Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Center for Research Libraries: Home


What is the Center for Research Libraries?

The CRL is a non-profit consortium of of colleges and universities that makes rare scholarly materials available to member institutions. University of Manitoba's membership in the CRL provides students and faculty with access to millions of volumes of research material rarely held in university libraries. CRL collections include both original documents and reproductions available in digital format and microforms. All physical items can be requested through the Libraries' Document Delivery service.


 

 

 


 

CRL Collections Overview



Main CRL collection areas include: 

  • Newspaper collections (U.S. & Foreign)
  • Government and legal documents; including official gazettes
  • Doctoral dissertations
  • Materials on the history of economics and agriculture
  • Foreign language periodicals on science, technology and engineering

 

CRL Topic Guides & Collection Updates

The Center for Research Libraries offers valuable topic guides covering the key research areas covered by CRL collections. The guides outline resources based on material types, for instance: news, government publications, official gazettes, and dissertations, as well as specific topics, such as: Canada, WWII, socialism, Middle East studies, or human rights. Many of the guides also include recommended online resources and an overview of the research landscape pertaining to that particular field of study. To keep up to date on new CRL collection initiatives visit the News page or sign up to receive CRL Connect emails. 

CRL Topic Guides 

If you need any assistance with accessing CRL materials contact: Kyle Feenstra, Liaison Librarian for History or University of Manitoba Libraries' Document Delivery service.