Skip to main content

Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library: News

Ada Ducas honoured with Lifetime Membership by her peers

by Mê-Linh Lê on 2018-06-29T10:41:00-05:00 in Health Sciences | Comments

Ada Ducas, Head of the University of Manitoba Health Sciences Libraries was honoured by the Canadian Health Libraries Association with their highest level of recognition - the David S. Crawford Lifetime Member Award. The award was given out at the CHLA/ABSC Annual Conference in St. John's, NL on June 17, 2018.

Ada Ducas wins award

Ms. Ada Ducas (third from right) received the David Crawford Lifetime Member Award with fellow health librarians in St. John's, NL

Award winners must demonstrate that they have made a significant contribution to the advancement of the purposes of the Association, and Ms. Ducas more than fulfills that. A health sciences librarian since 1974 and the Head of the Health Sciences Libraries since 1995, Ada has worked tirelessly in her commitment to collaboration and promoting the role of the health sciences library. Just some of her professional accomplishments include President of CHLA/ABSC (1991-92), President of the Manitoba Health Libraries Association (1985-86), the Margaret Ridley Charlton Award for Outstanding Achievement (2008), and the YMCA-YWCA Women of Distinction Award (2016).

Ada has an indisputable record of promoting equitable access to health library services throughout the province of Manitoba. Under her leadership all of the hospital libraries in Winnipeg became University of Manitoba libraries, ensuring standard resources and services for healthcare providers and students, regardless of their location or specialty, and ensuring a connected and supportive network for health librarians and library technicians.

She also helped spearhead the indigenous health collections and services, fundraised and rejuvenated the College of Medicine’s Medical Archives, fundraised and oversaw significant renovations to the Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library, and never stopped advocating for the University of Manitoba’s Health Sciences Libraries to serve as the provincial hub of health libraries services and resources.

Ada has been a pioneer of health sciences libraries and has had a profound impact on the healthcare system in Manitoba and the health library community in Canada and we thank her for her years of leadership and commitment.

Congratulations Ada!

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Recent Posts



Relaunch of Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) Grey Matters
A newly relaunched Grey Matters is now available!
Quicker access to full-text resources in PubMed
Browzine has now made it easier for you to get quicker access to full-text articles in PubMed. Read on to find out how!
Brand new interface for Lexicomp online!
Have you heard about the new Lexicomp interface? Read on to find out more!
Transition to summer hours
NJM Library will be closed this long weekend May 18-20; summer hours begin Tuesday May 21.
Researcher Workshop: Systematic Review Series: Part 4
In this workshop, participants will go through the process of setting up an account in Rayyan QCRI and using it to screen a sample systematic review.
NJM Library closed this Friday
Researcher Workshop: Systematic Review Series: Part 3
This workshop gives participants a chance to import search results from multiple databases into Endnote or Mendeley and learn how to deduplicate the results to prepare for screening. Tips and tricks on finding full-text articles will be included.
Researcher Workshop: Systematic Review Series: Part 2
This workshop will provide practical, hands-on advice and tips for taking an OVID Medline search strategy and translating it for use in other databases.
Researcher Workshop: Systematic Review Series: Part 1
This session will help participants considering or embarking on a systematic review understand what they need to do to prepare.
Researcher Workshop: Introduction to Systematic Reviews
Thinking about undertaking a systematic review? This session will introduce you to some conceptual and organizational considerations.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Twitter
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.