available link.

*Note: HathiTrust Digital Library's full text materials will have a link entitled "Full Text Available at HathiTrust" instead. The procedure for accessing these materials differs from most other electronic resources. Please see the section below for instructions.

  1. If only one of our licensed databases has the item, you will be directed to the full text of the item automatically. However, if the item is available via multiple databases, a new window will appear where you can choose your preferred database.
  • When choosing a database, ensure that it offers access to the volume/year you wish to view.
  • Each database will have unique options for viewing and downloading its material. 
  • Each book or journal will allow a different number of users to access the item at one time.


Items from the HathiTrust Digital Library

The HathiTrust Digital Library makes it possible for UM students, staff and faculty to obtain access to digitized versions of some of the physical books held in the UM Libraries. While HathiTrust's repository contains millions of titles, our access to licensed content is limited to items that are owned by the University of Manitoba. However, they offer a virtual treasure trove of open source content as well.

How to Access HathiTrust's Full Text Material

Tips:

  • Do not use the Full Text Online filter - Unlike other e-books, HathiTrust's digitized copies do not appear as full text resources because their links are embedded in our corresponding print records.
  • Number of concurrent users - the number of users who can access HathiTrust's digitized copies at one time will correspond to the number of print copies that the UM Libraries has in the collection. If you cannot immediately access the full-text of an item, try again later.
  • Loan period and renewal - HathiTrust's items may be checked out for 1 hour. Your loan will be extended automatically, provided nobody else attempts to view the item while it is checked out to you. Once someone else tries to view the book, your access will be cut off at the end of the hour.

 

  1. Click on the Full Text Available at HathiTrust link that is located in the catalogue record.

 

  1. Once you are in HathiTrust, click on Log In

  1. Select the University of Manitoba from the list of partner institutions. Click Continue.

  1. A University of Manitoba window will pop up. Login with your UM email address and password.

  1. Scroll to the bottom of the HathiTrust record and click the Temporary Access link.

undefined

 

  1. A notice will appear indicating that the item is provided through the Emergency Temporary Access Service. Click Check Out to view the full text of the item.

  1. Hooray!  You did it.  You will now have full text access to the item for one hour.
  • Renewals: Your loan will be extended automatically, provided nobody else attempts to view the item while it is checked out to you. Once someone else tries to view the book, your access will be cut off at the end of the hour.  You may attempt to access the item at a later time.

Pickup Lockers

NOTE:  For frequently asked questions and answers, see our pickup locker guide.
  • We are experiencing delays due to a high volume of requests.

  • Be advised, physical materials are quarantined for 3 days after being returned.

  • Currently, the maximum number of hold requests is limited to 10.

  • We are unable to provide locker pickup for Alumni at this time.

 

Pickup locker locations

  • Elizabeth Dafoe Library, entrance foyer, 25 Chancellors Circle.
    Available 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Monday to Friday only.
  • Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library, outside library entrance, 2nd floor, 727 McDermot Avenue
    Available 5:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
    *This locker is available only by students, faculty, and staff with swipe card access to the Bannatyne campus.

Retrieving your item

  • Pickup materials during locker operating hours.
  • You must have your 14-digit UM ID number to access the locker.
  • Remove all items from the compartment.

Requesting an item

  1. Search to find items in our collections.
  2. Once you have the search results, make sure you sign in iconSign in to get complete results and to request items.
  3. Click on the title of the desired item.
  4. Scroll down to Get it.
  5. Click Request for pickup.

    Request for pickup
  6. Elizabeth Dafoe Library Pickup Locker and Neil John Maclean Library will appear under Pickup Location.  Choose one and click Send Request.

 

  1. When your item(s) is/are ready, you will receive an email detailing how to pick up your book. Please follow the Pickup Locker process provided in the email.
  2. For help with this process, send email to libraryholds@umanitoba.ca or view more detailed information on Pickup Lockers

Scan on demand

If you need access to material in our physical collections, here’s how to make your request:

  1. Search library collection to find desired material.

Search for materials

  1. Once you have the search results, make sure you Sign in to get complete results and to request items.
  2. If the desired item does not indicate a digital copy is already available, library staff may scan a portion of the item, within copyright law (generally no more than 10% of a work).
  3. Click Scan on demand and complete the Request form with details of what the content you would like scanned.

  1. What portion of the book do you need? Specify the chapter, page range, article, or section needed.  

  1. Check the box to accept the conditions of the request and click Submit.

NOTE: Scanned content and any related communications will be sent to your University of Manitoba email account only.

Scanned content and any related communications will be sent to your University of Manitoba email account only.

Consider Copyright

  • Digitization is provided in compliance with copyright law. (Generally speaking, no more than 10% of a work can be scanned). 
  • We are unable to scan an entire book; however, we will try to purchase an e-book version, if one is available.
  • See UM Copyright Guidelines for copyright information.

Turn-Around Time

  • 5-7 days for articles or book chapters
  • 7-10 days for the purchase of an e-book (see above copyright note)

If you require something that falls outside of these parameters, please contact your subject librarian to see if there is a possible alternative.

Request from another institution

For materials that are not held in the UM Libraries collection, you may request to borrow from another institution.

Complete the User Request Form (login required).

Electronic delivery may take 2-5 working days; books may take longer.   

User Request Form

Help is available

As always, Ask Us or reach out to a subject librarian for assistance, and stay tuned to our update page for the most current libraries’ services information.