Articles & Databases

Journal articles are a common way for researchers and scientists to publish, or make public, the results and significance of their research. Articles can report on original research, re-analyze prior research, review existing research and literature, or contain opinions.

You may also see the phrases peer-reviewed articles, scholarly articles, scientific articles, research articles, or academic articles. These all refer to journal articles.

Key Databases

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window MathSciNet, maintained by the American Mathematical Society, is a Web-based index to the mathematics literature. Coverage includes reviews and abstracts from Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) from 1940 to the present, and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily).
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly. Components include:Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)Index Chemicus (1993-present)Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present) Web of Science Search Help
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari. Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.Scopus Search Help
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1954. Full text is available for most articles, but full text is not yet available for every proceeding article published before 1991.
Project Euclid (Prime) This link opens in a new window Euclid Prime is a growing aggregation of well-cited peer-reviewed journals and ebooks in mathematics and statistics.
SIAM Journals Online This link opens in a new window Access journals published by SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics).
SIAM Online Journal Archive 1953-1996 (LOCUS) This link opens in a new window Contains the electronic full text for every SIAM journal from inception through to 1996.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window arXiv.org is an open access database of preprints and e-prints of scientific papers, maintained by Cornell University Library, covering the subject areas of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. Mathematicians and scientists regularly upload their papers to arXiv.org for worldwide access before they are published in peer-reviewed journals. Content is updated monthly.

zbMATH zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) is an abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. Currently, zbMATH Open contains bibliographic entries with reviews or abstracts drawn from journals and book series. Coverage ranges from 1868 to the present.

Top UM Mathematics Faculty Journals

The journals that U of M Mathematics faculty most published in, from 2020-23 (data from SciVal).

High-Impact Mathematics Journals

High-impact mathematics journals, based on SciVal's CiteScore 2022 metric.

High-Impact Science Journals

High-impact multidisciplinary sciences journals, based on SciVal's 2022 Citescore metric.

Lean Library Browser Extension

Access your research anytime, anywhere. The Lean Library browser extension makes it simple to access academic articles, journals and databases licensed by the UM Libraries, wherever you are and whenever you need it.

Install the browser extension once and enjoy a simpler, faster way to get access.

Connecting from Off-Campus

The University of Manitoba Libraries use a proxy server to allow access to licensed electronic resources from off-campus. When you choose a resource that needs to be authenticated, you'll be asked for your Library ID and password. Your Library ID is your UMNetID and UMNetID password, the same username and password you use to login to many U of M online systems. Contact the IST Help and Solutions Centre if you need assistance with your UMNetID.